PDA

View Full Version : Prop opinions

Spiderpig
07-10-2013, 05:47 PM
I have just bought a boat that I have been chasing for a couple of years. Its a dolphin flexihull, a poly longboat.

It came with a yammy f60 which I wasn't happy with, so I took the yammy off and put my 4S merc 60 bigfoot. After going for a couple of runs over the weekend I am happy with the merc, but I will have to change props.

The boat is 6.2m and quite heavy:

Hull 680kg
Engine 120kg
fuel 60kg
Max 8 passengers
misc stainless, 200L esky, bait, booze ice, fish

It has got to be pushing 1200kg. I knew it was going to be a slow boat, but I bought it for the ride.

At the moment I am running a merc vengeance 13-3/8" x 14P prop. I am getting 22mph at 5400 WOT. The setup is too heavy to use the merc prop selector.

I have tried the motor at one hole higher but it was cavitating and the cav plate was out of the water. It made no difference to WOT.

It also has a SE foil on it which I plan to take off to see what difference it makes.

Ideas?

Moonlighter
07-10-2013, 06:06 PM
No, other than to talk to Steve at Solas props. He will have some options for you.

Spiderpig
07-10-2013, 07:11 PM
Yeah I will be calling him tomorrow. I actually prefer merc props to solas props but the ability to return props is probably going to push me to buy solas

Spiderpig
08-10-2013, 08:27 PM
Steve from solas couldn't help. Back to the drawing board

Moonlighter
08-10-2013, 09:33 PM
Are you a member of The Hull Truth? If so put a post in the boating forum there and ask Ken from the Propgods to reply. If he cant help, no-one can.

Chamelion
09-10-2013, 12:44 AM
6.2m poly with a 60hp.. surely you just need to go a bigger motor? I have a 40hp on my 4.1m tinny and when loaded with a couple of people and fishing gear I wouldn't like to have any less ponies available.

Spiderpig
09-10-2013, 06:16 AM