PDA

View Full Version : Flushing 2000 Honda 25HP 4-stroke

PeterKroll
13-08-2013, 07:19 PM
I've just bought a tinnie with this outboard. I bought a wash plug that plugs into the bottom leg of the outboard because I thought it would be more efficient than using the standard ears.

I tried it out today, and it seems to be just pouring out of the outlets below, the place where the ears normally go when flushing.

The question is, is there a way to tell if the engine is being fully flushed, and should there be a stream coming from the telltale hole when the engine is being flushed in this way?

Have mercy, gents. I'm new to this.

WalrusLike
14-08-2013, 08:12 AM
Sorry Peter I tried to help.... I don't know anything but had a look on google and tried to get your service manual.... failed I am afraid.

Spaniard King on here has a business servicing Honda outboards.... He is widely respected here for friendly and knowledgable advice.

I would suggest a pm to him will get you on track. Good luck with it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

Giffo65
14-08-2013, 08:21 AM
Peter

I asked this same question of Garry (Spaniard King ) last week for my 130 HP Honda,he said not to use the port you are talking about,so I am using muffs.With a smaller motor you could drop the leg of the motor into a drum of fresh water and run it,I used to do this for my 25 Yamaha 2 banger on my tinnie.You may have sand in your telltale so push some thin whipper snipper cord upper the telltale to unblock it,and when was the impellor last changed ?

PeterKroll
14-08-2013, 10:28 AM
Thanks, gents. Well, it's back to ears then. I'm not sure about the impeller. I assume not for a long time. However, the telltale was blocked when I took it on the water for the first time, but there was a strong stream when I gave it a clean, and it stayed like that for the hour that I ran it.

The reason I got the wash plug was that, using ears when flushing, the telltale wasn't running so I though I'd get smart.