View Full Version : Cleaning Aluminium

mhilton
24-06-2013, 07:40 PM
Hey guys,

Can anyone point me in the right direction on what product to use and how to clean off the oxidation on my aluminium tinnie?

Michael.

MrNanks
24-06-2013, 09:16 PM
try Septone Alibrite. Available at most auto retailers.

Cheers Dave

MrNanks
24-06-2013, 10:12 PM
like everything. pick a hidden piece to make sure that is the result you want

25-06-2013, 10:49 AM
try Septone Alibrite. Available at most auto retailers.

Cheers Dave I think this is the bottle I have in the shed - 99% full and yours if you pick it up. No longer needed .

Triple
25-06-2013, 12:07 PM
Pig fat and a buffer... ;)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=36787&d=1224467560

clone trooper
25-06-2013, 12:46 PM
What is this Pig Fat I keep reading about ? surly this isn't real animal fat but a brand name ???

25-06-2013, 05:41 PM
With any of the acid washes, be sure you flush it well out of the boat and hidden crevices, it can crystalise and concentrate and cause corrosion holes.

Floating Rib
25-06-2013, 06:10 PM
if you use the acid type wash make sure you do a little at a time, it streaks if you dont get to rinse it quick enough, i used the cleaner that whitworths sell.

mhilton
25-06-2013, 06:29 PM
i went to bunnings and got some aluminium cleaner called blitz, will give it a try on the weekend, if no good ill go to whitworths and see what they have

Floating Rib
25-06-2013, 07:10 PM
im guessing bunnings/whitworths etc is probably all a similar product, good luck with the spruce up job.

mhilton
25-06-2013, 07:51 PM
im guessing bunnings/whitworths etc is probably all a similar product, good luck with the spruce up job.

Yeah most likely, thanks mate

Jeff72
29-06-2013, 09:51 PM
Depends on how bad the ali is. if not too bad the blitz will be ok. Septone Alibrite has a combination of acids that is much more effective and agressive. Goto qld diesel spares who sell it for about $100 or so. Much cheaper than the smaller 1l bottles. Use between 3:1 and 1:1 no weaker. Start down low rinsing off as you go and keep rinsing the areas you have previously done. Its very hard to get rid of bleached runs caused by concentrated acid. Also Beware if you have a trailer below. Either plastic sheet off the trailer or take the tinny off the trailer. It will make a mess of galv steel. Also be aware that acids give off toxic gases so if you do it in a confined space use a mask.

clone trooper
01-07-2013, 09:15 AM
So Michael, how did you go ?

I'd like to do the same with my tinnie. Bought the Blitz and tried it on the tray of my ute that was looking ordinary. came up real nice. does anyone know how this stuff goes with stickers/ decals ?? I would hate to see my beloved Ausfish sticker melt. cheers.

stevemid
01-07-2013, 07:38 PM
How long does the shiny finish after an acid wash last? I've always been told that exposed aluminium produces an oxide which protects the al from further oxidation. Taking that off makes the al plate thinner...

Just sayin'...