View Full Version : 300hp Outboard Current Market Costs - .....

mustang5
21-10-2013, 02:50 PM
G'day guys,

On the market have the $$ but Im getting quotes back for a 300hp outboard showing ridiculous $$$...

I must have a visible sign on my head stating " Im a dumba$$ please take my money" when walking in to discuss $$ for an outboard.

So far,

North/Central QLD Pricing:
300hp Etec - $28k fitted. (Best dealer/Mechanic in town...... But just not a fan of Evinrude which is a shame)
300hp Suzi - $34,450 fitted
300hp Verado - $37k fitted
300hp Yamaha - $36k fitted..

Anyone know any dealers in Oz with some good sales on atm??

Quotes from the US:
300hp Suzuki - $21,000 delivered to my door - $22.5k fitted
300hp Yamaha - $22.5k delivered to my door - $24k fitted
300hp Verado - $19.9k delivered to my door - $21k fitted
300hp etec - Havent checked yet, and probably wont..

I would like to buy local, I would like to drop my boat off and leave with a tested, tuned and warranted outboard.. Can somebody point me in the direction of a dealer who will give me $13k worth of customer service and warranty to buy local??

Im preferable to suzuki atm. Wheres the good deals at?

Muddy Toes
21-10-2013, 03:01 PM
Cheapest Yamaha in QlD......Marine Tune down the Gold Coast.

They we're going to sell me mine for cost plus 5%. No shit. They were happy to make their coin from the dealer rebate and the fit up plus the 5%. I heard some bad reports about their fit ups so I stayed clear instead getting it at Broadwater Boating Services for the best VALUE price I could find out of every dealer in SEQ. 32 fitted for mine with all the fruit including the premium 5inch LCD display.

21-10-2013, 04:19 PM
Bayside Suzuki Marine in Cleveland, talk to Jon. Knows what he is talking about and won't feed you bullsh!t.

mustang5
21-10-2013, 04:36 PM
Bayside Suzuki Marine in Cleveland, talk to Jon. Knows what he is talking about and won't feed you bullsh!t.

Just had a good chat with Jon. You're not wrong mate, good price, straight to the point.

Thanks for the referral.

burleygu
21-10-2013, 04:44 PM
http://www.##############.com.au/yamaha_outboards/f300betx.html

300 yam $28,650

Price includes:
Outboard
Water test
Free prop exchange

Yamaha DNA anti-theft

Price does not include:
Yamaha SDS stainless steel prop
Single binnacle control box fly by wire
Separate key switch
3x Yamaha Top-of-range multi function digital gauges(Tacho and Speedo, Fuel management, Battery level, Trip, Trim, Hours, Warnings, etc)
Battery, Steering, Fuel filter, Fuel tank
Fitting(dependent on boat configuration - as a guide $500 to $1000 for a single outboard of this size)
Price is advertised on Bris Yamaha website along with all there other prices. Big outboard like that im sure you could negotiate somewhat

21-10-2013, 05:33 PM
Tim those plus pluses would kill the advertised price

300HP engines are a hard task at the moment, non of them are fuel efficient engines.

If you import just pray you never need that 13k support.

hard to chose between the yamy and suzi, support would sway my decision if you need to make a choice.

FisHard
21-10-2013, 06:18 PM
A 250 Honda would do the job nicely, wouldn't it Garry? ;)

bannana
21-10-2013, 06:36 PM
I had twin 250 Suzies on my last cat and had to replace them a month or so out of warranty with one engine seizing and another with saltwater in the oil as well.

So I replaced them with two new 250 Suzies at a cost of 50k with no help from Suzuki, they washed there hands of my first set of engines because they were out of warranty by only a month although it was obvious that the damage had been done prior to warranty ending.

But when one of the new engines cracked a head at 100 hrs in the first year (same issue as the ones replaced) and it took 8 mths for them to rebuild it (not replace it) I thought never again. Suzkies warranty in my opinion isn't worth the paper its written on.

Yamaha on the other hand have been brilliant. I've had 6 yammies and when i cracked a head on a 60 four stroke after 200 hrs they still replaced the head and it only took 3 weeks.

I have to give Yammy a wrap with there warranty.

No way would I buy an engine overseas. Shop around and get a good one from a reputable supplier that will go to bat for you if you have any issues.

Keith

mustang5
21-10-2013, 06:50 PM
Thanks fellas.

It is hard to choose, I've never had an outboard from new so it's a pretty big investment for me, and the piece of mind with regards to warranty is a big one. This is why I intend to pay the extra 13k for the warranty and local service.

With regards to the zuks, Keith sorry to hear about that mate, that's really off putting. I suppose I will do more research as to the yammy vs zuks argument..

Suppose the question to ask is, what's dealers in smaller towns stance if you don't repower through them??

oldie
21-10-2013, 07:17 PM
i know personally someone who is commercial and is on his second set of DF300A suzukis in 24months and has had nothing but problems after buying his business he has had to fork out close to $90,000 just on Suzuki 300HP engines shitting themselves, I wouldnt rule out the Verado your boat looks american and the Yanks love the Verados thats for sure just ring around for good quotes, where are you located?

mustang5
21-10-2013, 07:25 PM
i know personally someone who is commercial and is on his second set of DF300A suzukis in 24months and has had nothing but problems after buying his business he has had to fork out close to $90,000 just on Suzuki 300HP engines shitting themselves, I wouldnt rule out the Verado your boat looks american and the Yanks love the Verados thats for sure just ring around for good quotes, where are you located?

Located in Gladstone mate. Recently the yamaha dealer went bust, and the Suzuki dealer is also the merc dealer who also quoted the verado.

Not sure why I haven't really went down the verado path, but what's a big selling point to me is the bigger diameter prop on the Suzuki.

Boat is a 2601 sea swirl Striper. I've had a 225 yammy, underpowered, 250hp ram, underpowered.

Transom is rated to 400hp. Was keen on twins but from factory the strikers have a different transom height for singles vs twins, so not sure how the spacing and all that would go.

Twin 175s would be nice but yeah, lots to think about.

Brisbane Marine
21-10-2013, 07:30 PM
Give Troy a call at Brisbane Marine. Mercury large horsepower repower specialists.
Know you will be impressed by pricing, service and the quality of fit up.

Shark Poker
21-10-2013, 07:34 PM
One of my work associates purchased a 250hp Yammy four stroke a couple years ago for their 19' Workboat.

Although located closer to a couple other Yammy dealers, Yatala Yamaha was chosen as they appeared to be more capable of set up and fine tuning issues. It was just as well.
At that time, nobody seemed to know to optimise the performance of such a large engine onto a fairly small boat.

I personally saw almost 20 props that were tested.
There were the usual rpm type considerations, then porpoising, it all went on for weeks.
The application requires 2 different props - one for towing, the other for speeding past City Cats.
But my point is that the overall purpose of the engine is to turn the prop.

I would choose the supplier that can help fine tune your installation.

Not being nasty, buy what percentage of boats are running far less than optimal props, engine height, or are poorly balanced etc? Scarey.....

edit - by the way the installation was improved beyond their expectation.
Yamaha honoured a warranty claim
And after 2 years they have upgraded to a 300hp from the same supplier.

mustang5
21-10-2013, 07:38 PM
One of my work associates purchased a 250hp Yammy four stroke a couple years ago for their 19' Workboat.

Although located closer to a couple other Yammy dealers, Yatala Yamaha was chosen as they appeared to be more capable of set up and fine tuning issues. It was just as well.
At that time, nobody seemed to know to optimise the performance of such a large engine onto a fairly small boat.

I personally saw almost 20 props that were tested.
There were the usual rpm type considerations, then porpoising, it all went on for weeks.
The application requires 2 different props - one for towing, the other for speeding past City Cats.
But my point is that the overall purpose of the engine is to turn the prop.

I would choose the supplier that can help fine tune your installation.

Not being nasty, buy what percentage of boats are running far less than optimal props, engine height, or are poorly balanced etc? Scarey.....

Yeah mate, I hear ya. When I first purchased the Striper, after months of fine tuning i had a well handled setup with a 225hp yammy pushing a 26ft boat at 28knts cruise and 37kts flat chat. This was after 3 props and 3 motor height adjustments. When I got it too speed was 31knts and it wouldn't plane below 4000rpm..

This is the crap I want done for me, so I can hop in the boat and have 5 trouble and adjustment free years of hitting the reefs.

It's taken a long time and a lot of budgeting, but the boss has cleared this for approval!! And let me tell you this, that is not easy when you have your 4th child on the way haha

fin101
22-10-2013, 07:42 AM
I would go the Yamaha, they have a pretty big network in OZ and that's always a good thing. The new 300 yam is an excellent motor, it has size on it's side, and a lot cubes. I know a few folks that own them and love them. I see a stack of suzuki outboards around too , guys in my club have them etc, but I have heard the larger motors have had some probs. I think the service side of things is pretty important and should be considered.

myusernam
22-10-2013, 08:00 AM
what about two cheap 150's. service yourself. (the merc 150 4's are designed for home service. maint free valve train etc)

you haven't included opti's. best bang for your buck (cheapest but still fairly efficient)

mustang5
22-10-2013, 08:04 AM
Yeah mate I've had optis in the past. Amazing power, but just a tad bit thirsty for me.

Thought about twins, but double the service cost is a bit off putting, plus I don't think I could afford them. I know there's the safety aspect but I have a kicker locked away for when it's needed..

Hopefully never

mustang5
22-10-2013, 08:06 AM
So I think I'm narrowed down to the Suzuki vs yamaha really.

Anyone prepared to comment on the difference between the suzuki df300 and the yamaha f300??

FisHard
22-10-2013, 09:48 AM

Anyone prepared to comment on the difference between the suzuki df300 and the yamaha f300??

Ones black and ones grey.
Sorry, couldn't help myself ....

mustang5
22-10-2013, 09:50 AM
Ones black and ones grey.
Sorry, couldn't help myself ....

Lol looking into it a bit more, apparently the black one uses less fuel, is lighter, has innovative lean burn technology and swings a larger diameter prop which is well suited to a larger boat with a single outboard.

The grey one has better after sales service, better with warranty, and by the looks if it, a better reputation.

Muddy Toes
22-10-2013, 10:00 AM
For me the fact that the grey one has a 4.2l motor sold me over the rest.

There is no replacement for displacement and having had your boat underpowered before you'd know what a pain in the ass it is when the boat gets bogged down in front of swell on those big days and you're constantly on and off the throttle. That's one of the really enjoyable things about having the grey one on my boat, propped correctly it will hold it's revs through almost anything. Use the money you save on fuel and buy an auto pilot...........now that's boating!!!! No steering and no throttle adjustments........bliss!!!

ozynorts
22-10-2013, 11:14 AM
Hey mate, have you tried any of the dealers in Bundaberg? I wasn't really fussed on the service from the zuke dealer but the yam one was quite good and even on 2 stroke oil they were $20 cheaper for a 20lt drum than Gladstone.

PROS
22-10-2013, 11:24 AM
Mustang,
Since you are experienced from importing US boat, I am sure you looked at importing used low hour Yamahas.
What was the cost comparison landed?
Max

mustang5
22-10-2013, 11:26 AM
Mustang,
Since you are experienced from importing US boat, I am sure you looked at importing used low hour Yamahas.
What was the cost comparison landed?
Max

Ends up about 13k savings with new motor.

Is $13k worth warranty and customer service?? Some would say no... But 13k over 5 years of peace of mind is the way I'm heading.

mustang5
22-10-2013, 11:50 AM
For me the fact that the grey one has a 4.2l motor sold me over the rest.

There is no replacement for displacement and having had your boat underpowered before you'd know what a pain in the ass it is when the boat gets bogged down in front of swell on those big days and you're constantly on and off the throttle. That's one of the really enjoyable things about having the grey one on my boat, propped correctly it will hold it's revs through almost anything. Use the money you save on fuel and buy an auto pilot...........now that's boating!!!! No steering and no throttle adjustments........bliss!!!

What sort of l/km and cruise and top speed do you get with yours?

I think our boats are similar size. the striper although stated as a 26ft is only 24ft to the pulpit.

Muddy Toes
22-10-2013, 12:15 PM
Funny you say that Owen because I had my boat next to a 26 striper at the ramp the other day and they looked similar in size.
I get 1k/l at a cruisey 4300 rpm. Thats about 44k/h and at WOT I've stretched it out to mid 80k's/h but that was really trying, clears off, no gear and 2 people hahaha........

thelump
22-10-2013, 12:50 PM

One has Yamaharedness the others don't. Makes it a pretty easy decision really!

wirlybird
22-10-2013, 01:17 PM
the trend i saw over the last 6 months was lots of suzukis for sale at the 1000hr mark and yamahas were either not for sale or trading up or down in that 300HP bracket

22-10-2013, 01:34 PM
What do you reckon the difference in service costs , fuel usage would be compared to twin 150s or 175 s compared to the 300hp? Huge torque on the water on bars with twins and backing down and not that different in top end speed.
What is the difference in purchase costs ?

Gotta say I have done a trip home with a small kicker and it is a once only event and only safe in a dead calm in my mind. Looooong way home

Lot more 250's about just wondering for the times you really get to use the top end if it isn't worth propping a 250 and wringing its neck on the few occasions you get heavily loaded or glass out and want to hammer. Especially if you are going to trade it in 5 years for example no one will really know it has had a slightly harder life as you will still do 90% hours in lower range , troll etc. Guess I'm saying I don't know many people who wear motors out.

Real shame the turbo diesel outboards aren't yet mature as that boat could probably cope with the weight and if you could do enough hours it could be economical.

Apollo
22-10-2013, 01:34 PM
Sorry, but I am still stuck on how you have convinced the cook to go the 300 with a 4th on the way. I thought I negotiated quiet well in general, but you sir have taken it to a whole new level. Hats off to you. Now resume normal transmission.

mustang5
22-10-2013, 02:41 PM
Cormorant,

Price difference between single 300 and twin 175 is roughly 10k.

With regards to the 250, I made do with a 225 but had to limit weight in board to 3 pob. Plus cruising was either at 27 knots, or not on the plane lol. The 250 had a great hole shot, but again it was either cruise at above 4500rpm or it's buried in the water.

I need something with a bit more ticker to be able to spin a larger diameter prop to get a slower plane speed.

I would only be saving $4k between a 250 and a 300. Considering the transom seated for 400hp, plus a lot of overseas reviews on 300s have been really good.

Now just trying to analyse the technical differences of the two motors. Things like real life fuel figure comparisons on similar boats.

Does the Suzuki larger prop diameter play a part in lower speed planing?

Does the Suzuki lean burn system really save the amount of fuel that they claim?

Given each trip I do up here is around 400km round trip, fuel usage will be a little more important than if I were only doing 150km round trips so to speak.

The kicker thing is more so for peace of mind... Its a very clostraphobic feeling being out at sea with no forced momentum, even if it be 2knts against the tide lol.

Apollo, come the 4th time mate, you tend to know how to make the missus feel sorry for you and give in quite easily!! Takes some hair pulling, Jim beam out of the bottle, midlife crisis talk with plenty of boat cleaning in between to make it all come together!! Haha

hooknpull
22-10-2013, 03:01 PM
I know u want a 300 but http://www.boatpoint.com.au/accessories/details.aspx?__Qpb=1&__Nne=15&Cr=5&R=14517412&__Ns=pBoat_IsPremium_Int32%7c1%7c%7cpBoat_HasImage _Int32%7c1%7c%7cpBoat_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpBoat_M odel_String%7c0%7c%7cpBoat_Price_Decimal%7c1&SearchAction=N&__N=1550%201555%204294896645%204294877070&silo=1500&seot=1&trecs=138&__sid=141CC842F593

22-10-2013, 03:01 PM
Funny you say that Owen because I had my boat next to a 26 striper at the ramp the other day and they looked similar in size.
I get 1k/l at a cruisey 4300 rpm. Thats about 44k/h and at WOT I've stretched it out to mid 80k's/h but that was really trying, clears off, no gear and 2 people hahaha........

Is that ALL :o:o;D

Muddy Toes
22-10-2013, 03:04 PM
Is that ALL :) :) :)

Makes a bit harder to go any faster when your boats not made out if balsa wood and PVC glue....::)

22-10-2013, 03:07 PM
Makes a bit harder to go any faster when your boats not made out if balsa wood and PVC glue....::)

Looks like were on then :)

Better see what else you can chuck out of it then 8-)

mustang5
22-10-2013, 03:13 PM
I know u want a 300 but http://www.boatpoint.com.au/accessories/details.aspx?__Qpb=1&__Nne=15&Cr=5&R=14517412&__Ns=pBoat_IsPremium_Int32%7c1%7c%7cpBoat_HasImage _Int32%7c1%7c%7cpBoat_Make_String%7c0%7c%7cpBoat_M odel_String%7c0%7c%7cpBoat_Price_Decimal%7c1&SearchAction=N&__N=1550%201555%204294896645%204294877070&silo=1500&seot=1&trecs=138&__sid=141CC842F593

Looked at those. How are Demo outboards usually treated??

Whats the fuel figures difference between twins and a single?? Going from twin 200hp optis on one boat to a 225hp yammy on another was the difference between a trip cost of $800 and $380 lol. Sure different boats and the twin setup was about 900kg heavier, but still.... I need some convincing.

22-10-2013, 03:19 PM
Just get the ECU reports from the 175's to see how they have been driven

10-15% more with twins

22-10-2013, 04:15 PM

While the 10 to 15% for twins is probably right what about the situations, that I often find with my twins, when I turn one off and just use half the horse power; ie for slower operations. As I do a fair bit of slow running I suspect I am not using the extra 10 to 15% and during mid range the fuel consumption seems very reasonable with the two and tall props ie 20 p

22-10-2013, 04:41 PM
I don't know how yammha do their demo motors but other companies start the full warranty period from time of fitting on your boat. They are usually well fully serviced but you need to check costs of fitting and all the extras you need. ECU now will show just what hours and how hard they have been run and dealer warranty record will show if it has had any work. You get a run in motor that will have been well set up on a boat but you do need a decent discount . Honestly with 4 stroke and fresh oil not may people are wearing them out. the only thing I see with demo motors is that they may not be flushed but being regularly run and a check around thermostats on fitting ?????? Are the torque curves avaliable and comparable between the motors? Compare it with a 250 as well. Peak HP is still a bit of a misunderstood thing.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/accessories/details.aspx?R=12813853&__Qpb=1&Cr=0&__Ns=pBoat_IsPremium_Int32|1||pBoat_HasImage_Int32 |1||pBoat_Make_String|0||pBoat_Model_String|0||pBo at_Price_Decimal|1&SearchAction=N&__N=1550&silo=1500&seot=1&__Nne=15&trecs=138&__sid=141E12F92B29

Would be interesting to see on the same boat real world results of the twin 175s and a 300 as the twins would lose 25hp on extra prop , leg in water and weight so would be a good comparison. As for prop size and yadda yadda it is a mixed bag in my opinion on different hulls and different props. Theory is a big slow turning prop is more efficient at some speeds - reality hmmmmm and what props are available.

I have top say only a man who has not been outside radio range with a kicker running would ever believe they can make 2 knots against any current or wind. Go single ( or even twins) buy a sat phone if outside radio range anyway and use it's data link to confirm weather if staying out.

Some big Zukes were having corrosion issues but not sure why so I'd be checking that out to confirm if it is set up , electrical or a metal problem. . Please ask the zuk dealer what " lean burn" is and at what revs it effectively saves fuel. If you don't fit that profile ignore it. I'd love to hear his marketing explanation.

mustang5
22-10-2013, 07:11 PM
Thanks fellas.

I've got about 10 prices back today, and i must say I'm surprised at the price difference between the suzuki and the yam.

Going into this I thought the Suzuki was cheapest, but I can get a yam fitted for 2k cheaper, with the better digital gauge setup... Certainly swaying my position, along with the feedback of aftermarket support..

Yam prices are consistently low at the moment:

captain rednut
22-10-2013, 07:19 PM
Ive got 600 hrs on my Yamaha 300hp in 16 months and love it, great on fuel and they are a reliable and proven model.
jimmy

FisHard
22-10-2013, 07:57 PM

Sam Wallrock is a great guy, I bought my 200 Suzuki off him. I'm sure he can give them details himself, but in the case of my motor, he imported a new Contender with the 200 Suzi on it, but a local customer wanted a bigger Yamaha, so that's what he sold it with. He might so give you a fair trade for your motor.

23-10-2013, 07:48 AM
Cormorant,

Price difference between single 300 and twin 175 is roughly 10k.

With regards to the 250, I made do with a 225 but had to limit weight in board to 3 pob. Plus cruising was either at 27 knots, or not on the plane lol. The 250 had a great hole shot, but again it was either cruise at above 4500rpm or it's buried in the water.

I need something with a bit more ticker to be able to spin a larger diameter prop to get a slower plane speed.
Going by this comment alone, I think twins are going to be your friend.

23-10-2013, 08:40 AM
Shame you aren't a little bigger
These are now at the USA boat shows and with closed cooling I like em but at 500kg. basically a KG a hp same as the 300hp

Now I'm sure a little diesel would fit under that cowl?? A LS9 at little extra weight 700hp would but would a gearbox and drive handle it?

http://www.seven-marine.com/motors/specifications/

wonder what they can do about pricing.

http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&ved=0CCsQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.seven-marine.com%2Fdocs%2FSouthern-Boating-April-2011-Engine-Room.pdf&ei=hwxnUuOuJ4qtiAfOrYHYDw&usg=AFQjCNEIP7pHhuvZD6gBLY73XDk5FqZIaw&bvm=bv.55123115,d.aGc

http://www.boatingmag.com/engines/outboards/seven-marine-557

simonpp82
23-10-2013, 02:45 PM
I'm currently contemplating the same options for my boat. My set up is twin 115 suzukis pushing a 2.5t (dry) hull. They do the job ok but when I'm fully loaded it struggles thru the troughs. I had my heart set on a yam 300 but after speaking with yatala yamaha they tried swaying me towards the 250. At first I thought it might be an attempt to impulse me into a quicker sale with a saving of 5k, but after much research and looking at a lot of performance reports it really does look like the better option. The new 4.2's are exactly the same block, the 250 actually puts out about 265hp vs the 300's 285 or thereabouts. And only when you use premium fuel will you squeeze the extra hp out of the 300, which for me is never.. The performance reports using the exact same hull (Grady White 235 from memory) were almost identical except for the last 1000rpm where it squeezed out another whopping 2mph. Mid range cruise, trolling etc all pretty much exact same with same mpg as well. Anyway at a saving of around 5k I think my mind is made up. As much as the macho man in me would love that "300" sitting on the transom! Bit of food for thought..

mustang5
23-10-2013, 02:52 PM
I'm currently contemplating the same options for my boat. My set up is twin 115 suzukis pushing a 2.5t (dry) hull. They do the job ok but when I'm fully loaded it struggles thru the troughs. I had my heart set on a yam 300 but after speaking with yatala yamaha they tried swaying me towards the 250. At first I thought it might be an attempt to impulse me into a quicker sale with a saving of 5k, but after much research and looking at a lot of performance reports it really does look like the better option. The new 4.2's are exactly the same block, the 250 actually puts out about 265hp vs the 300's 285 or thereabouts. And only when you use premium fuel will you squeeze the extra hp out of the 300, which for me is never.. The performance reports using the exact same hull (Grady White 235 from memory) were almost identical except for the last 1000rpm where it squeezed out another whopping 2mph. Mid range cruise, trolling etc all pretty much exact same with same mpg as well. Anyway at a saving of around 5k I think my mind is made up. As much as the macho man in me would love that "300" sitting on the transom! Bit of food for thought..

Yeah Yatala said the same thing to me, however instead of the 250 was pushing me away to the 350hp.

I'm still searching for real life performance reviews or accounts for both the zuk and yam 300.

Also, I don't know if the removal of the cast steel internals is proven as of yet with the yamaha. Sure there's weight savings, but just not sure .

I might have to put the twins in the dreams of a better life list as I believe they will take me over 3.5t.

Anyone have any real life comparison data between the new Suzuki and the new yam??

Luke G
23-10-2013, 03:27 PM
Ive got a 300 yammy my boat, 2380wac sailfish, my boats probably around the same weight as yours but a deeper v,

I have only done about 20hours so far and just put on a new 4 blade prop and get about 38-39 knots out of it, cruises on 25knots at 4400rpm using about 1lt / km

I like both yammys and suzukis and personally dont think you can go wrong with either!

My 300 has plenty of go to get up on the plane and the fly by wire stuff is so easy to use.

Luke

myusernam
23-10-2013, 09:18 PM
what about the 350 yamaha? whoops reread posts above. already mentioned:o

chocolatemoose
23-10-2013, 09:46 PM
lol i got my 7 marine hat in the mail a little while ago. love the progress those guys have had. not to sure we will see any in australia any time soon. 70kUS though thats not to bad for the HP and unique factor :)

gofishin
23-10-2013, 10:18 PM
...The new 4.2's are exactly the same block, the 250 actually puts out about 265hp vs the 300's 285 or thereabouts. And only when you use premium fuel will you squeeze the extra hp out of the 300, which for me is never... The performance reports using the exact same hull (Grady White 235 from memory) were almost identical except for the last 1000rpm where it squeezed out another whopping 2mph. Mid range cruise, trolling etc all pretty much exact same with same mpg as well. Anyway at a saving of around 5k I think my mind is made up. As much as the macho man in me would love that "300" sitting on the transom! Bit of food for thought..

Simon is pretty much on the money here, except that I think the V6 300 should ONLY be run on Premium (Jim can confirm if this is correct or not). The actual tested power outputs for the Yams by the US EPA are 288 vs 264 Hp for the 300 vs 250 respectively (refer attached). Note that the 300 produces max torque at 5000 rpm, 500rpm above that for the 250hp. Your current 3.3L 225 provides 221hp (also from EPA data).

At WOT a simple calculation tells us that the extra 24 hp will give us a theoretical "SQRT(288/264) = 1.044" = a 4.4% increase in top end speed, all things being equal (i.e. prop efficiency, boat/engine setup, conditions etc). What we can't compare is how they perform at the important mid-range, as torque curves are a big secret in this industry. However Simon's comparison above is obviously a good guide.

At WOT the 300 will burn ~100L/h while the 250 will burn ~90 L/h.

I do like the new 300 V6, and I have done plenty of hours in a mates 685 with one - and it is indeed a sweet donk, however if I were choosing a donk for the 685 I would go the 250 every time as (IMHO) the additional 24hp is not worth it in this case.

Your case is a different kettle of fish again, as the 2601 is a fair lump of a boat. Knowing about your required/normal loading (from your previous threads) I would definitely be looking at all options, '250' and '300' and '300+' classes, all colours, (and I am a Yamaha man ;D), including the 350 V8. Check out THT, thousands more 2601's over there than here, and I am sure there are relevant threads to check out re power options. Good luck.
Brendon

Edit:
PS. Ad yes, don't discount twins. Two donks for 'X' Hp on any heavy boat, where 'X' Hp might be a bit marginal in a single, will still give great very good mid-range performance where as a single of 'X' Hp will bog down and be a dog etc when conditions are cr@p and you are heavily loaded.

23-10-2013, 10:39 PM
what about the 350 yamaha? whoops reread posts above. already mentioned:o

Those Yammie Gen 1 V8 350s seem to have some major issues with flywheel mounting, be interesting to see how the 7Marine go in the long run - they sure sound sweet.

bannana
23-10-2013, 10:51 PM
Simon is pretty much on the money here, except that I think the V6 300 should ONLY be run on Premium (Jim can confirm if this is correct or not). The actual tested power outputs for the Yams by the US EPA are 288 vs 264 Hp for the 300 vs 250 respectively (refer attached). Note that the 300 produces max torque at 5000 rpm, 500rpm above that for the 250hp. Your current 3.3L 225 provides 221hp (also from EPA data).

At WOT a simple calculation tells us that the extra 24 hp will give us a theoretical "SQRT(288/264) = 1.044" = a 4.4% increase in top end speed, all things being equal (i.e. prop efficiency, boat/engine setup, conditions etc). What we can't compare is how they perform at the important mid-range, as torque curves are a big secret in this industry. However Simon's comparison above is obviously a good guide.

At WOT the 300 will burn ~100L/h while the 250 will burn ~90 L/h.

I do like the new 300 V6, and I have done plenty of hours in a mates 685 with one - and it is indeed a sweet donk, however if I were choosing a donk for the 685 I would go the 250 every time as (IMHO) the additional 24hp is not worth it in this case.

Your case is a different kettle of fish again, as the 2601 is a fair lump of a boat. Knowing about your required/normal loading (from your previous threads) I would definitely be looking at all options, '250' and '300' and '300+' classes, all colours, (and I am a Yamaha man ;D), including the 350 V8. Check out THT, thousands more 2601's over there than here, and I am sure there are relevant threads to check out re power options. Good luck.
Brendon

I know a guy that has the same 3100 Noosacat as I and powered with twin 250 yammies where mine has 300 yammies. Glen Gibson from Yamaha begged me multiple times not to go 300's that it was a waste of $$, worst economy, only benefit is if you use premium unleaded and stick with the 250's but I thought it was a heavy boat and needed the 300's.

I was wrong!!!! The 250's on the other 3100 is incredibly more economical (up to .4 of a litre a k), performance not noticeably different and top end speed similar.

Basically if a 250 yammies not enough then go straight to the 350 because the 300's are bugger all different, more expensive to purchase and far more expensive to run.

mustang5
24-10-2013, 08:12 AM
Ok thanks fellas.

So I was set on the Yammy but now possibly having second thoughts.

My problem is that a 250hp is simply not enough. I understand the yammy 250 is more than a 250 however I still dont think it will cut it. Sure I may sound like I want the bigger number on the back but I need at least a cruise speed of 29knts as these boats only perform well when they are well out of the water..

I notice the 300hp Suzuki has more HP than the Yamaha, at a lower rpm. Where the Yamaha has more torque... I suppose on a heavy boat, what is more important?

My other factors at present is the local servicing.. Have a suzi dealer local, however nowhere for the yammy.

I know twins would be ideal, however it will throw me over the weight limit (3.5t) for towing, and is probably 10k over my budget. Those demo 175's are sold.

myusernam
24-10-2013, 08:44 AM
twin 150's would be cheaper and still ok

ric
24-10-2013, 09:50 AM
Ok thanks fellas.

So I was set on the Yammy but now possibly having second thoughts.

My problem is that a 250hp is simply not enough. I understand the yammy 250 is more than a 250 however I still dont think it will cut it. Sure I may sound like I want the bigger number on the back but I need at least a cruise speed of 29knts as these boats only perform well when they are well out of the water..

I notice the 300hp Suzuki has more HP than the Yamaha, at a lower rpm. Where the Yamaha has more torque... I suppose on a heavy boat, what is more important?

My other factors at present is the local servicing.. Have a suzi dealer local, however nowhere for the yammy.

I know twins would be ideal, however it will throw me over the weight limit (3.5t) for towing, and is probably 10k over my budget. Those demo 175's are sold.

Whats the total amount of weight for engines which will keep you under the magical 3.5?

mustang5
24-10-2013, 10:11 AM
Whats the total amount of weight for engines which will keep you under the magical 3.5?

Weighed the boat with half fuel and the 225 which was 273kg and it came in at 3412kg.

Half fuel which was 300L weighs 212kg.

So If I was fully fueled I would be 3624kg with a single outboard..

If I was empty I would have 570kg to play with

If I work on half fuel, I have 358kg to play with (My most likely setup when going fishing.)

myusernam
24-10-2013, 10:22 AM
whoops wrong thread. im having a shocker

ric
24-10-2013, 10:24 AM
That rules out a pair of 150's which sound like what you need.

Even the new mercury 150 is over 400kg for a pair(thats what i just bought)

06Adsy
24-10-2013, 10:40 AM
Twin 140 zooks would have you close to your half fuel 358kg.

24-10-2013, 11:53 AM
Check if those motor weights include prop and oil for XL length when that close to weights.

Does the trailer tow weight take into account the 100kg plus on the towball?

In regards to the 140s ( wouldn't want them lugging) I would strip 50kg off the trailer ( walkway, spare tyre to the tow vehicle) or out of the boat and have the 175 ( same weight as the 150hp 200kg ) everyday and carry 2 jerrys of fuel in the tow vehicle or fill up at the marina on the way out for extra fuel and water. Gotta be some crap in tyeh boat you never use and don't need? 3rd anchor and chain?

Time to set up a spreadsheet with real rigged weights and real HP output on normal aussie fuel so you can compare apples with apples. Shame a lot of dealers won't have the truth and torque graph ready to go for you.

At least you have the brains to keep it legal so if the worst happens you will have insurance cover and no liability. Plenty of others just tow and hope for the best

PS Give solas a call. To correctly prop stuff they must have a very good idea of the torque curve of most motors ( or have dyno results from OS) to make selecting prop blade and cupping easier.

24-10-2013, 12:20 PM
I could be way off target here, and don't want to suggest anyone do anything that is not legal, but.... I am not 100% sure that the legal tow weight includes "add ons" like your esky and food and ice and so on, the legal tow weight (I think) is governed by the boat, trailer and motor, (might not even include fuel) not how much stuff you toss in the boat for a day out, but like I said, I may well be very wrong.

ric
24-10-2013, 02:23 PM
I could be way off target here, and don't want to suggest anyone do anything that is not legal, but.... I am not 100% sure that the legal tow weight includes "add ons" like your esky and food and ice and so on, the legal tow weight (I think) is governed by the boat, trailer and motor, (might not even include fuel) not how much stuff you toss in the boat for a day out, but like I said, I may well be very wrong.
Sorry - you are wrong mate, it is overall weight which includes everything.

seahound
24-10-2013, 06:09 PM
I'm running twin 300 Suzi's on a 10m. 12 mths old & 400 hrs. No drama. Sweet engines. My mechanic is insistent on inspection of internal engine anodes & reckons Suzi is pushing for this. Easy job - just like a spark plug. I had mine changed at 300 hrs. It would seems all brands have reports of corrosion or some other issues. Nothing in it but I'd go 4s for sure. It was a toss between Yamaha & suzi for me too. went black for the prop size & resulting manoeuvreabilty which proved true. The fact the 300 yammie was a maxed out 250 also came in even though has a larger displacement over Suzi. No basis to this though. The design of the suzi gearboxes for counter rotate was also a plus. Consider local support may be decider. The lean burn seems to have effect to about 5000 rpm. Twin 175 suzis are about 50k. Enjoy either way...

bannana
24-10-2013, 09:11 PM
I'm running twin 300 Suzi's on a 10m. 12 mths old & 400 hrs. No drama. Sweet engines. My mechanic is insistent on inspection of internal engine anodes & reckons Suzi is pushing for this. Easy job - just like a spark plug. I had mine changed at 300 hrs. It would seems all brands have reports of corrosion or some other issues. Nothing in it but I'd go 4s for sure. It was a toss between Yamaha & suzi for me too. went black for the prop size & resulting manoeuvreabilty which proved true. The fact the 300 yammie was a maxed out 250 also came in even though has a larger displacement over Suzi. No basis to this though. The design of the suzi gearboxes for counter rotate was also a plus. Consider local support may be decider. The lean burn seems to have effect to about 5000 rpm. Twin 175 suzis are about 50k. Enjoy either way...

Mate I'm just curious but do you use identical fuel with your engines.

Both pairs of my 250 suzies used more fuel on my port engine than the starboard.

It was somewhere between 5 & 7% additional fuel for the port engine.

Cheers Keith

seahound
25-10-2013, 02:25 AM
Banana
Will get back to you. Have a single 1000ltr tank & monitor fuel use as combined fuel use / economy with GMi 10s so this has not been obvious + the wireless does a good job in syncronising the rpm.

My rig is a mono with the engines set close so I,d be surprised if there's much in it. FYI - similar vessels to mine running 250 yammies or Suzi's use 15% more fuel on average while the 350 yammies go up 20%.

Jakers 69
25-10-2013, 08:38 AM
I would go for twin 175 Suzi without having a sleepless night, the Yammie 250 is a awesome motor and Bill Korten swears by them instead of the 300 Yammie.
Good Luck

mustang5
25-10-2013, 08:42 AM
Twin 175s installed for 44k. It's a tough one

ric
25-10-2013, 09:16 AM
Twin 175s installed for 44k. It's a tough one
I thought i read somewhere that you were selling the striper? What made you decide to keep it and repower?

44k for 175 is good,i got a price for twin 150 yam was 42k!

mustang5
25-10-2013, 09:46 AM
I thought i read somewhere that you were selling the striper? What made you decide to keep it and repower?

44k for 175 is good,i got a price for twin 150 yam was 42k!

I did sell the Striper, went to get an alloy built, then the only boat I wanted has an 18 month lead time, so I purchased another a month later for very very cheap. It had a ficht on it and I took it out twice and swore i will never have a white motor on a boat again.

Ficht is sold. (Practically given away). Now I have a Striper in pristine condition needing some propulsion

25-10-2013, 10:11 AM
Out of interest what was the performance with the old Rude on it?. they are a powerful motor for weight more so than most others and low and midrange torque monsters which is why the river ski guys love em. I still reckon they put out more than 250hp the way they drive and can be propped.

I remember your propping thread on the Yammi 225 and the results when set up right- did you do the numbers for the Rude?

Mate I'm still running the 17p. Raised the motor 3 holes and its a different boat!

Get 5400 at 34knts with 5pob and empty ill get 5800rpm and 37knts.

Looking for a 16p 3 blade or 15p 4 blade.

myusernam
25-10-2013, 10:27 AM
it's a lot of cash. Have I read rightly that you have already been through a few different engine combos? You could also sell it and buy a well set up haines or similar be better off in the long run. You would have no differnece in capability between your boat and a 680 for example, and not have overwidth or overweight issues.

25-10-2013, 11:21 AM
Sorry - you are wrong mate, it is overall weight which includes everything.
No need to be sorry, I kind of knew it would be the case, but there seems to be something fundamentaly wrong with our current system.

mustang5
25-10-2013, 05:12 PM
Out of interest what was the performance with the old Rude on it?. they are a powerful motor for weight more so than most others and low and midrange torque monsters which is why the river ski guys love em. I still reckon they put out more than 250hp the way they drive and can be propped.

I remember your propping thread on the Yammi 225 and the results when set up right- did you do the numbers for the Rude?

Mate I'm still running the 17p. Raised the motor 3 holes and its a different boat!

Get 5400 at 34knts with 5pob and empty ill get 5800rpm and 37knts.

Looking for a 16p 3 blade or 15p 4 blade.

Mate they are an absolute powerhouse. 37knts at 5600rpm spinning a 17p 4 blade and got her on the plane quicker than the 225 that's for sure. With a 3 blade and correct height (this one also put on low at factory) I wouldn't be surprised if it would have hit the 40knt mark.

She used the juice and niggly things like not starting one minute, and starting the next are just something I want to steer clear of when I'm 120km offshore.

mustang5
25-10-2013, 05:17 PM
it's a lot of cash. Have I read rightly that you have already been through a few different engine combos? You could also sell it and buy a well set up haines or similar be better off in the long run. You would have no differnece in capability between your boat and a 680 for example, and not have overwidth or overweight issues.

Yep, 2 different combos, 225hp yamaha on the last Striper and 250hp rude on the second .

Numbers with the 225, I was flat out getting 31 knots when first purchased, however through a lot of niggling I got it 37knts. 37 knots on a 3.5 t boat from an outboard producing only 208hp is pretty good going.

The 250 rude if at correct height and correct prop would be enough power I'd say.

300hp is more for the faster cruising speed as the stripers don't feel any chop or swell when above 28knts cruise.. So that's the target

Mate I'm sold on the stripers, nothing against the 680 but for the price I got this one for you would think I'm a criminal.

The repower is also planned to be transferred on to the new custom build platey when the time comes so there is also a dual purpose.

SatNav
25-10-2013, 05:51 PM
"I kind of knew it would be the case, but there seems to be something fundamentaly wrong with our current system. "

1. Nothing fundamentaly wrong with the current system at all, quite straight forward actually.

seahound
25-10-2013, 06:57 PM
As a matter of interest, twin 175 Suzi rig combined wot fuel use about 120 ltr / hr for 48 kn on a 7.2m rig. No experience with a single 300 but twins use about around 105 each at wot. I'd suggest going for fly by wire on the twins so this will bump up the cost. At cruise of 23 kn on the 175's economy = 0.75 ltr / nm. The single 300 would be around 0.6 at a guess - a lot of fuel to make up the cost difference.

On the topic of warranty & support, while I've had no drama with suzi support at all, yammies are factory backed. Sometimes with warranty claims there's often more to the story too.

I'd go for the brand / supplier that can bolt the donk on & leave you to enjoy. Proven installs on the same tub as yours.

Enjoy the purchase.

ryangler
25-10-2013, 09:48 PM
If your looking at twin 175 suzi you might as well stretch for twin yammi f200's and be done with it. They are the same weight and it will put to rest and thoughts you might have about what an extra 50hp might do once you got 350hp bolted on the back.

If it was me I would go with a single Verado 350 Pro

myusernam
25-10-2013, 10:01 PM
Yanmar 6LPA-STZP2

ryangler
25-10-2013, 10:12 PM
Also Yamaha are offering 3.9% interest for 36 months at the moment, that's cheap money whichever way you look at it.

myusernam
26-10-2013, 07:41 AM
import two new yammies from the states with smaller boat in a container. on sell the boat (or split freight costs eith someone on here)
chose an outboard known for it's reliablity and you shouldnt have an issue i.e. no real known probs. if anything does die than there's always boats.net parts and your freindly mobile tech

ryangler
26-10-2013, 10:55 AM
Im in a similar position and got a quote for $32,900 for a 300 fitted with the following

YAMAHA PREMIUM SINGLE LAN DIGITAL LCD GAUGE, SINGLE BINNACLE
YAMAHA SS SDS PROP
FUEL FILTER
MOTOR FIT UP, PREDELIVERY AND WATER TEST(SUBJECT TO INSPECTION)
SUNDRIES

which I didn't think was too bad considering i live in North west WA and he it the only dealer within 1200km

mustang5
30-10-2013, 01:08 PM
Ok Im booked in on the 300hp.

Going through Marine Tune, which although does have some bad feedback on some fitups, I have cleared a lot of those through endless emails and phone calls with Mark at Marine Tune who has been extremely helpful.

Booked in next weekend so I will update as to how it all pans out!

Gon Fishun
30-10-2013, 02:22 PM
Good luck with it buddy, and quietly let Mark know there are 384,674 members on Ausfish following the fit up. ;D

honda900
30-10-2013, 04:36 PM

Going through Marine Tune, which although does have some bad feedback on some fitups, I have cleared a lot of those through endless emails and phone calls with Mark at Marine Tune who has been extremely helpful.

Mustang,

I have had two engines on new boats from Marine tune, The engine fitup both times have been no drama.

Honda.

simonpp82
30-10-2013, 06:26 PM

Hey Mustang, did you go with the suzuki or yammy? I'm considering my options for a repower sometime soon.. So far it's down to the 250yam or 300 zuke.. Lots to consider.. What are people's opinions on the greater torque of the yammi vs Greater HP of the zuke? Do they cancel each other out? It's a heavy boat, 2.5t before I put a drop of fuel or any gear in..
Cheers - simon

mustang5
30-10-2013, 06:32 PM
Hey Mustang, did you go with the suzuki or yammy? I'm considering my options for a repower sometime soon.. So far it's down to the 250yam or 300 zuke.. Lots to consider.. What are people's opinions on the greater torque of the yammi vs Greater HP of the zuke? Do they cancel each other out? It's a heavy boat, 2.5t before I put a drop of fuel or any gear in..
Cheers - simon

Went the yammy for the following:
- cheaper
- better feedback for warranty claims
- better digital LCD gauge (in my opinion)
- you don't see many second hand yammys in the 2007-2012 range, but I had option on a lot of second hand zuks.
-

30-10-2013, 06:38 PM
The number of you guys buying 200hp plus outboards you should have got together and done a bulk deal so a dealer could have passed on some of his volume rebates to you . All the dealers need the business. Perhaps a Ausfish buyers club is in order next time.

mustang5
31-10-2013, 09:13 AM
Good luck with it buddy, and quietly let Mark know there are 384,674 members on Ausfish following the fit up. ;D

Yeah will do mate, but I think he knows!! Im one of those customers that ask every single question known to man!! All relevant though... I mean its $30k we are playing with, why wouldnt I?? lol

31-10-2013, 04:02 PM
Did you take the MT quote to the local yamy man and ask to match it??

mustang5
31-10-2013, 04:05 PM
Did you take the MT quote to the local yamy man and ask to match it??

My main issue is there's no real local yammy man around here. Closest is probably in rockhampton.

Plus I am down brissy way every second weekend so it's not too much of a hassle.

rat_catcher
31-10-2013, 08:03 PM
My main issue is there's no real local yammy man around here. Closest is probably in rockhampton.

I thought there was a Yamaha dealer in Gladstone at the marina. Did they go bust while I have been off the water? Or actually were they a Honda dealer. Aaahhhh can't remember.

mustang5
31-10-2013, 08:05 PM
I thought there was a Yamaha dealer in Gladstone at the marina. Did they go bust while I have been off the water? Or actually were they a Honda dealer. Aaahhhh can't remember.

They sold up and the local mechanic bought in and made it a Honda dealer. Happened about 5 months ago if I recall.

rat_catcher
31-10-2013, 08:09 PM
They sold up and the local mechanic bought in and made it a Honda dealer. Happened about 5 months ago if I recall.

Ah ok I know things change all the time. Hard to keep track.

mustang5
01-11-2013, 08:56 AM
Is there anything I should push for or keep an eye out for with the install??

I see some installs have a 10mm backing board between the transom and outboard, is this something that is used for thinner transoms or another purpose?

Any ideas on what's the best process to fill the old circular holes and fit the single multifunction gauge??

ryangler
02-11-2013, 12:15 PM
what did you end up paying out of interest? Im looking at the f300 and f250

mustang5
02-11-2013, 12:56 PM
$31 fitted

Apollo
02-11-2013, 01:34 PM
That is a good price.

Re the dash, Grandmarlin was installing some cool looking carbon fibre panels over the top and then installing the new gauges into that. The coupel I saw, looked really good.

Apollo
02-11-2013, 01:36 PM
That is a good price.

Re the dash, Grandmarlin was installing some cool looking carbon fibre panels over the top and then installing the new gauges into that. The couple I saw, looked really good.

ryangler
03-11-2013, 10:36 AM
2x carbon fiber panel or aluminium panel with carbon fiber wrap to cover the holes

So 31k flat included everything harnes, keyswitch, binnacle and premium LCD dash?? if so im going back to my dealer then

mustang5
03-11-2013, 10:47 AM
2x carbon fiber panel or aluminium panel with carbon fiber wrap to cover the holes

So 31k flat included everything harnes, keyswitch, binnacle and premium LCD dash?? if so im going back to my dealer then

Yeah mate I got quotes ranging from 31 to 35k for the yam, and 32 to 36k for the Suzuki.

mustang5
11-11-2013, 05:30 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/11/4ymeny8y.jpg

just finished the test run and she's pushing 44knts at 5800 with 3pob and half a tank. Could have wound out more with a longer straight and if tallebudgera wasn't so shallow.

Very impressed with the service of the guys at marine tune they looked after me.

Fly by wire is dangerously responsive but I'll get used to it.

Now time for the reds

ric
11-11-2013, 08:11 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/11/4ymeny8y.jpg

just finished the test run and she's pushing 44knts at 5800 with 3pob and half a tank. Could have wound out more with a longer straight and if tallebudgera wasn't so shallow.

Very impressed with the service of the guys at marine tune they looked after me.

Fly by wire is dangerously responsive but I'll get used to it.

Now time for the reds
its nice reading about a happy ending :)

fin101
11-11-2013, 09:17 PM
You can adjust the tension on the throttle stick with an allen key, it's in the manual. Great donk, you will love it. How good is the growl they give out ?

mustang5
11-11-2013, 09:21 PM
The growl is of another world mate . Too right

Apollo
12-11-2013, 05:01 AM
its nice reading about a happy ending :)

We all like happy endings!

billpatt
12-11-2013, 12:12 PM
If anyone is looking for a 2nd hand motor of the same size, i see there is one for sale in the Nugget Forum. Fairly cheap with not too many hours clocked up.

ryangler
25-11-2013, 10:13 PM
Hope you can help me out as I cant find the info anywhere, what are the dimensions of the Yamaha LCD Display? just trying to work out the layout of my new dash

mustang5
26-11-2013, 12:30 AM
Will have a measure tomorrow mate. Flick me a message to remind me tomorrow arvo.

http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/25/vu7y7eba.jpg
Here's a pic of what they did with mine. $50 for the board cut to shape and covers all the circle holes that were in place .

ryangler
08-01-2014, 09:29 PM
Any Performance Andfuel Figures.

mustang5
09-01-2014, 12:32 PM
About a km/L , put 20hrs on her mate she goes great. Have to raise the motor a couple of holes though as my hull tends to need the cav plate higher than level with the keel.. So getting that done at service.

Running a 17T may be a bit much however still rings out to 5600-5750 with 4pob half tank. Want to check after motor raised to see how she goes before worrying about prop.

Great motor, although significantly louder (At speed) than the older 4 stroke yams for some reason..