PDA

View Full Version : The skipper experience

lucee81
07-10-2013, 06:11 AM
Well i had the displeasure of fishing off a known members boat yesterday and thought i would start a thread for all the unhappy customers out there...
Here's my story
plans were made for a 5am start at his place, i show up on time skipper no where to be seen he finally emerges some 15 min later (after second deckie arrives) "ready to go" he asks, "yeah sure", now never fishing off his boat before i wasn't sure if he traveled with rods in boat or in car so i ask "yeah mate just chuck them in the boat, as i proceed to set up boat with other deckie (lets call him cobiaman) the skipper decides there is not enough oil in his hubs so he proceeds to fill hubs with oil, now im no mechanic and ive seen some dodgy practices but what i saw yesterday i cant even explain, anyway "how far to the ramp mate?" about a k, sweet nothing too bad can happen in a k and its not a far walk, off we go finally, get to ramp and try to help unhitch boat , the ungrateful knob gets all frantic "don't touch the boat, you don't know what your doing" yeah righto mate thinking i should turn around now as were aren't even on the water, we finally get going skipper in seat cobiaman next to him and i ask "happy for me to sit anywhere" as there are plenty of seats, "nah stand there" this is going to suck as its a couple of hours drive to our destination a fair bit of bouncing and holding the throttle flat (kid thinks he owns a cat im sure) we make it to the bar "now whos crossed the bar?" he asks " i haven't done it in years" this bloke is surely having a go at me but he wasn't a slow trip through and we make it with our dignity, i try to be nice and make small talk whats the weather meant to be like " knowing full well as i checked it but all i got was a grunt and not sure, well i will be a butchers daughter if it didn't blow its tits off all the way to the shelf, we finally get there and yep this is the spot tie THE RIG onto