PDA

View Full Version : Trailer roller tools

Justin Rossiter
01-07-2013, 05:08 PM
Going to drop the boat in the water and replace 2 keel rollers in the ramp carpark. Only 2 minutes from home but was trying to think of what tools I will need to take with me as this is my first time. Any suggestions welcome.

J

Casey Ison
01-07-2013, 05:56 PM
normally just a set of pliers some grease and new split pins would be all u should need. possibly a wire brush or cordless grinder if your rollers pins are rusty?

cheers.

solemandownunder
01-07-2013, 06:00 PM
Going to drop the boat in the water and replace 2 keel rollers in the ramp carpark. Only 2 minutes from home but was trying to think of what tools I will need to take with me as this is my first time. Any suggestions welcome.

J

All depends on any rust prevelant on the bolts & shafts I would imagine. A good dose of Penetrol on all rusty bolts beforehand would be adviseable.

We are about to do this with our boat trailer very shortly.

I notice that the drop bars for the rollers on 2 of our replacements have been bent a little, so I will use an angle grinder & cut these off flush before I begin.

Tools.....and TWO people would be good.....

Correct fitting spanners & strong shifter & GOOD vicegrips
Hammer/s.
HUGE flat screwdriver for leverage & maybe pinch bar.
STRONG Tape measure to line up all bottom rollers for correct hight....alternately a strait-edge of the desired length.

This is what I am taking so far.....I am sure others will think of things I haven't thought of as well ::)

Cheers, Ray.

Casey Ison
01-07-2013, 06:17 PM
if your only replacing your keel rollers you should not need to alter any of your heights etc, unless of course (as solemandownunder said) your drop bars are buggered otherwise u just need to cut the split pins push the roller pin out brush it up grease and and put the new roller in place and new split pin.

Justin Rossiter
01-07-2013, 06:57 PM