View Full Version : Mullet prices - 2013

timddo
27-05-2013, 11:11 AM
Guys

I want to do a up list of retails that sell mullet fillets or whole to compare prices.

So far i have

$2.99 kg mullet whole
2 kg /$10 Mullet fillets

( Seafood house durack)

Now has anyone else have better prices. I' m looking for 50-100 kg's of whole mullet

BGG
27-05-2013, 11:32 AM
Seafood place near Woolworths at Victoria Point has had whole mullet for $2 a KG. Just need to keep an eye out as they vary up to $5 some days.

27-05-2013, 12:34 PM
Will be watching this thread with interest as I am after a supply as well.

Yesterday at Morgans in Scarborough they had whole for 2.99 and fillets for either 4.99 or 6.99. Some were fresher thus the price difference. The best I have had is 1.99 whole at aussie seafood house Lawnton so waiting for it to get to that sort of price before I buy.

mattooty
27-05-2013, 01:26 PM
Wait a little longer till mullet season is well under way and you'll get 10kg's for $10 or sometimes less!
If you're after amounts upwards of 50kgs, go in and haggle with them. It might as well be a wholesale quantity and the shop might have to order more to make sure they'll still have stock.

marto78
27-05-2013, 01:52 PM
About a month ago Lucs Seafood had fresh fillets for $6.50/kg.

cobiaman
27-05-2013, 02:01 PM
About a month ago Lucs Seafood had fresh fillets for $6.50/kg.

Got 100kg for $5.50 about 2 weeks ago from there

mudcrab3
27-05-2013, 03:38 PM
15kg last week at $50

Mrs Ronnie H
27-05-2013, 07:58 PM

If you like to send me a PM reckon I can do a whole lot better than that. Not per kilo. But you would have to pick up.

Mrs H

kingcray
27-05-2013, 08:06 PM
about this time last year we picked up 2 styrofoam boxes of whole large mullet from the seafood joint at yamba for $10 / box.
From memory Each box was 20kg ..

mattooty
28-05-2013, 08:57 AM
How far do you want to travel for it? Let me know and I can probably tee you up 100kg of whole mullet at a decent price.

timddo
28-05-2013, 10:42 AM
How far do you want to travel for it? Let me know and I can probably tee you up 100kg of whole mullet at a decent price.

I would say within 50 km of CBD

Still_Dreamin
28-05-2013, 12:00 PM
What do you do with so much mullet ?

Moonlighter
28-05-2013, 12:54 PM
What do you do with so much mullet ?

Wave a magic wand over them, drive to 1770, and say "abra cadabra" and they turn into reds, pearlies, red throats, coral trout and snapper.

That's what you do with a big pile of mullet fillets!

XtremeBoony
28-05-2013, 09:39 PM
Wave a magic wand over them, drive to 1770, and say "abra cadabra" and they turn into reds, pearlies, red throats, coral trout and snapper.

Outstanding ;D

Cheers from boony

29-05-2013, 06:18 AM

Heard on the gravevine that Muddy Toes has just enrolled in a magician's course. He's doing it by correspondence.

marto78
29-05-2013, 07:34 AM
I hear some magic wands are faulty and only catch grinners and iodine bream.

Moonlighter
29-05-2013, 08:32 AM
Try a T-curve wand. ;D

They work pretty well!

XtremeBoony
29-05-2013, 01:03 PM
Try a T-curve wand. ;D

They work pretty well!

Your on fire ;D

Here in yeppoon we are getting it for bout 3-3.50kg for a 10kg box. They are trunked (headed and gutted) I have used some of it and its average quality but last trip for jt they wouldn't touch the fresh stuff we cast netted and only wanted the the other stuff, go figure.
Bluefin sports has slimeys as well and the only place I have found around here that stocks them. 10 bucks for a kilo packet but ill pay that seeing as they are scarce up here.

Cheers from boony

29-05-2013, 02:05 PM
That's right, I was going to see the Slimey guy down here for (I think) Muddy to see about buying a heap of slimies, best get onto that, I had forgotten all about it.

Scott79
29-05-2013, 06:45 PM
Boony,
Where are you getting the 'trunked' stuff?
I got some frozen fillets a while ago from Gladstone, think it was $27.50 for a 5kg box, they were average quality also. Definitely snap frozen, so easy to separate and re-bag, but not great quality. In the absence of choice I would probably get them again but don't really travel Gladstone way, be nice if I could find them locally.

Scott.

thelump
29-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Just a quick FYI. Capalaba seafood house still $5 kilo for fillets (2 for 10) as of this arvo.

Just one of the Boys
29-05-2013, 08:31 PM
Wait a little longer till mullet season is well under way and you'll get 10kg's for $10 or sometimes less!
If you're after amounts upwards of 50kgs, go in and haggle with them. It might as well be a wholesale quantity and the shop might have to order more to make sure they'll still have stock.

Where abouts did you get that from last year... I'd like to call them for over 100kgs. now.

15kg last week at $50

Where was that and was it sea mullet fillets ?

XtremeBoony
29-05-2013, 08:49 PM
Boony,
Where are you getting the 'trunked' stuff?
I got some frozen fillets a while ago from Gladstone, think it was $27.50 for a 5kg box, they were average quality also. Definitely snap frozen, so easy to separate and re-bag, but not great quality. In the absence of choice I would probably get them again but don't really travel Gladstone way, be nice if I could find them locally.

Scott.

Scott,
Rosslyn bay marina mate, just go into the fish co op and ask one of the girls and they should be able to grab you a box (or ten) Last time I checked they were pretty confident that they would be able to keep them in stock

Cheers from boony

Scott79
29-05-2013, 09:46 PM
Thanks mate, I checked there some time ago and they didn't have any, but will try again now.

Scott.

grumpy santa
29-05-2013, 10:42 PM
It's been a while but I used to get bulk mullet and gar from Raptis at Colmslie for good prices. In those days you could attend the auction and bid on fish by the tub yourself or make a deal with a professional fish buyer on the day.

Now days I think you can still get good prices if you contact them direct and put in third party bids. Worth a call or it might be worth turning up early one morning and have a chat with some of the buyers.

N.B. Monday isn't always the best day to go because the fish may have been caught on the previous Friday and kept on ice for three days.

sid_fishes
04-06-2013, 08:00 PM
anyone can go and buy from raptis. just get the paperwork , fill it out, they give you a number, pay by cash or card
the auctions start at 6 am....mondays & Fridays suk
and if anyone wants prawns I can point you in the right direction there too
no shops but

14-06-2013, 01:14 PM
Wondering if anyone has any updates of good prices.

14-06-2013, 01:27 PM
Called in yesterday....... price is still too high.

mattooty
15-06-2013, 11:06 AM
There should be bulk cheap quantities from the Ballina Fish Co-Op as well as Clarence River Fish Co-Op. Not 100% sure though as Mullet season is starting to really wind up with average quality roe in most fish so if it's available now it won't be for long...

25-06-2013, 01:04 PM
Picked up 10kg of mullet barrels on the weekend for $2.99 /kg As barrels are already gutted and scaled and head removed, you only get 25% waste after taking the fillets off. So works out to be $4.00 /kg. From Seafood Warehouse Lawnton. Happy with that whilst we wait for a cheaper fillet price.

Funny thing was they were charging $5.00 /kg for whole mullet. so that made no sense to me.

Triple
10-07-2013, 04:18 PM
Capalaba seafood has mullet barrels for $2.99kg at the moment.

10-07-2013, 04:42 PM
They have been that price for a few weeks now.

Not bad if you want frames for crab bait.

LP

TREVELLY
10-07-2013, 05:29 PM
From Seafood Warehouse Lawnton. Happy with that whilst we wait for a cheaper fillet price.

Funny thing was they were charging $5.00 /kg for whole mullet. so that made no sense to me.

They have fillets 2kg/$10 at Lawnton so at $5/kg fillets okay but can do better

I heard someone getting fillets at $2/kg elsewhere - need to check into that - seconds or something

these are still over $3/kg w w w .brisbanefish.com.au/bait-products.html