View Full Version : Look what I found!

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 07:46 AM
Went for a fish last night....Well more of a reco mission really. Spent quiet a few hours on the sounder and it paid off!!!!

grinner2
20-11-2013, 08:24 AM
Can you please forward the GPS MARKS FOR SAME .

thelump
20-11-2013, 08:25 AM
Gee that is an awesome set of images. Was there much hanging off it?

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 08:32 AM
Can you please forward the GPS MARKS FOR SAME .

Haha!......NO! :-)

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 08:35 AM
Gee that is an awesome set of images. Was there much hanging off it?

Got stitched up 3 times and managed to extract this.....

littlejim
20-11-2013, 09:39 AM
what brand and model sounder? Impressive pictures!

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 09:43 AM
what brand and model sounder? Impressive pictures!

Humminbird 998CX

Yeah I was quiet impressed with the images..... shows a lot of detail... they are the best images I have got so far...

Rodman
20-11-2013, 09:44 AM
Depends on where you were these boats maybe left overs from the flood?

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 09:49 AM
Depends on where you were these boats maybe left overs from the flood?

Being where it is I dont think it would be.....there must be a story behind it but guess I will never know....

solemandownunder
20-11-2013, 10:13 AM
Hey Lochie....what do you think is the size of the boat in them there piccies ? ::)

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 10:17 AM
I reckon its around the 6 mtr mark Ray.... doesnt seem to have an outboard.... I reckon it might have a sterndrive or inboard.....

solemandownunder
20-11-2013, 10:26 AM
I reckon its around the 6 mtr mark Ray.... doesnt seem to have an outboard.... I reckon it might have a sterndrive or inboard.....

From what I am seeing, doesn't look like it has been down there TOO long, still mainly intact and it would seem to be resting on a sandy bed, prolly NOT in strong tidal flow area, maybe off to the side of an island :-?

Detective IDIOT at ya service....;D

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 10:29 AM
I reckon your pretty right on all accounts....

Australia is an Island isnt it??? :-)

solemandownunder
20-11-2013, 10:34 AM
I reckon your pretty right on all accounts....

Australia is an Island isnt it??? :-)

Ya Bugga :P8-);D>:(

20-11-2013, 11:13 AM
Brilliant images . only 9m. If the water is clear gotta drop a camera on a string down to see rego numbers on it as some poor bugger may not be getting his insurance pay out or it may still have all the cocaine on board!!!

Another 30 washing machines and a bit of reo and you'll have a great private reef in a year or so;)

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 11:49 AM
Yeah the water is clear enough to send a camera down.....That will be on the cards when i get a GOPRO...

I have been thinking really hard about making my own Arti lately but dont think I need to now..... I wouldnt add anymore to it as it makes the chances of somebody finding it a bit more likely..... I'm wondering if anyone else has already found it.....ive never seen anyone in the vicinity of it so im hoping not....haha!!!

conco46
20-11-2013, 03:53 PM
Got stitched up 3 times and managed to extract this.....

nice mate did u anker up on it to get that cod, or drift over it.

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 04:11 PM
nice mate did u anker up on it to get that cod, or drift over it.

I pulled up near it with the spotlock on the Ipilot and cast back to it...... the other fish we hooked managed to get back and rub us off on the structure!

thelump
20-11-2013, 04:45 PM
Yeah the water is clear enough to send a camera down.....That will be on the cards when i get a GOPRO...

I have been thinking really hard about making my own Arti lately but dont think I need to now..... I wouldnt add anymore to it as it makes the chances of somebody finding it a bit more likely..... I'm wondering if anyone else has already found it.....ive never seen anyone in the vicinity of it so im hoping not....haha!!!

I've got a go pro. When are we going:)

bannana
20-11-2013, 05:06 PM
Locky,

Mate i'll just come out for a fish with you and take a few pics with my GPS camera. lol

snapperbasher
20-11-2013, 06:02 PM
Locky,

Mate i'll just come out for a fish with you and take a few pics with my GPS camera. lol

Keith...Mate you wouldn't know what hit you in my little tub!!!:)

Besides I don't think there will be too many Reds or Trout on it!!

I am hoping for some of our poor man reds though!!

bannana
20-11-2013, 08:12 PM
Keith...Mate you wouldn't know what hit you in my little tub!!!:)

Besides I don't think there will be too many Reds or Trout on it!!

I am hoping for some of our poor man reds though!!

Mate i'd trade 100 reds for one Moreton bay 10kg knobby caught in 10mtrs of water or less!!! Nothing beats those screaming hits from a decent bay knobby in shallow water.

20-11-2013, 09:02 PM
Heheheh I bet your inbox is full and you have been offered someone elses virginity for the marks for that reef mate.

Gon Fishun
20-11-2013, 09:14 PM
To the Bilge :whip: Mr SnapperBasher. :2thumbsup::vrolijk_26:

davo
20-11-2013, 09:24 PM
Looks familiar. I've got the 798 Humminbird and I'm 90% sure of that one.

Spiderpig
21-11-2013, 11:14 AM
Got the humminbird!

Would you mind sharing the settings you are using? Contrast sensitivity etc?

snapperbasher
21-11-2013, 12:03 PM
Got the humminbird!

Would you mind sharing the settings you are using? Contrast sensitivity etc?

I have had a few PM's asking the same question....

Im still learning with my humminbird and have been just playing around with the settings really...

I have found up to about 15mtrs of water 800khz imaging frequency is the best...I just adjust the sensitivity until the very inside edge of the seafloor shows as a bright line.... Contrast again seems to be variable and I'm constantly changing this to ge the best image....And the sharpness I always leave on 'OFF'....personal preference probably but seems to grainy if I turn it up....

These images are by far the best I have been able to get....not sure if I'm getting better at adjusting settings or if the conditions were just right for a good image.....the sea was like a millpond...

Quiet often I get alot of 'Clutter' mid water which only seems to reduce by dropping the sensitivity right down but then i feel im missing other detail...

Hope this helps.

snapperbasher
21-11-2013, 12:09 PM
Heres some other images of varying quality I have taken over the last few months...

Tiwi Pearl98091

snapperbasher
21-11-2013, 12:11 PM
School of Hairtail

snapperbasher
21-11-2013, 12:12 PM
School of Tarpon

deckie
21-11-2013, 12:13 PM
Collision damage on starboard side ?

Hang on a sec...i think thats my mums boat ;D, she lost it somewhere in the southern half of queensland apparently. Best u gimme the gps coords so i can check with her lol ;D8-):P:P:D
Definitely no coke, heroin or gold bullion onboard she reckons.

Phenomenal pics. Thanx for putting them up. Crystal clear.
I now hate my sounder.

snapperbasher
21-11-2013, 12:16 PM
This one is from around Peel Island....school of fish on the bottom and some other interesting scattered structure...98094

Still_Dreamin
21-11-2013, 12:49 PM
I think you should do the right thing and report this to the appropriate authorities so that an alert to all mariners can be issued. Maybe also a big floating yellow cross anchored to the wreck so that we can avoid the wreck

solemandownunder
21-11-2013, 12:52 PM
Geez, ur a popular bloke these days Lochie...I wonder WHY :P:o::););D

snapperbasher
21-11-2013, 01:09 PM
Collision damage on starboard side ?

Hang on a sec...i think thats my mums boat ;D, she lost it somewhere in the southern half of queensland apparently. Best u gimme the gps coords so i can check with her lol ;D8-):P:P:D
Definitely no coke, heroin or gold bullion onboard she reckons.

Phenomenal pics. Thanx for putting them up. Crystal clear.
I now hate my sounder.

Ive been trying to work that out myself.... I reckon it is either a Hardtop or Bimini that has fallen over to the side...

As per Still dreamins post just tell your Mum to look for the big yellow floating cross!! :-)...

21-11-2013, 08:07 PM
Well done on finding a bit of new ground Lachie. Hopefully in Winter it will hold a few XOS Snapps

sharkymark2
21-11-2013, 10:15 PM
Maybe it was sunk on purpose? To make an arti that really works. Seems might be some advanced thinker obviously not a fisherman or a Greeny who has created this. ;).