PDA

View Full Version : New owner questions

boboncc
05-05-2013, 04:47 PM
As some of you know I am a boat newbie. Well I got my new boat home on Friday and took it out with my son for a spin this morning, had a great time! ;D

I have a couple of possibly dumb questions with regards "after a day on the water". I flushed the motor but I'm on tank water and the pressure is OK but not fabulous, below is a picture of the telltale with the engine at 2000rpm, the telltale water was warm but do you think there is enough water flowing through as I don't want to cook the engine, also the manual said take the prop off but the dealer did not mention it????
There are a few wheel marks at the bottom of the hull from when I winched it in, am I correct that it is just new rubber wheels making the marks and don't worry about it?
I washed the boat by hand, but used a water blaster on the trailer (on medium pressure) to try and reduce the effects of the salt water, any comments?

Cheers!
Bob

Still_Dreamin
05-05-2013, 04:56 PM
Gday mate. Yep marks are from your rollers, i posted the same question last year when i bought my boat ( never had a fiberglass before). Someone suggested wd40 to get the marks off and it worked a treat. Tell tale looks good enough. Is that what it looks like out on the water at idle? If yes then it is fine. Warm just means it is doing its job and cooling the motor with the thermostat open i think. As for the prop thing is for legal purposes. If somehow it got knocked into gear whilst flushing it wouldn't carve you up. Just accommodating those simple people who walk amongst us.

boboncc
05-05-2013, 05:07 PM
Is that what it looks like out on the water at idle? If yes then it is fine.

Thanks Still_Dreamin Yes it looks pretty much like that at idle, there is some water coming from a couple of other holes and the exhaust (through the prop) but I guess that is normal.

Cheers!
Bob

WalrusLike
05-05-2013, 05:33 PM