View Full Version : 23 sharkcat project boat(need help)

dinga ling
11-06-2013, 07:41 PM
9358893587935869358593584gday,this is my first post so please be friendly! thanks, i have just bought a 23ft shark cat as a project,it currently has fitted some old 175 johnsons on it which need replacing! the question that i have is what to repower with and if some one can tell me what year the hull might be.any info on the boat good or bad would be appreciated.

Humdinger
11-06-2013, 07:45 PM
Repower with yammie 4 strokes mate

dinga ling
11-06-2013, 07:49 PM
what hp do you think mate?

wayno60
11-06-2013, 07:55 PM
2 of these.......
150hp 4S Yamaha...

Humdinger
11-06-2013, 08:05 PM
150 s would push it pretty hard

dinga ling
11-06-2013, 08:12 PM
cheers! never owened one or even been in a 23 shark cat could be interesting,would imagine decent fuel ecconomy from those 4s 150s!

11-06-2013, 08:34 PM
I know where there's a few F150's for low 20's for the pair. I'll be going out on a 23 with 225 opti's in the next few days. Might be fun. pm me if you want more info.

Nicko_Cairns
11-06-2013, 08:51 PM
mate welcome to the forum, very keen to see how the reno progresses, cheers.

dinga ling
11-06-2013, 09:04 PM
have to sell my haines 635l first to fund this project but would like to know how the 23 goes with 225 opti's!! cheers

wayno60
12-06-2013, 07:28 AM
http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=14972247&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=3&eapi=2

12-06-2013, 09:13 AM
While 150hp will be more than adequate, Yamaha 150's would not be my pick, especially if you are thinking second hand

Troy Wood
12-06-2013, 09:29 AM
Have a look at the Mercury 150 fourstroke as well.
Great reports from these engines and service costs are less.
http://www.mercurymarine.com.au/home/outboards/fourstroke/150-hp/150-hp.aspx

FisHard
12-06-2013, 10:01 AM
Have a look at the Mercury 150 fourstroke as well.
Great reports from these engines and service costs are less.
http://www.mercurymarine.com.au/home/outboards/fourstroke/150-hp/150-hp.aspx
Troy, what do the 150 mercs weigh? Thanks

ozynorts
12-06-2013, 10:20 AM
The merc 150 with a 20' leg is 206kg. The yammie in the 20' is 223kg. The zuke in the 20' is 215kg. The Honda in the 20' is 217kg.
Merc don't seem to give a 25' leg weight but all the others are around 3-5kg heavier for the xl so I would assume that the Merc is similar.

FisHard
12-06-2013, 10:53 AM
Thanks Ozy!

julian1
12-06-2013, 11:26 AM
a pair of the new Yammie lightweight F200's (4 Cylinder) would be a great match, what ever you do dont put too much weight on the bum and that earlier Harris hull loves HP

FisHard
12-06-2013, 02:28 PM
One of my most memorable boating moments was about 25 years ago in a 23 Shark Cat like yours with twin 225s. Flat stick from the South Passage Bar to Manly at 50 plus knots!!! It wasn't a particularly nice day either and the cat just lapped it up. god only knows how many litres of fuel it guzzled, but it was awesome.
Good luck with your reno!

Troy Wood
12-06-2013, 07:28 PM
FisHard, sorry mate just saw your message. They come in the lighter side of the 150 range.
3.0 litre capacity and like I said earlier considerable cheaper for routine log book services.

myusernam
12-06-2013, 09:09 PM

dinga ling
12-06-2013, 09:49 PM
thanks guys,225 opti's could be the go then or etec maybe?thinking two stroke just to keep with that sort of era,what weight would be too much to make it bum heavy? any ideas on the age of the hull?

No Fear
12-06-2013, 09:51 PM
Congratulations on the acquisition. I have almost finished refurbishing my 23 foot cat and it was a mission of a project. Although mine is the single inboard, I recommend the first thing you do is make sure the fuel tanks are sweet. If they are original, my suggestion would be not to risk them, cut the floors up get new ones, especially if you are going 4 stroke which requires the fuel to be clean.
Apart from that, all the best......don't be scared to overpower it!!!

dinga ling
12-06-2013, 09:59 PM
thats what is was thinking (no fear) just the weight if that makes them bum heavy

13-06-2013, 09:20 AM
The day out with the twin opti's was cancelled due to the rotten weather off Portland!! If you want to speak to the owner about them I'll put you onto him. He only just did the repower.

myusernam
13-06-2013, 10:59 AM
optis good choice

13-06-2013, 11:02 AM
Optis may well be too wide for the motor wells.

myusernam
13-06-2013, 11:41 AM
etec 150/175's are pretty narrow and go hard. But the merc 150 4's are meant to be lightish and a nice motor

soulfish
14-06-2013, 08:09 PM
Ding a ling,mate i have 150 yammy 4 strokes on my 2700 noosa cat which is practically the same boat with pods .I am happy with performance & economy ,it uses 1.1 litres per klm in light ship mode & 1.3 with full fuel & 4 pob for overniters so heaps of gear onboard,it tops out at 42 knts light load & 39knts full.
I used to own a long cabin model in survey {so pretty heavy} with 150 optis & fuel usage was identical except it was pretty heavy on oil & that adds up.Around 39 knt performance
If i was to repower i would agree with julian & go with 200 yammy 4's ,as personally i would keep the bum light as possible & go for max hp for the same weight.I have no experiance with heavier engines on transom (v6's) but yours not having pods i wouldnt go there.In my old long cabin when you had a few big fellas down the back drifting with parachute out ,bait tanks full & 15knts & over in slop they tend to sink a bit & cop waves up the cowls a bit wich always was annoying.
But congratulations on a great boat.....should keep you off the streets for a while

sharkcat 23
28-06-2013, 08:56 PM
ding aling, good luck with the boat mate, I brought a 23 ft sharkcat project boat very similar to yours, the middle of last year, I've since added a cabin and brought a pair of 2003 200hp yammie 4's, when I finally got them home and measured them I found they wouldn't fit in the motor wells when turned, I now have to put pods on the back to take the motors, something to think about before you buy motors, by the shape of it your have the same as me, an early model sharkcat, probably with flat bottoms on the hulls.
And believe me, it will keep you of the street for a while. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have, and I haven't even had it in the water yet, I've had a ball making and installing stuff on the boat as it was a bare hull when I got it.

dinga ling
02-07-2013, 07:58 PM
cheers sharkcat 23,yes it does have the flat bottoms on the hulls,is this a good or bad or ok thing?floor coming up soon to check tanks and then rub her back and give her a new paint job!bright yellow i think with white top.and then build a alloy trailer or try to find a good second hand one!! so much work but should be an interesting project!!

03-07-2013, 07:56 AM
and brought a pair of 2003 200hp yammie 4's, when I finally got them home and measured them I found they wouldn't fit in the motor wells when turned, .

hence my comment way way back about the Optis! The motor wells are quite narrow on that model, so it is something to be aware of, any motor considered should be measured before committing, for a fishing rig, 150's would probably be about right, perhaps go 175 as most 150's are the same weight as the 175 (in some brands)

sharkcat 23
03-07-2013, 10:03 AM
Dinga ling, mate from what the very knowledgeable people on the subject have told me on here, the later models have slightly v'd bottoms, are 3 inches wider and go slightly better, but with that being said still a great boat to go way outside. Good luck finding a trailer, I looked for months was about to start making one when I found one, after I brought it I had phone calls if I wanted to sell it, as I said, very hard to find.
Where are you located, if your pulling up the floor just to check the tanks, consider just pressure testing them, no more than 3 psi holding pressure, mine were 200lt stainless, I only pulled up part of the floor to check condition as the floor had been replaced by the previous owner, I needed to know what type of job he did before I started the rebuild.
Good luck, takes lots of time....Doug

Drew70
04-07-2013, 07:09 AM
Theres a trailer on ebay

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/6-5m-Shark-Cat-Boat-tilt-trailer-2000kg-2-x-disc-braked-front-axle-/141008047127?pt=AU_Boat_Parts_Accessories&hash=item20d4bc0c17

dinga ling
04-07-2013, 08:45 PM
sharkcat 23 im down in tassie there is couple around but need work,was going to build an alloy trailer!help to keep weight down.

Dean1
06-07-2013, 10:23 PM
Congrats on the purchase. Mate that would probably be made in the 70s 1 of the 1st. Wet smooth ride required plenty of hp. Min 175s id say. Shel b a thirsty old girl having the narower sponsons but a great sea boat. Heavy solid old boat not like the new lightweight cats that i dont think are as good. No sacrifice for weight!

dinga ling
07-07-2013, 08:52 PM
thanks for the info on the old girl,the old johnsons are 1979 models so might be around that year?

Shark Poker
07-07-2013, 08:58 PM
Well I would like to help.
I have been googling this all day and the best I can come up with is the following link:

Pauly

Dr FuManchu
10-04-2014, 11:05 PM
Any updates on the project?
Cheers.......the doctor