View Full Version : HELP $30k to spend. What would you buy?

Nicholas2230
10-12-2013, 11:28 AM
G'day guys.

Need a new boat urgently. 4.5m tinny is no longer suitable for the type of work myself and the old man like to do.

Looking to get something 5.8m+ cuddy cab/ half cab with atleast 120 hp.

Boat will be used for 50% fishing in the bay and 50% fishing offshore.

Not sure whether to go plate or glass.

Would makes and models would you suggest?

I would prefer to buy at a dealer for the warranty/ability to trade mine etc....

Really appreciate any advice

Nick

fishing111
10-12-2013, 01:18 PM
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=15899328&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=5&eapi=2 (http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=15899328&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=5&eapi=2)

This ticks a few boxes.

Spiderpig
10-12-2013, 05:46 PM
I would buy glass with a 4 stroke. An older hull that is still solid with a fourstroke should nearly put you down into this price range.

Vitamin Sea
10-12-2013, 06:01 PM
Agree with Spiderpig, an older good hull that has been repowered with a new gen outboard, either a di 2 banger or 4 stroke is the way to go.
Eg: sold 19c haines with 200 optimax for 25 k, great boat for bay and offshore.

VS

Sheik
10-12-2013, 06:17 PM
what vehicle are you going to tow it with?

gr hilly
10-12-2013, 06:39 PM
Sheik has a good point my mate bought a 23 footer but his old Nissan Patrol won,t tow it so i have to lend him one of my Landcruiser,s so be careful. Hilly.

oldie
10-12-2013, 08:00 PM
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16127992&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=3&eapi=2

not bad rig here

Still_Dreamin
10-12-2013, 09:08 PM
shares. boats just cost you money. stands for Bring Out Another Thousand. I love my boat to bits though and best therapy money can buy

mutineer
10-12-2013, 09:17 PM
Another house , while prices are down ...buyer's market..

Na buy a boat

Nicholas2230
11-12-2013, 09:33 AM
what do you guys think of the Quintrex offshore 600? Found one that is very kitted out for $28,000 seems to have all the bells and whistles is a 99 model with a 130hp yammie..

Or what about this? http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16014528&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=98&eapi=2

Seems to be well priced.

Camhawk88
11-12-2013, 09:41 AM
Mate I reckon to get bang for your buck I would be looking private for both buying and selling. It may be a bit harder to sell than trade however boat yards know stock is hard to move and they generally dont want more second hand boats so offer you bugger all for them. Say you wanted 15k for your boat, the yard would probably offer you 8k so if you put it on the market at 10k it would go very quickly and you are 2k better off. Example only but you get my drift. Perhaps it is worth seeing what they would give you for it?
Also the warantee offered on a second hand boat from a yard is usually short and limited so I wouldnt hold that as much of a reason to restrict your buying options. More important is doing your due dilligance such as mechanical and structural checks by an independent assessor. Few $100 well spent and worth more than a 3 month limited warantee.

As for type of boat I think for 30k you get a lot more boat and generally a better ride with fibreglass. The plate boats that can compete with a decent glass boats such as your Fishers, Origens etc. are priced pretty high IMO. A 6m glass cuddy such as a seafarer, haines or Yalta that is structurally sound/rebuilt plus a 4stk or DI 2stroke should give you plenty of options in that price range.

Im sure , being a boat owne,r you are aware of costs. And for me that beats the hell out of doing my arse on a very volatile and risky stockmarket. At least you can enjoy the money you throw at it.

Camhawk88
11-12-2013, 10:28 AM
what do you guys think of the Quintrex offshore 600? Found one that is very kitted out for $28,000 seems to have all the bells and whistles is a 99 model with a 130hp yammie..

Or what about this? http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16014528&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=98&eapi=2

Seems to be well priced.

If you are looking at outside work dont even consider a pressed tinny or you will get pounded.

The Sea Boss looks ok for the price but I dont know anything abou them. Couple of things to consider though- the carby 2 stroke will drink a lot of juice- cost and range may be impacted.
If it is as they state 2.68m wide, then it is overwidth and that creates a lot of dramas for towing.

thelump
11-12-2013, 10:31 AM
Where are you located Nicholas? May help with people looking

thelump
11-12-2013, 10:35 AM
Worth looking at these. Maybe not necessarily this one but you might be able to get one with a 4 stroke for your kind of money. I have one and they are pretty good value for money.
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16051631&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=22&eapi=2

Vitamin Sea
12-12-2013, 08:13 AM

Seems to be well priced.

Do you have a good chiropractor?

Sheik
13-12-2013, 01:05 PM
Worth looking at these. Maybe not necessarily this one but you might be able to get one with a 4 stroke for your kind of money. I have one and they are pretty good value for money.
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16051631&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=22&eapi=2
Agree with lump. Which glass boats have no wood in stringers? Is there a list available? Might be a handy reference for those looking for 2nd hand. No wood doesn't nec mean a sound hull, but might be of significance in older hulls. Would y'all agree?

Casey Ison
13-12-2013, 09:00 PM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10201757491555549&set=gm.615915931799584&type=1&theater buy this mate! haha great boat rebuilt! new 4 stroke would go great theres a 150 yammy on ebay

craigie
07-01-2014, 05:16 PM
Just about to put my Cyclone 540 on the market. No wood in this glass hull at all !
I used it for Bay and offshore fishing. 30K would be close.

Mrs Ronnie H
07-01-2014, 06:42 PM
Our boat is advertised in the classifieds.

mrs h

ozynorts
08-01-2014, 08:11 AM

I have a mate that has spoken to the guy selling this one and he will take $28k for it. Good value at that price.

MyWay
08-01-2014, 04:23 PM
here is good one if you for market for good old with economical motor http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=16284085&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=0&eapi=2

Giffo65
08-01-2014, 08:37 PM
I have a Cruise Craft 570 with a 130 Honda in the classifieds well below your budget.

hainsofast
08-01-2014, 09:36 PM

Seems to be well priced.

fine until you hit some chop, then it will shake you to bits, go glass, you will get a nice yalta for that coin, that is what I would be going a 555HC or similar

hainsofast
08-01-2014, 09:40 PM
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10201757491555549&set=gm.615915931799584&type=1&theater buy this mate! haha great boat rebuilt! new 4 stroke would go great theres a 150 yammy on ebay
that is insane, those hulls are very good, been in a boat like this in horrible conditions, that is a nice looking rebuild, screw the envinrude but

hainsofast
08-01-2014, 09:41 PM
that yalta for 29990 is unreal, they are great boats, it may be a bit slow with the 115, mate has one with 150 4 stroke and it goes really well, and good on the juice

Casey Ison
08-01-2014, 10:02 PM
that is insane, those hulls are very good, been in a boat like this in horrible conditions, that is a nice looking rebuild, screw the envinrude but

Yeah mate spent a lot time and effort rebuilding this thing! and yep the motor is old but reliable.

hainsofast
09-01-2014, 05:37 PM
Yeah mate spent a lot time and effort rebuilding this thing! and yep the motor is old but reliable.
did you totally re do all the stringers, floor and transom, what is the hard top made of, if I was in the market for a new boat I would jump on that in a hurry, great looking boat.

Casey Ison
09-01-2014, 08:09 PM
yeah mate I didn't redo stringers as they were still in good condition. I did however reglass them while it was all apart, new floor and transom, redesigned the floor so it was flush right across instead of screwing stainless z mould on to hold floor over the fuel tank. a lot stronger and neater finish. I designed a pod the same shape as the boat for better ride and air tanks to keep the stern out of the water nicely. the hardtop is made out of alloy and I designed all of it and made the frame and got it all tigged up at a shop the same with the pod. I got a buyer for the boat so when I fly back home I will be boatless! anyone looking for a decky im always keen when im around!