View Full Version : Expired Flares - Disposal

SatNav
08-06-2013, 07:45 PM
1. Note that in Qld You can dispose of flares that have passed the manufacturer's expiry date at the following locations

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Safety/Flare-disposal-locations.aspx

Muddy Toes
08-06-2013, 08:20 PM
1. Thank
2.You
3.Sat
4.Nav,
6.Duly
7.Noted
8.For
9.September
10.When
11.Mine
12.Expire

Crunchy
08-06-2013, 08:52 PM
13. I'm going set mine off

08-06-2013, 08:58 PM
My kids are keen to see why 6 old sets set off....I might oblige.

Muddyfeet
08-06-2013, 10:57 PM
I wish I had some flares. Why is everyone numbering their posts?

Feral
09-06-2013, 04:31 AM
Last new years, I went to set mine old expired ones been sitting in the shed for a few years.

One wouldn't fire. Maybe they are right making you get new ones! Mind you probably 5 years old.

banksmister
09-06-2013, 06:49 AM

14. Because satnav always does it in his posts.

banksmister
09-06-2013, 06:55 AM
1. Note that in Qld You can dispose of flares that have passed the manufacturer's expiry date at the following locations

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Safety/Flare-disposal-locations.aspx

15. The dicks at MSQ forgot to put soccer matches on the list.

09-06-2013, 06:59 AM

16, So it's easy to see how many points of interest are in the thread

SatNav
09-06-2013, 08:25 AM
1. The law in all states is very specific on this issue but unfortunately some have an understanding problem and even worse condone and recommend the practice.

2. Coming to a state near you will be clear, concise and unquestable directions on this issue similar to SA that even the worst doubting tom will understand. Enjoy :)

http://www.safework.sa.gov.au/uploaded_files/disposal_marine_flares.pdf

09-06-2013, 09:15 AM
To a person we were winding you up SatNav.

deckie
09-06-2013, 09:15 AM
17. Ken Oath...make excellent jetpacks when attached to local tomcats that have been rooting inside the boats cabin at home.

Mike Delisser
09-06-2013, 10:11 AM
18. I don't think it's ideal if the 1st time you had to set off a marine flare was in an emergency situation such as a sinking or capsized boat. Shame there's no organized and legal option around this.

09-06-2013, 11:38 AM
Is SA the only place then where its legislated against? Surely expiry dates have some margin in them in terms of controlled demos and then extinguishment?

09-06-2013, 12:11 PM
19. I keep mine u never know when the next pending Zombie Invasion will be
20. And u can never have too many explosion devices as zombie deterents
21. :P

SatNav
09-06-2013, 12:19 PM
1. Similar legislation is applicable to every state, this is not something new. What SA have specifically done is spell out the meaning of the existing legislation in a separate warning release and terms that Joe Blow can understand otherwise Joe Blow will follow the flock.

2. Expiry dates under this legislation have no leeway and nor should they being explosives.

"Shame there's no organized and legal option around this."

3. It can be organised, has been organised in the past, becoming harder to organise as insurance is an issue as some are very quick to hit up legal avenues when there is a sniff of compenstation. Legal option? Simple use indate flares.

Crunchy
09-06-2013, 05:25 PM
22. I have de ja vu, we had this same conversation a little while back.
23. If I set my orange smoke off at night and my night flare off during the day no one should be any the wiser...right?

Muddy Toes
09-06-2013, 05:32 PM
53. We let a handheld smoke flare off in a mates car one night when we were kids Crunchy.....
B. It wasn't such a good idea.....
XIV. In saying that though it's something everyman must try.

Crunchy
09-06-2013, 06:07 PM
1(a) was more thinking outside the car...
(b) I'm offside to do it now, will report back soon.

Muddy Toes
09-06-2013, 06:12 PM
i.Roger
ii.Standing
iii.By
iiii.For
iiiii.Detailed
iiiiii.Report

Crunchy
09-06-2013, 07:00 PM
010001101 well not what I expected, in preparation I got a bucket of water ready and put on a big thick ski glove ( yeh I know...pussy) pulled the cord and well they really go off with quite a bang don't they, kind of like a roman candle (remember them before our overlord protectors banned them?), after a bit of sparking and hissing out came the smoke, and heaps of it. Oh crap the smoke was going into both the neighbours in a thick (and quite smelly) orange fog, so I panicked a bit and threw the damn thing in the bucket, there that should take care of it...but no it just hissed even more and bright orange (cool colour heh) smoke came pouring out the top of the bucket and just kept going and going. Her indoors comes out to say dinners ready and says "what's that smell, there's something on fire" yeh no worries love just this bucket. Ruined the bucket....orange sludge everywhere.

Can't wait till the morning to do the hand held flare!

WalrusLike
10-06-2013, 09:59 AM
Cool Crunchy! Thanks for the detailed report. Love it!

If you have a wooden fireplace the chimney builds up creosote or some such on the inside.... It can melt your house if it catches fire.

You get a rocket effect of a vertical pipe lined with flammable material going off like a roaring jet. (It happened to us)

The bloody thing sounds like a jet engine and your chimney pipe glows red.... it's started many house fires apparently.

I was told by a fireplace salesman that fire fighters simply throw a red flare into the fireplace and close down the vents.

The flare burns so strong it uses the oxygen before it can get up the chimney so the chimney fire goes out.

17a Subsection IV : Oops... forgot to number it....
:)

(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')

SatNav
10-06-2013, 11:25 AM

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Safety/Fla...locations.aspx (http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Safety/Flare-disposal-locations.aspx)

Muddy Toes
10-06-2013, 11:33 AM
1. So who was talking about deja vu?

Mike Delisser
10-06-2013, 11:58 AM
1. So who was talking about deja vu?

Fed
10-06-2013, 12:40 PM
I thought it was illegal to transport out of date explosives?

I suggest calling the cops/bomb squad to pick them up from your house so you don't break the law.

myusernam
10-06-2013, 12:50 PM
well ive been in an emergency and we had lots of expired flares and were glad we had them.
they still work.

Crunchy
10-06-2013, 03:15 PM

http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Safety/Fla...locations.aspx (http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Safety/Flare-disposal-locations.aspx)

69. In order not to inflame (;D) the situation that is what I will do with the remaining flares. I have let one off now so know what to expect when under a potentially more stressful situation. They are indeed incendiary devices....treat with respect and be safe.

C

trymyluck
10-06-2013, 04:11 PM
69. In order not to inflame (;D) the situation that is what I will do with the remaining flares. I have let one off now so know what to expect when under a potentially more stressful situation. They are indeed incendiary devices....treat with respect and be safe.

C

Stop being a skirt, I have a few packs here with the nearest neighbors about 400m away so if anyone wants to have a barbi/flare night.....::)Although if one ends up with one shoved somewhere unmentionable and set off with 3rd degree burns resulting you may get rolled down the driveway before ringing 000...........8-):-X

Crunchy
10-06-2013, 04:37 PM
Mark if you were able to dislike your own posts I would have disliked mine above...I'm not proud of it:-[ could everyone please dislike my post #29 above.

so I'm up for a flare party:-X

Shark Poker
10-06-2013, 04:44 PM
70. Hey.

10-06-2013, 05:22 PM
If you did a big hole and throw them in once they start smoking so much you are worried about attracting crabs surely that would extinguish them?

TREVELLY
10-06-2013, 06:16 PM
7263589.1(B) Do they go off really cool like if you shoot them!? :rifle:

trymyluck
10-06-2013, 06:23 PM
7263589.1(B) Do they go off really cool like if you shoot them!? :rifle:

Now that demands some research and investigation, will report back tomorrow but my money is nothing will happen.

Now who is going to hold it??????

Muddy Toes
10-06-2013, 06:40 PM
What if we light one, throw it and shoot it like a flaming clay pigeon with a 12g?

Crunchy
10-06-2013, 06:51 PM
Why don't we set them off and stick them up our bums?

Muddy Toes
10-06-2013, 06:57 PM
And I'll try and pick them off with a .308 at 200 yards.

12-06-2013, 01:03 PM
What do you think new years eve is for? That's when my old ones get retired. The night ones are awesome.

Actually, both sets before my previous new years eve had failures. They were the old striker type. Last few sets the design is a bit different and seem to be ok.

Crunchy
12-06-2013, 04:02 PM

Relaxedcamper
12-06-2013, 09:38 PM
Just wondering. I am thinking of trying out the old (1 yr out of date) flares and smoke flares. Perhaps on NYE. We live in the country but want to know if you suddenly find them too much, will dunking them (both smoke and flare) into a bucket of water extinguish them. Can you turn off the flare or smoke by dunking them into a bucket of water or do you just have to wait until they burn them selves out.?

grumpy santa
12-06-2013, 11:17 PM
After all the fun replies to the original thread a little note to put things in perspective. If, god forbid, you have the misfortune to have a fire at your house or shed, and the out of date flares are found to be there, your insurance company will likely tell you to stick your claim where you will need a flare to find it.

While flares are in date they're classed as marine safety equipment items. As soon as they become expire, they're classed as unexploded ordinance and as such are dangerous items.

The boys in blue also take a dim view to people letting them off for fun as well as a couple of guys found out up Yeppoon way a couple of years ago. Lots of grief in the courts and a big fine.

Thanks for the reminder SATNAV. Oops I've got 2 sets to get rid of.

Dicko
13-06-2013, 09:45 PM
138: Send them to this guy in the territory. He's probably progressed past little crackers by now.
http://www.ntnews.com.au/article/2012/07/31/312406_ntnews.html

banksmister
14-06-2013, 03:35 AM
All jokes aside, its not a good idea to let them off.
Late last year i was on the western side of Fraser when a boofhead 3 camps down decided to let one off at 11pm.
1.5 hrs later the poor copper from eastern side drove up the beach looking to see if anyone was in trouble, even though he probably knew it was some pissed camper being stupid.

TREVELLY
14-06-2013, 08:05 AM
you are right banksmister . . . . . . but the smoke ones do sound pretty neat as long as you set them off in someone else's car - crazy people

I am struggling to think of anywhere to do them for fun without repercussions and certainly not near the water anywhere - probably back of Bourke one night by a fireside after a few explosions (usual bottle of petrol and gas bottle on the fire)

trymyluck
16-06-2013, 10:51 AM
All jokes aside, its not a good idea to let them off.
Late last year i was on the western side of Fraser when a boofhead 3 camps down decided to let one off at 11pm.
1.5 hrs later the poor copper from eastern side drove up the beach looking to see if anyone was in trouble, even though he probably knew it was some pissed camper being stupid.

Anyone that lets in date or out of date flares off at a time or place that may cause confusion as to whether someone is in distress deserves to have the book thrown at them. :hanged:

Now back to the question of whether shooting one will cause it to explode or go off?

Well after exhaustive research and testing I can confirm that I failed to have a flare explode or ignite.:rifle::rifle::rifle: The flare's in question were a few years out of date and after the tests were humanely put out of their misery.....::);D

Now I just have to coax the wife's dog out from under the bed......

Muddy Toes
16-06-2013, 11:05 AM
The fans want to know at what distance, what calibre and if it was a smoke flare or one of those cool flame ones.

Thanks.

trymyluck
16-06-2013, 11:53 AM
The fans want to know at what distance, what calibre and if it was a smoke flare or one of those cool flame ones.

Thanks.

Only playing with the babies, our little dog nearly goes into cardiac arrest when I use the 22, the 22mag and the shivers turn into all out shaking, not game to get the 8mm out.......

Range was 25m, they are extremely hardy and well built, only a direct end hit penetrated all others just dented the casing. Did one of each.......

I personally think that the expiry date on these things are a joke and they could safely double the length with a visual inspection from a authorised person after the 3 or 4 years.

Apollo
17-06-2013, 06:03 AM
Anyone that lets in date or out of date flares off at a time or place that may cause confusion as to whether someone is in distress deserves to have the book thrown at them. :hanged:

Now back to the question of whether shooting one will cause it to explode or go off?

Well after exhaustive research and testing I can confirm that I failed to have a flare explode or ignite.:rifle::rifle::rifle: The flare's in question were a few years out of date and after the tests were humanely put out of their misery.....::);D

Now I just have to coax the wife's dog out from under the bed......

Alledgedly!

Oh, and when did turbo start thinking he was a dog?

banksmister
17-06-2013, 04:30 PM
not game to get the 8mm out........

Mate there is 500 blokes waiting with baited breath wanting to know how unstable these things are when there expired.
FFS don’t let us down softy

spelchek
17-06-2013, 06:12 PM
Wel i can say for certain that a slug gun will set off a circa ww2 very flare if you find one in your grandmas shed. You have to sneak it home in your back pocket sitting next to your dad in his MGA tho.

Muddy Toes
17-06-2013, 06:14 PM
1. But if your dad doesn't have an MGA would it still work?

spelchek
17-06-2013, 06:18 PM
I'm sure any British car would suffice. Make sure you tell him when you get home so you get to see his face turn white.

trymyluck
17-06-2013, 07:23 PM
Mate there is 500 blokes waiting with baited breath wanting to know how unstable these things are when there expired.
FFS don’t let us down softy

Ok then if you insist..........Will get the missus to take the dogs for a drive as its going to be all out warfare, 12g with a variety of shells from #4 to buckshot to solids. Then onto the 303-25, 303, 8mm and if that dosn't work then I'll just have to reassemble the 9mm that I was intending to rebarrel to .257 Roberts...............:P
After that is there any shotfirers on here???????;D;D;D;)

Muddy Toes
17-06-2013, 08:56 PM
Ok then if you insist..........Will get the missus to take the dogs for a drive as its going to be all out warfare, 12g with a variety of shells from #4 to buckshot to solids. Then onto the 303-25, 303, 8mm and if that dosn't work then I'll just have to reassemble the 9mm that I was intending to rebarrel to .257 Roberts...............:P
Think I've got a bit of a man crush........

thelump
17-06-2013, 09:01 PM

Be careful when ya go around a courtin. His papa packs more heat than thet and he don't like no Asians suitors after his boy.

trymyluck
17-06-2013, 09:47 PM
Be careful when ya go around a courtin. His papa packs more heat than thet and he don't like no Asians suitors after his boy.

Unfortunately half of them are his........

trymyluck
17-06-2013, 09:52 PM
So given that there are a few gun owners on here, I'm in need of a gunsmith, who is a specialist in engraving. I have a gun that needs some rectification work from some shoddy work that has been performed.

Muddy Toes
17-06-2013, 10:02 PM
I put a post up asking for recommendations one day and most people told me to take mine to Pine River Lock and Gunsmith (or something like that) I'm taking my 12G there on Friday............if i have time.

Apollo
18-06-2013, 05:24 AM

Hang on Mark, don't be hasty in your refusal. He has a big boat and is away most of the time. Think you need to take one (or two) for the team!

18-06-2013, 10:55 AM

Me is what do u want to do ............. I can't say what u want on an open thread we'd be classed as terriosts

trymyluck
18-06-2013, 05:18 PM
Me is what do u want to do ............. I can't say what u want on an open thread we'd be classed as terriosts

Well I'm sure we'll work something out.............:-X:-X

trymyluck
18-06-2013, 05:21 PM
Hang on Mark, don't be hasty in your refusal. He has a big boat and is away most of the time. Think you need to take one (or two) for the team!

Refusal, who said anything about refusal, I just don't want to be seen as being forward....:smitten:

thelump
18-06-2013, 09:35 PM
Refusal, who said anything about refusal, I just don't want to be seen as being forward....:smitten:

Alcohol wont work on this one so maybe something shiny or an electronic gadget of some sort. I know he is partial to a multi tool as well. Either that or just get the "guns"out!

cobiaman
18-06-2013, 09:37 PM
Alcohol wont work on this one so maybe something shiny or an electronic gadget of some sort. I know he is partial to a multi tool as well. Either that or just get the "guns"out!

1 word macca, durries....

Muddy Toes
18-06-2013, 09:39 PM

I want the gadgets!!!!

thelump
18-06-2013, 09:41 PM

I want the gadgets!!!!

One of those electronic durries! Perfect