View Full Version : Aircraft Carrier USS George Washington and support fleet in Brisbane this week

fozzy
29-07-2013, 11:19 AM
Received a flyer by email today advertising cruises to view the Aircraft Carrier USS George Washington and its support group, which will be in Brissie Tuesday to Friday it seems.

If nothing else it will be a spectacular sight coming in the channel off Caloundra.

BLOOEY
29-07-2013, 02:39 PM
I was on the brassy this morning to find 3 warships coming in ,cops and official boats everywhere and the distinct smell of oil. The large clumps of tarry oil on the surface near where the drege was confirmed it. Not a nice day to fish the river that is for sure although the warships are something different. Ben

WalrusLike
29-07-2013, 02:43 PM
Blooey was one of the 3 the carrier?

I wish I could have the boat out near the main channel near Cowan to see it underway.

300 metres of 80 metre high steel island driving by must be a sight to see.

(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')

29-07-2013, 03:05 PM
All ships look bloody big when you are close to them, so I would reckon a US aircraft carrier might look on the large size too! Near me we have a pretty big shipping harbour (Port Kembla) and there is a place where the ships go from the outer harbour, to the inner harbour, you can park your car and watch them come through "the cut" and they are just metres from the shore where you are standing, pretty spectacular with a couple of big tugs trying to yank them around 180 degrees just meters away.

BLOOEY
29-07-2013, 03:17 PM
Yes it was walrus like. They were in the process of berthing it when I left the ramp , the whole river was closed off for about an hour. Pretty big ship alright. I was more concerned with the oil spill though. Ben

Fish_gutz
29-07-2013, 08:25 PM

WalrusLike
29-07-2013, 08:30 PM
Sorry FG... those pictures are not working for me.

I can see all the other pics in other posts so I think it won't be just me that can't see em.

Fish_gutz
29-07-2013, 08:31 PM

tried photobucket and just uploading the images from my computer. all files too large except this . sorry.

Fish_gutz
29-07-2013, 08:32 PM
http://i572.photobucket.com/albums/ss169/Jettnjace/1012254_10200621328195471_257680368_n_zps0af177e8. jpg (http://i572.photobucket.com/albums/ss169/Jettnjace/1012254_10200621328195471_257680368_n_zps0af177e8. jpg)

http://i572.photobucket.com/albums/ss169/Jettnjace/1009810_10200621329195496_1945945859_n_zps4533caf9 .jpg

http://i572.photobucket.com/albums/ss169/Jettnjace/1012254_10200621328195471_257680368_n_zps0af177e8. jpg

thats it I give up. maybe the mods can sort it. (remote file too large?)

Still_Dreamin
29-07-2013, 08:38 PM
All ships look bloody big when you are close to them, so I would reckon a US aircraft carrier might look on the large size too! Near me we have a pretty big shipping harbour (Port Kembla) and there is a place where the ships go from the outer harbour, to the inner harbour, you can park your car and watch them come through "the cut" and they are just metres from the shore where you are standing, pretty spectacular with a couple of big tugs trying to yank them around 180 degrees just meters away.
My uncle used to work on the tugs down there noelm. I remember going out on them and bringing in the coal carriers. The biggest I remember was the iron pacific owned by bhp. That thing was huge. It would hit the bottom as it came through the breakwater

Still_Dreamin
29-07-2013, 08:41 PM
Looks like brisbane's new runway has arrived! Does that mean they stop destroying the mangroves now.

WalrusLike
29-07-2013, 09:15 PM
Now who was it that was testing out his new radar and bumped into a giant wall of steel?

Reckon that thing would show up on the radar? :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

sharkymark2
30-07-2013, 12:04 AM
Now that would make an awesome artificial reef :).

30-07-2013, 09:23 AM
My uncle used to work on the tugs down there noelm. I remember going out on them and bringing in the coal carriers. The biggest I remember was the iron pacific owned by bhp. That thing was huge. It would hit the bottom as it came through the breakwater

Yep, the Iron Pacific and the Iron Kembla were an awesome sight, especially if they were heading right for you out near the shelf, the bow wave was gigantic when they were leaving Port Kembla fully loaded and they got up to a good speed!

Any_Weather
02-08-2013, 09:43 AM
G'day guys, I have read that the George Washington is leaving Brisbane on Saturday morning? I have rang the port of Brisbane to try and find out a time but was told they can't give out any info on navy ships, understandably. Does anyone here have any idea what time it may depart or even better, go past caloundra? I wouldn't mind going out for a look.
Cheers guys
Lee

WalrusLike
02-08-2013, 02:41 PM
I would like to do a trip out to see it underway. Maybe Whyte island to Sandhills sat morn?

Anyone know the time it leaves?

WalrusLike
03-08-2013, 07:00 AM
Looks like its leaving at 1200 today. From notice to mariners:

"The direction restricts the navigation, anchoring and operation of all ships, including small self propelled craft, on waters of the Brisbane River between the Entrance Beacons and the Pelican Banks Reach, from 1200 hours until 1300 hours on Saturday, 3 August 2013."

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

WalrusLike
03-08-2013, 07:42 PM
It was very impressive to see up close... and the trip over to Moreton ahead of it was good.

Anchored just nw of e5 beacon and saw it swing around the corner at reasonable speed. Very impressive.

Huge wake. :)

03-08-2013, 09:32 PM
One of the fleet officers mentioned on the radio that his vessel could do 60 knots with the gas turbines engaged. I doubt that it was the carrier as I thought they did around 48knts. I always thought the destroyers were slower for some reason.