View Full Version : recommend me a boat for $30k (or refer me to a good deal)

phillay
04-07-2013, 01:22 PM
hi everyone

I've been reading a fair bit of forums for advice on which boat to get but still unsure.

Please guide me on what you think I should look at based on my usage.

I usually fish with my dad and wife
Mostly fish within port philip bay
Looking at going to Portland to do some offshore fishing with another boat
I've had a boat which I recently sold, it was a haines sig 492f, I found the fishing area was a tad small, and I didn't use the cabin much.
my budget is 30-40k

thanks

Phil

Tickleish
04-07-2013, 01:40 PM
Hey Phil, I'm thinking of selling my boat which would be perfect for you - 542F Signature.

04-07-2013, 01:48 PM
For that money I would be looking at something like these!

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13474192&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=0&eapi=2
or
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14221755&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=5&eapi=2
or
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14010068&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=6&eapi=2
or
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13256947&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=2&eapi=2

Or heaps of any other brands but the 600 series Signatures are a magic carpet ride compared to the 492F and the amount of room will blow you away again compared to the 492

04-07-2013, 02:13 PM
I recently went from a haines sig 520 to a 540F and found it to be a much improved boat. I've taken it to Portland a number of times and it handles the rough as well as my old 565 haines did.

They've still got a small cockpit area for their size so it depends on storage, costs with running larger boats and motors, tow vehicle etc whether you want to go larger again to something like a 6 mtr sig. There's a good one on ebay with a 175 suk 4 stroke in your price range.

Seeing that you will be going to Portland a 4 stroke is the only way to go as you will need the range.

Well worth considering Ticklish's boat if an 18 fter is what your after even if it is in another state as mine was, they're cheaper up north.

The seafarer vic @ 5.9 in length are a very good boat and better in a sea than the same size sigs which tend to bang a bit.

phillay
04-07-2013, 02:30 PM
thanks for the replies, will be towing with a 3.5 V6 NL pajero I think it can do 2.5t.
I don't mind the drive from QLD or NSW to bring it back home.

to be honest I did find the 492 a bit rough sometimes and it had put me off going out when there's a slight breeze

what other model boats would you guys reckon I should look at?

what about plate boats?

04-07-2013, 02:49 PM
Talking of Seafarers - this one looks the goods too! (not a huge fan of E-tecs but thats for another thread)

Your Paj would handle these without too much trouble I would have thought

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14821733&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=0&eapi=2

wirlybird
04-07-2013, 03:01 PM
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12788632&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=1&eapi=2

talk him down to 40K would be a bargain

grumpysmurf
04-07-2013, 04:46 PM
Agree with every post above - Haines Signature is the way. I just got a Signature 610C and also bought a Pajero NS Exceed to tow it with. What a great package

Casey Ison
04-07-2013, 04:52 PM
buy my fully restored reef ranger cruise craft mate. 27 k. up for grabs in another few months haha.

definitely would consider the hains as all the above members have suggested they are great boats.

thylacene
04-07-2013, 10:31 PM
Keep an eye out for something along these lines, a generous fishing space, a good offshore ride, and shelter from the elements. http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14594904&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=16&eapi=2

phillay
08-07-2013, 06:30 PM
hey guys what do you think of these?
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14088065&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=73&eapi=2

08-07-2013, 06:46 PM
Expect to spend around $300 plus per day off Portland. They like a drink those big 2 strokes.

grumpysmurf
08-07-2013, 07:14 PM
Expect to spend around $300 plus per day off Portland. They like a drink those big 2 strokes.

Not sure your how far this Portland is, or your definition of a "drink" :)

But see this thread where I have calculated my 150 Mercury 2 strokes consumption on a Signature 610
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?124778-Fuel-consumption-150HP-Merc-2-stroke

phillay
09-07-2013, 12:56 PM
I would probably do Portland once or twice a year at most, so $300-400 per day is fuel is not a big deal. Just wondering what's with the walk around things, does it allow you to "walk around" the boat whilst fishing unlike the cuddy boats where the deck area is only the back half? wondering how stable are these boats at rest and offshore?

ozynorts
09-07-2013, 01:02 PM
Mate give mustang5 a pm. He had a pro line and might be able to give you some feedback on them.
The walkarounds and the ability to fish around them depends on the design I found. There are some that have a big walkaround gap, some that only have a small walk space and some that are a flat area on top of the cab.
Pays to have a look at them up close if you can and decide which style you like.

ozynorts
09-07-2013, 01:21 PM
Have a look at this one.
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/regents-park/motorboats-powerboats/yalta-craft-555-hc-offshore-fishing-boat/1018498991

ozynorts
09-07-2013, 01:30 PM
This one has lot of goodies.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=15196561&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=0&eapi=2

ozynorts
09-07-2013, 01:34 PM
Or you could go for a legendary hull.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=15106900&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=1&eapi=2

phillay
09-07-2013, 03:25 PM
the first boat l;ooks awesome, but I am going to try and check out some local ones first (Victoria) before paying a for a flight to go interstate. are those haines that good compared to other boats. Seems to be highly regarded and reccommended in the above replies

ozynorts
09-07-2013, 04:11 PM
Good idea to look locally first but you can always ask if anyone on here that is close to boats up here if they would have a look for you. There are a number of guys on here that have Yalta's for instance that may be willing to have a look and let you know if it is worth the effort of you flying up.

Seahuff
09-07-2013, 10:53 PM
How do the Yalta's go?

ozynorts
10-07-2013, 07:34 AM
I love mine. Heaps of fishing room and good ride. Built very strong.

phillay
10-07-2013, 10:34 AM
there seems to be a lot of yalta's for sale in QLD but not many in other states, they are cheaper than haines and cruises crafts for the same size. Is there a reason why?

thelump
10-07-2013, 11:37 AM
They are made by a very small operation near Gympie and sold quite cheaply. They just don't have the same reputation/following as a Haines or Cruisecraft but all that own them like them. Me included. Great value for money. Also in the same category are the Tournaments and Baysports.

ozynorts
10-07-2013, 12:16 PM
As the lump says they are a Qld boat so more prevalent up here.
Here is a review on them. http://www.marinews.com/boating/boat-test/yalta-triple-5/13/
4 button arnie on the forum has the same setup almost. His has the 150hp yammy 4 stroke if need some more info.

10-07-2013, 12:21 PM
I was thinking that the 150 yami might have been too much weight Ozy. What's the max transom weight for them ? Good motor and lots of power for the boat though.

ozynorts
10-07-2013, 12:43 PM
Yep I was of the same opinion as well JJ until I chatted to 4 button arnie recently and found out that Yalta will rerate the transoms. Also the current model 555's (2000) have the same transom rating as the 615(2200). The were always built with the same transom but the smaller boat had a smaller weight rating. It was a surprise to me but I am happy as it gives me more scope when I get the chance to upgrade my motor. Always learning I guess. The 150 would be at the top of the weight range but as arnie has done a set of tabs would help make up for that.

thelump
10-07-2013, 01:21 PM
Heres a thought Ozy the new 200hp Yamaha 4 cylinders are lighter than the 150s. Strap one of them on the back mate!

ozynorts
10-07-2013, 01:51 PM
Not sure that Yalta would increase the ponies to 200hp from 150hp though. Would go like the clappers.

DATCOL
10-07-2013, 11:30 PM
Hi Phillay my 6M plate Try gull wing walk around centre cab is for sale 135 Hp mariner don 300 hrs
Great stable sea boat $32000 Cheers Col

Tickleish
11-07-2013, 12:15 PM

Hey Phil, here's a couple of pics from the weekend.

phillay
17-07-2013, 01:14 PM
hey guys what do you think about these boats? pros cons?

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14088065&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=17&eapi=2

phillay
17-07-2013, 01:16 PM
or this?

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14438413&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=28&eapi=2

Skusto
17-07-2013, 04:00 PM
hey guys what do you think about these boats? pros cons?

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14088065&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=17&eapi=2

if you want a bit of information on the pro line I would probably head over to the American boating forum the hull truth as it is an American boat forum, from what I have read they are a nice boat. I would buy the pro line over the stacer any day even if it is older as there would be a big ride difference.

wrxhoon
17-07-2013, 09:35 PM
Nothing wrong with the proline other than over width they are 101" wide ( 2.565 mts) . Most USA built boats over 20' over 2.5 mtrs wide.are