View Full Version : Boaties Market Victoria Point this Sunday

dayoo
18-04-2013, 07:33 AM
Just a reminder that the Victoria Point Boaties Market is on this coming Sunday in the grounds of the Victoria Point State School from 6am.

Plenty of boating and fishing bargains to be had.

See you there.;D

Barry

http://www.vmr.org.au/boaties-market.html

Volunteer Marine Rescue Victoria Point is holding it’s Boaties Market at the Victoria Point State School grounds in Colburn Avenue. The gates open for site holders and buyers at 6:00 am.

The Commodore of the Rescue Unit said that the market had now become a well known event and continued to increase in popularity each time. He said that the unit now hads a reputation for efficiency in the setting up of the stalls whilst the School always operated a great sausage sizzle with drinks also being available.

He added that entry for buyers was by means of a donation with the proceeds going towards operating and maintaining the rescue vessels, looking after the building, it’s vehicles and safety equipment. Site holders pay a token $10 per site with there being no restrictions on the size required and no need to book ahead. We are always pleased to donate a percentage of our takings to the School’s P & C Association for their generosity in making the grounds available for the market he said and the interest shown in this year’s market is well in excess of the previous ones.

Our theme he said continues to be anything “from a fish hook to a power cruiser!” and it is rare that a site holder does not dispose of most or all of items for sale.

Come along and support our well attended, big, successful fundraiser for your local community Marine Rescue Volunteers. You might just find that bargain you have been looking for!

Gates open 6AM to 12 midday

Site Fee - $10.00
Admission - By donation
Enquiries to the Base- (07) 3207 8717 or email

Additional information added by Moderator.

lucee81
18-04-2013, 07:51 AM
Me and the boy will be there again. Has become a father son outing.

tropicrows
18-04-2013, 12:29 PM
I'll be there selling of some bits and pieces.
Barry please put aside 10 of each 2 & 3 oz glow bean sinkers for me, last time you had sold out before I had time to see you.

tropicrows
18-04-2013, 12:29 PM
PS. who else is going...........

18-04-2013, 06:01 PM
Barry please put aside 10 of each 2 & 3 oz glow bean sinkers for me, last time you had sold out before I had time to see you.

That's because Tangles must have got there before you did. Haven't you seen him in action? He's like a whirling dervish.

dayoo
18-04-2013, 06:07 PM

No worries will powder coat them tomorrow morning and two pack them tomorrow arvo.
Only do these sizes upon request as they eat up the powder paint.

Barry

rosco1974
18-04-2013, 09:26 PM
hey bazz did ya put my 1 and 1.5 ounce glow egg sinkers aside mate...15 /1 ounce and 10/1.5 ounce
cheers rosco

dayoo
19-04-2013, 07:07 AM
hey bazz did ya put my 1 and 1.5 ounce glow egg sinkers aside mate...15 /1 ounce and 10/1.5 ounce
cheers rosco

There in a special bag in the glove box of my car.

Barry

captain rednut
20-04-2013, 06:22 AM
we will be there with two sites.
cheers Jim

rayken1938
21-04-2013, 05:14 AM
Do not forget it is today.
Ray

dayoo
21-04-2013, 01:13 PM
Just got home from the boaties market. Bad idea not to let the sellers in until 6am as the queue stretched nearly back to the highway. Buyers were let in at the same time with many sellers stuck out on the road trying to get in. Police were not amused.

Sold out of 1/8,1/4 and 3/8oz jigheads. Had to get an armored security van to escort me home with all the cash:2vrolijk_08:

Barry

Da-Jew-Man
21-04-2013, 01:41 PM
Barry,
Not sure of your post as the actual number of sellers was the same as most markets, so if the queue's were out to the highway then it was buyers.
You will find that buyers were let in at the old entrance early (about 15 mins) and were actually waiting for sellers to arrive.
At the main entrance buyers and sellers were let in a 6.00am.
Glad you had a good day.

netmaker
21-04-2013, 02:38 PM
sellers were lined up half way down colburn avenue. buyers were not in that queue as they did not need to park inside the school. i can confirm that as i was at the back of the queue at 5.30am and didn't get in until after 6.

dayoo
21-04-2013, 02:50 PM
Barry,
Not sure of your post as the actual number of sellers was the same as most markets, so if the queue's were out to the highway then it was buyers.
You will find that buyers were let in at the old entrance early (about 15 mins) and were actually waiting for sellers to arrive.
At the main entrance buyers and sellers were let in a 6.00am.
Glad you had a good day.

Dave,
The sellers are usually let in before the buyers so that they can set up their stall before the buyers arrive. Took me half hour in the queue to get in with many buyers waiting inside.

Barry

Da-Jew-Man
21-04-2013, 03:12 PM
Hi Barry.
See your point.
However the Boaties right from the beginning has always let buyer and sellers in at the same time. In the beginning at 5 am and now 6am.
There has been even bigger markets and no problems.
I noticed that in Colburn Ave their has been changes to the road ie marking which may back up the line causing longer entry times.
Sounds like you still had a good day anyway.

dayoo
21-04-2013, 03:17 PM
Dave,
The last 4 markets advertised sellers at 5am and buyers at 6am.

Barry

sid_fishes
21-04-2013, 03:17 PM
all I know is while I was setting up guys were looking thru my truck while I was unloading.... not very helpful.... so I think that needs to be addressed
also with people with no change.... $100.00 bills kill me at that hr
but all in all a good turn out
but will I do it again----- no
not until people understand that 1 off rods cost more than $ 20

rayken1938
21-04-2013, 04:31 PM
Cannot ever remember them letting the sellers in before the buyers.
This is from a 2007 post.
Volunteer Marine Rescue Victoria Point is holding its next bi-annual Boaties’ Market at the Victoria Point State School grounds in Colburn Avenue on Sunday 22nd April 2007. The gates open for site holders and buyers at 5.00 am and the market continues until 12 noon..
The one in July last year was also a 5 am start for both.
Quite usual for them to be queued up for miles. Actually it is a bit better now now that the sellers are let in via School road.
Ray

21-04-2013, 06:20 PM
Couldn't make it this time as had some family commitments, shame i missed the market as needed some sinkers etc and missed catching up with Ausfishers, can only hope that TOL more than made up for my absence!!

netmaker
21-04-2013, 06:31 PM
tol came and said gidday. also ran into dayoo and popgun19, superdaff helped out with the leaflet distribution as did shy gay1's young fellas. shy gay 2 was there and lucee81 too. roy slaven popped in for a bit and also met outta line. starting to feel like that romper room sheila - and i can see john and barry and brian and lucas... probably missed a couple too.

royslaven
21-04-2013, 07:48 PM
tol came and said gidday. also ran into dayoo and popgun19, superdaff helped out with the leaflet distribution as did shy gay1's young fellas. shy gay 2 was there and lucee81 too. roy slaven popped in for a bit and also met outta line. starting to feel like that romper room sheila - and i can see john and barry and brian and lucas... probably missed a couple too.
where you looking thru the round window?, no hang on, that,s play school....there,s a bear in there, and a chair as well, people with games and stories to tell, and wait... is that a big red car I see?........roy

shy guys
21-04-2013, 08:13 PM
Dave got the boys doing his dirty work invoice is in the mail

22-04-2013, 05:49 AM
Couldn't make it this time as had some family commitments, shame i missed the market as needed some sinkers etc and missed catching up with Ausfishers, can only hope that TOL more than made up for my absence!!

Well, sort of Mike. I went there looking for a baitcaster reel, but walked out with a Shimano T Curve 2-4kg rod that I didn't particularly need. But it's still got the tags on it, and boy is it shiny!

Barry was my first port of call where I got some shiny jig heads, and then I just wandered around like a lost sheep.