PDA

View Full Version : Teleflex steering problem

captain red beard
30-07-2013, 04:15 PM
Hi guys, I have another steering question.
I have a yalta craft triple 5 with a 2stroke 130 yamaha. The steering helm broke the other week while out fishing and I have just bought a replacement helm but have just found that the original one I had was the non feed back type. The replacement one I have now is the normal safety steer 3.0, so my question is should I still fit it so I can go fishing this weekend or should I just wait and get the nfb like I had originally.
Will the same cable still fit?
Will my boat be hard to steer with the normal helm?

Thanks red beard

no chicken tonight
30-07-2013, 04:37 PM
Im no expert, but from my past experiences, you will always have a boat thats unpleasant to steer, espesially with the helm youve got.
I know its a lot more coin, but a hydraulic setup will be the best improvemnt you can do to a boat with that horse power. And you will probly never have another steering issue again. Or, just fit the helm youve got and get out there, but you will spend more down the track.

honda900
30-07-2013, 05:09 PM
Captain red beard,

From experience changing from NFB to Hydraulic on a Yalta, really didn't make that much difference the NFB was as good if not sharper than (less turns) than the hydraulic. NFB will break again though that being the down side.

Regards
Honda.

Shark Poker
30-07-2013, 06:02 PM
Up to you whether you change the helm or not, but the biggest difference is that without NFB helm, if you let go the wheel you could find yourself in a hard lock turn seconds later.
You do not need hydraulic steering.
Pauly

captain red beard
30-07-2013, 07:09 PM
Thanks for the replies guys,