View Full Version : Keywest v Sigma

Apollo
21-03-2013, 04:02 PM
Day off - took the boat to Tin Can Bay to get service on motor. Was going to go for a fish, but needed to get home to get some stuff done. Part way back and some dude drive across a cross road and the photos tell the rest. It rolled over twice after seperating from the trailer before coming to rest upside down. The other driver was taken away by ambo (before I could get to him)
http://www.############.com.au/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22639&d=1363845391http://www.############.com.au/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22640&d=1363845393http://www.############.com.au/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22638&d=1363845390http://www.############.com.au/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22641&d=1363845395http://www.############.com.au/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=22642&d=13638453998983189828898328982989830

I don't know what to say/type. Shattered. http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/misc/pencil.png

cobiaman
21-03-2013, 04:11 PM
Bloody hell steve, that sucks mate!

lethal098
21-03-2013, 04:21 PM
That Really sucks Steve!!!

hope insurance gets going quickly and sorts a replacement for you,

at least you werent hurt

propdinger
21-03-2013, 04:25 PM
faaaaar out that's not good least you are ok and the boat can be replaced. i would of wanted to harm him too though

trymyluck
21-03-2013, 04:39 PM
Your right Steve, don't think we will be taking "Whatever" to 1770.........Good you walked away uninjured. At least until the girls get home and see what you did to their boat.............

Boat Hog
21-03-2013, 04:45 PM
Steve that is unbelievable crappy! Glad you're physically okay.

Any chance you could get your money back for the service ..... you know, tell em it's running a bit rougher than when you took it in?

trymyluck
21-03-2013, 04:52 PM
Steve that is unbelievable crappy! Glad you're physically okay.

Any chance you could get your money back for the service ..... you know, tell em it's running a bit rougher than when you took it in?

Just shook the boat to pieces........

Steve, you probably have already thought of it but probably worth taking the ute to a panel beater and get them to check the towbar and chassis for damage.

21-03-2013, 06:26 PM
Bleedin heck Steve that was a close call. That could have easily been your car doing the flips. Now you get the fun of trying to find another boat just as good to replace it.

Apollo
21-03-2013, 06:35 PM
Just shook the boat to pieces........

Steve, you probably have already thought of it but probably worth taking the ute to a panel beater and get them to check the towbar and chassis for damage.

You may be right Mark. The back of the ute got thrown around a bit when the boat and trailer took off sideways and the trailer remained attached to the ute despite being upside down. As you can see, the tow hitch took a fair whack and got bent.

There was a few interesting moments of going down the road sideways where I thought we all migh go cartwheeling, but I got on the gas and managed to get it straight again.

Thanks everyone for your kind words or support.

johncar
21-03-2013, 06:58 PM
Sorry to hear about your trouble there, none of us ever want that sort of thing to happen. Glad you are Ok and wish you the best in getting the boat and car all fixed up asap, I'd have a melt down if too long without my boat.

21-03-2013, 08:44 PM
No good mate. Sickening seeing that and Shy Guy's pic's of his accident. You need some luck on those roads by the looks, I hope I have some when I come up. Could've been a lot worse.

PS There's a mob down here that sell off Marine Hulls insurance write off motors. What sort of motor was yours seeing its just been serviced...

my v16c
21-03-2013, 08:53 PM
Good to see that your OK, there's only one of you but heaps more Key Wests to chose from.
Cheers;DMy V16C

Apollo
22-03-2013, 04:54 AM
No good mate. Sickening seeing that and Shy Guy's pic's of his accident. You need some luck on those roads by the looks, I hope I have some when I come up. Could've been a lot worse.

PS There's a mob down here that sell off Marine Hulls insurance write off motors. What sort of motor was yours seeing its just been serviced...

JJ, the motor was a Yamaha F115 with 200hrs

madmackrel
22-03-2013, 05:38 AM
Apollo as said before at least your ok ....physically ......before you know it mate you'll be back on the water catchin the big ones.
Cheers MM

Richo1
22-03-2013, 06:03 AM
Bugger! Good luck with the insurance bit....hope he has it.

Captain Seaweed
22-03-2013, 07:12 AM
Oh Steve you poor bugger, that's not cool at all. Im happy you didn't get injured. I hope the insurance looks after you mate, I know how much you liked that boat.

SunnyCoastMark
22-03-2013, 07:43 AM
Hey Steve,
That is devastating and I hope it works out well for you. Just goes to show - you can be driving along quite happily.............and BANG!............along comes an idiot!

The worst part is there is ususally not much that you can do - except pick up the pieces and move on. Bloody frustrating though...............

netmaker
22-03-2013, 08:15 AM
horrible news mate. very sorry to hear it. glad you're okay and also that d*&$head got away before you could get into trouble...

tropicrows
22-03-2013, 10:53 AM
Steve, far out man, glad your OK everything else can be replaced. You must be shattered, that's really bad news. I'm lost for words

Goodoo haven
22-03-2013, 11:00 AM
Oh Steve. I am so sorry to read this news about you and your boat. At least your alright anyway mate.

I hope things get sorted out for you as soon as possible and you can get back on the water again soon.

ozynorts
22-03-2013, 01:02 PM
That just sucks after all you went through to get it. Hope everything works out well and you get everything replaced.

Dicko
22-03-2013, 02:17 PM
Geez, that's a bummer mate. Glad you're ok though. I remember speaking to you after my oopsie and replacing my boat. Now it looks like, sadly, you're in the same boat..literally.

WalrusLike
22-03-2013, 05:27 PM
Horrible sight. Glad your ok. The boat to come is going to be even better!

So sad that you need to go through all this grief before you can be happily boating again. I wish you all the best.

Ya can't keep a good man down...

(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')

Apollo
23-03-2013, 06:43 AM
Thanks again boys

murf
07-04-2013, 07:59 PM
wow just seen this, bugger bum poop that sux, good to hear you came out ok. been a bit of a bad run for you lately mate so good things to come

cheers Murf

08-04-2013, 01:39 PM
Sorry to see that after what you went through waiting to import and all. On the plus side luck he hit the boat and didn't t-bone the ute - could have been worse still.

Good luck with the insurance.

08-04-2013, 02:37 PM
Scary stuff. Saw another boat laying on the road on Sunday morning at the roadworks on the gateway near Depot Rd overpass. Big 650 Haines Patriot come off the trailer and skidded to a stop. Makes you feel sick for all concerned. Best of luck with insurance and hope you are back on the water ASAP.