View Full Version : My wife doesn't understand me

04-06-2013, 08:17 PM
I was stunned with the wild accusations my wife has been making recently. She thinks I have been sneaking in fishing purchases for my upcoming Swains trip. How am I to convince her that there is nothing to worry about and there will BE NO NEW GEAR for the trip? She has even gone through my internet history to point out the tackle sites I have been visiting recently>:(. I have tried everything to put her mind at ease.:-?
Also on a totally different topic do you think one should hide new tackle purchases in plain sight or hide them away until the trip;D

04-06-2013, 08:47 PM
You could have them delivered to work like I do.......but I didn't say that .

04-06-2013, 08:48 PM
Buy her a sewing machine mate or similar, it does wonders!

But i got sprung recently, my young nephew came over and ran around the house and counted all the visible rods/reels, then found some stashes...

Gordie
04-06-2013, 08:54 PM
Take her with you and get her addicted to fishing.

Gon Fishun
04-06-2013, 08:55 PM
What they don't know won't hurt them.
or
Click on heaps of sites, don't delete your browsing history, ( unless porn pops up) ::) and matter of factly ;) mention the exaggerated $100s spent for the once of a lifetime trip. :o and all the stories you can tell the Grandies. ;D

Feral
04-06-2013, 09:06 PM
A Wife who knows how to check out your internet history is a dangerous thing.

Start visiting Russian Mail Order bride sites and leave a few Aeroflot flight schedules lying around the house.

04-06-2013, 09:13 PM
As long as she doesn t find the receipts and work out that u have lied about what u paid for them

Giffo65
04-06-2013, 09:23 PM
You are the provider and are feeding the family ! You need tools of the trade to do this,can't just pull fish from the water by hand ! Lol.When I die,I hope the wife does not sell my fishing gear for what I told her I paid for it !

trymyluck
04-06-2013, 09:52 PM

1. Work out what you require.:-?
2. Make up a flyer for a raffle using the list from step 1 as the major raffle prize.::)
3 Print off some raffle tickets using above info.8-)
4 Be excited when you carry in your winnings.;D

Amazing what you can win in a raffle...........:-X:-X:-X

thelump
04-06-2013, 10:04 PM

2. Make up a flyer for a raffle using the list from step 1 as the major raffle prize.::)

Very clever Mark. Are you Sat Nav?

04-06-2013, 10:10 PM
I think Mark might have the answer. The raffle might be the way to go.

lucee81
04-06-2013, 10:32 PM
Plain daylight is the best way to hide things as she won't be looking for things in the open.
Hid the mrs engagement ring in her top dresser draw for 2 months before I popped the question. Best hiding place ever.

cobiaman
04-06-2013, 10:37 PM

Thats possibly the best thing ive ever learnt from ausfish!

lucee81
04-06-2013, 10:39 PM
Thats possibly the best thing ive ever learnt from ausfish!

For the thermomix trouble if you ever try this I will dob you in.

cqfreshie
04-06-2013, 10:40 PM
Buy what you need and use it before you go. Problem solved, promise kept. You wont be taking new gear to Swains.

trymyluck
04-06-2013, 10:44 PM
Very clever Mark. Are you Sat Nav?

1. I may be.
or
2. I may not be.

fish'n'chippy
05-06-2013, 03:57 AM
Why would you need permission to buy something, and/or need to hide a purchase?:-?
My advice is to "grow a pair", and if you need (want) something just go and buy it.
Trade in your sissy slip for a man card

When i go, if my missus sells my gear for what I told her I paid for it, I know that she will be flush with cash for a long time....:)

Honesty is always the best policy

G

Feral
05-06-2013, 06:26 AM
I reckon I should read the obits to see when you blokes cark it, I'll show up at the funerals and tell ya poor grieving other halves I'm your long lost mate from Ausfish and offer them 10% over the top of what you told them all your fishing gear cost!

Then I'll sit next to your tombstones and tell ya what fish I caught on it! ;)

05-06-2013, 08:57 AM
You see sometime you get your own advantage,

Yesterday the owner of the next door dress shop came into the office and says "Brett is Leanne here?" "No but can I help?" was my reply.
"The handbag she ordered is here and I was wondering if she wanted it now" as she produced the little black leather handbag from her brown paper carry bag.
"Oh..... well you can leave it with me and I'll give you the money and pass it on to Leanne," was my reply. "How much do I owe you?"
"$180."
"WTF..... for that little bag!!!!!!!"
Needless to say nothing is being said about any tackle purchase for the Swains Trip.

Mrs Ronnie H
05-06-2013, 02:50 PM
Mmmmm I don't see why you have to hide things.

Just leave them lying around in plain sight and they won't get noticed. try to stash them and you will be found out every time. Not that i would know about stashing anything like a new rod, reel or some bit of camping gear I just happened to acquire on a recent visit to my favorite store. :)

Mrs H

Mossy247
05-06-2013, 03:04 PM
Ohh my wife understands me too well. I grab some cash and off to see barry aka my dealer as I always walk out with clippy bags filled with Oz's or lots of 1/4 Oz's anyways. In my household it is a race to beat her to the online stores like horse supplies, horse land, horse horse and more horse! Why not a sea horse I suggest! I am with most of the guys I tell her the truth and she loves it as she tally's up the horse stuff also. Who wins? Mossy needs a new reel / horse needs a new mouthbit or some crap I say the horse already has 4 of them ..... to which my wife replies ummm how many reels you got. TOUCHE'

cobiaman
05-06-2013, 03:10 PM
Ohh my wife understands me too well. I grab some cash and off to see barry aka my dealer as I always walk out with clippy bags filled with Oz's or lots of 1/4 Oz's anyways. In my household it is a race to beat her to the online stores like horse supplies, horse land, horse horse and more horse! Why not a sea horse I suggest! I am with most of the guys I tell her the truth and she loves it as she tally's up the horse stuff also. Who wins? Mossy needs a new reel / horse needs a new mouthbit or some crap I say the horse already has 4 of them ..... to which my wife replies ummm how many reels you got. TOUCHE'

And why do horses always need new rugs? They can only wear one at a time....

Mossy247
05-06-2013, 03:20 PM
And why do horses always need new rugs? They can only wear one at a time....
Agree. And also the thing is covered in fur. What good is 1 hp anyway.

lbger
05-06-2013, 03:22 PM
my mrs has no say lol.. i pay for her nails, shoes, clothes, dinner out etc so when i buy fishing stuff, i show her and she pretends to be interested.. perfect lol

MEG-A-BITE
05-06-2013, 03:25 PM
Best is to collect so much gear that she never knows what new and whats not....thats How I get away with it.If she asked me is that a new rod? Never its been there for the past year.Problem is I also forget whats new sometimes.....

Bull
05-06-2013, 03:32 PM
I was stunned with the wild accusations my wife has been making recently. She thinks I have been sneaking in fishing purchases for my upcoming Swains trip. How am I to convince her that there is nothing to worry about and there will BE NO NEW GEAR for the trip? She has even gone through my internet history to point out the tackle sites I have been visiting recently>:(. I have tried everything to put her mind at ease.:-?
Also on a totally different topic do you think one should hide new tackle purchases in plain sight or hide them away until the trip;D

I hate to play the devils advocate here Neil but maybe the 80 odd fishing rods you already have is enough and your lovely wife is just pointing that out to you.:o;D

banksmister
05-06-2013, 04:19 PM
You see sometime you get your own advantage,

Yesterday the owner of the next door dress shop came into the office and says "Brett is Leanne here?" "No but can I help?" was my reply.
"The handbag she ordered is here and I was wondering if she wanted it now" as she produced the little black leather handbag from her brown paper carry bag.
"Oh..... well you can leave it with me and I'll give you the money and pass it on to Leanne," was my reply. "How much do I owe you?"
"$180."
"WTF..... for that little bag!!!!!!!"
Needless to say nothing is being said about any tackle purchase for the Swains Trip.

That’s amazing.

The part where you Mention you were at work!

rayken1938
05-06-2013, 04:27 PM
Does she know your ausfish user name?
Ray

05-06-2013, 04:34 PM
Does she know your ausfish user name?
Ray

Oooops:-[

This could get ugly:P

Giffo65
05-06-2013, 06:21 PM
Trymyluck

We should put you down for an Australia day award for that brilliant idea !.I need some stuff for the new boat !

2IC
05-06-2013, 06:33 PM
just go out buy the stuff & drop it over to my place , then you can take it home after the trip , as used fishing gear,

06-06-2013, 07:22 AM
That’s amazing.

The part where you Mention you were at work!

You're a funny man Darren... And yes the owner of the dress shop was surprised to find me in the office rather than Leanne

TREVELLY
06-06-2013, 07:42 AM
Well Horse if the lady knows your Ausfish user name and stalks your email history - then sounds like your goose is cooked :chef::hammer:

If she really wants to know what you are up to where will she look :LMAO:

banksmister
06-06-2013, 06:09 PM
You're a funny man Darren... And yes the owner of the dress shop was surprised to find me in the office rather than Leanne

Ah Brett, i think most of us do alright.

You could send Leanne first class to Milan Italy for fashion week and buy every Versace bag in the summer range and still not spend as much as you have on your toys.

Btw i had to watch the fashion channel all day just to make sure i was correct.
The things i do for people.

Shark Poker
06-06-2013, 06:28 PM
Ok here is an idea.
One of the tackle stores starts a 'Relationship Counselling' business name called Better Husbands or something like that.
You go somewhere for an hour or so....to the tackle shop... and Better Husbands gets charged to your credit card. But there was no counselling, only another purchase.
Suddenly you come home with a trophy for involvement and participation from your support group.
And a prize such as a new combo....Wow!

And they want me to go to a one week workshop with them... (Swains)
Just a supportive idea. Obviously I am married too!
Pauly

Giffo65
14-06-2013, 07:31 PM
I said to the Mrs I was going to the 1770 M&G (Marriage and Guidance),Geez I am a wonderful Husband !

14-06-2013, 09:10 PM
But i got sprung recently, my young nephew came over and ran around the house and counted all the visible rods/reels, then found some stashes...

Regular Einstein if he can count that many.

grumpy santa
14-06-2013, 11:50 PM

That's how I scored my camera for the boat.