View Full Version : 2013 Brisbane Tinnie & Tackle, National 4x4 and Outdoors Show

PixieAU
15-03-2013, 09:54 AM
Did a search but doesn't seem to be any threads yet. Thought it might be worth people posting of any super deals they find there this weekend. I'm intending to head over today. Will take some cash with me just in case there's something worth laying down some hard-earned on.

As my first contribution to this thread, Club Marine get 20% off adult price if they show their card: http://www.clubmarine.com.au/magazine/MG28-1/index.html#p=130

RACQ used to sponsor this show (or perhaps the 4x4 show) and used to have discount entry but it doesn't seem so this time.

Have fun!

propdinger
15-03-2013, 03:54 PM
i went today there is a good amount to see so worth the $15 entry and $12 parking, all round angler has some great prices on tackle (on the quality stuff) stella 5000sw $690 and at least $50 cheaper on most other reels i seen.

Ausgradi
15-03-2013, 04:47 PM
Heading up tomorrow. Looking forward to sussing some new gear out for the new tinnie.

Propdinger - was there much there on display in the way of sounders and GPS units ?

aussie9
15-03-2013, 04:56 PM
Check out my post in electronics. I had a play with the Dragonfly there today

Aussie

Ausgradi
15-03-2013, 05:20 PM
Cheers Aussie, the dragonfly is number on on my list to check out.

15-03-2013, 05:40 PM
I note that BCF has an offer for people who hold their (free) membership card that coincides with the Tackle & Tinnie show. Usually Whitworths has a 15% storewide discount sale at this time also but I have not received the usual email about such.

At a $15 entry and $12 parking and, say, a $10 lunch, any show specials would want to be good to justify not just going to BCF, if that is all that people are looking for.

Of course, the fishing lectures are often worth the cost of attendance and that might be what attracts my attendance over the weekend, albeit I am not sure how much of Paul Worsteling I could stand. :'(

propdinger
15-03-2013, 06:01 PM
All the big boys are there showing there new Sounders and the dragonfly looks good too for the expected price ( release is next week I think she said)

TREVELLY
15-03-2013, 06:09 PM
I went this arvo - got in 2.30pm and was finished by 4pm.
It doesn't seem as big as last years.
I really did not expect to save on gear but was hoping to see some new gear and get some knot2kinky wire - but he wasn't there this year.
I saw at least three stands selling those vacuum back gadgets.
I did not paw over the boats as no interest but there was a good range there of the usual brands.
I did renew my BushnBeach subscription and got a small IceKool esky complimentary in the deal - happy with that as it is a nice size for taking lunch in the boat and not mixing it with the big eskies and bait and fish etc.
I also got some neat trolling skirted jetheads from the guys at the gamefishing and electric reel stand and had a good chat with them.
I had a good look at the new Lowrance HDS12 at the Northside Marine stand - can't say it makes the HDS10 look small.
I stopped by the Suzuki stand and had a chat with Keith from Jeffers Motorsport and saw Shane from Moda Marine.
Had a sqizz through the 4x4 offroad camping section - saw the prices of some camper trailers I liked but at $25-30K they should be good - look ideal for a serious trip say down the Canning Stock Route one day.
So although I could have stayed till they closed at 6pm I was satisfied with my visit and happy with my take home stuff.
Of course the cheapie stalls were popular.

kind_cir
15-03-2013, 06:21 PM
Buy your tickets online for $12 instead of $15. Just enter the promo code "Mr 4x4"

On another note, I just picked up a handy little multi meter from Repco for $9, !!! That's half price. Great bit of kit for the boat.

Mike Delisser
16-03-2013, 02:37 AM
I went today, wasn't bad. Good to see a bit of tackle there, a lot more than the Brizzy Boat Show anyway. Heaps of stuff if you're into camping, esp 12 volt electrics, LED and some solar. Don't know about the Tinnie & Tackle Show being smaller this year though because all space was totally sold out, in fact quite a few retailers missed out. Also if you didn't know there is free trains running the loop from Roma St - Central - Brunswick St/Valley - Exhibition Stations, might make it easier for some.
Unhappy about no jerky on special, last year they had some in old packaging for 1/2 price.

I might be bias but I recon that's a great deal on the 2 year BushnBeach subscription. $85 dollars gets you 24 issues delivered to your door plus a small Everkool that BCF sells for close to $40.

Mike Delisser
16-03-2013, 02:44 AM

Ausgradi
16-03-2013, 05:03 PM
I also attended today.
Was worth the train ride up from the GC.
Such a wide range of gear on display.
Picked some new lures and other toys.
Few bargains about for those chasing a new small tinnie package also.

16-03-2013, 08:16 PM
Spend most of the day there today. Apart from manning the SUNFISH stand, had a couple of walk around.
Plenty of boats there, a lot of stuff out in the open & was bloody hot so didn't spent much time at those displays.
Still like the stabicrafts and the 3 tabs boat, shame the $$ are missing!!!
Lots of yaks and had a good look at the new hobie pro. Nice bit of gear but I'll stick with my canoe and yak for the present.
As usual, food & drinks are expensive. So went hungry till I got home.
For those going Sunday, get in early to get a park or take the train and bring plenty of water as they're predicting 33 degrees.
Didn't spend much, got a folding wind shield for my camping stove and got 2 medium duffel bags.

Still_Dreamin
16-03-2013, 08:19 PM
Picked up a Berkeley dropshot im7 4-8kg 1 piece 7'7" for $49 and a pair of shimano shorts for $10. Not many people. Everyone must have been fishing or at the st paddy's day parade.

16-03-2013, 09:43 PM
Heading in tomorrow.

I never buy stuff there, but have a good squizz and listen to the seminars, buy some RLS raffle tickets, chat to Ben at BnB, will pop over and say g'day to greg ( wicked fishin ) and terrorise any Qld Fisheries folks I find.

LP

sleepygreg
16-03-2013, 11:42 PM
I deliberately didnt go today....cos I KNOW I would have bought a boat......the itch is getting beyond scratching.

johncar
17-03-2013, 06:56 AM
Lol. best way to avoid buying a boat is to already have two good ones sitting at home. Otherwise yes you are more vulnerable..Have been a victim in past shows and some showcase packages have been good value and some no so.
Don't think I will get there as much as I would like to go, already blown the boat budget this year :-\

Kero
17-03-2013, 06:58 AM
I deliberately didnt go today....cos I KNOW I would have bought a boat......the itch is getting beyond scratching.

I'm going today and it will take all of my willpower not to buy one!
The treasurer is coming with me, so perhaps she will find a way of overriding my desire for a new boat :(

Cheers, Kero
Sent from my Galaxy S3

17-03-2013, 07:33 AM
Might catch up in there leigh for a chat about TV thing....

heading in at 9am............

cheers phill

Kero
17-03-2013, 08:24 AM
I'll sms you Phill!

SunnyCoastMark
17-03-2013, 09:28 AM
Went yesterday - pretty good crowd. Spent most of the day there. Had a chat to Greg (wicked fishing) Lots of cool boats Loved the Vindicator boat.

Dissapointed to not see more boating gear - Lots of tackle - but the BLA boys didn't have much - Don't think BIAS was there at all - Northside marine had a bit - but that was it.

Bought an 8 metre lighting kit from the boys at Korr lighting - they just get bigger every year! Looked for a deckwash kit and maybe a Sarca anchor.........nothing.

I had a good time anyway..............

17-03-2013, 02:10 PM
Well, I spent 25 minutes in the car que just to get to the pay station for a park. I did pass the gates at Bowen Bridge Road... closed.. :(

Had a chat to Greg ( wicked fishing ) and Ben ( BnB ). Caught up with Kero, wardysin, foxy and Tina ( mamminos ice cream ).

It's a real shame the organisors have ditched the seminar speakers that have been an institution over the years.

There were presenters there , but I had no idea who they were. Bought some raffle tickets............ departed by 11.15am

LP

Gazza
17-03-2013, 03:23 PM
W-A-S there
any sitting pollies
spruking fisho-friendly outcomes/active projections/visions..hey even Bullshit will do?????

IF NOT, why not ????? :laola::laola::laola:

if so....WHAT was said?? , :gossip: , i.e. benefitting RecFishos...make-my-day ::)

17-03-2013, 05:22 PM
For many years, Bill Corten would recognize my bulk sitting in the seminars and politely acknowledge me as a regular enjoyer of the excellent seminar fare that he had organised, even though in the early years he did not have a name to go by. Such were my lengthy, regular attendances at the fishing seminars associated with boating and fishing shows, in which I hung on every word the experts said and took copious notes.

This time, however, although I was very tempted to go, I realised that with Paul Worsteling so heavily featured in the speaker line-up, I would be handicapped by not having the necessary tools that I use at home when I watch his TV show. Viz, the mute button on the remote control and indeed, the channel changing buttons on the remote control.

Did not need any boating stuff; did not need any tackle; and the escapism element so enjoyable usually at the seminars was potentially missing except for the really good regulars like Nugget whose excellent presentations I have seen many times. So I stayed at home and dug holes. The seminar program looked like it was mostly a series of sales pitches. We have not seen much acknowledgement from the people who attended that it was much different to that. That is a big shame.

Sheik
17-03-2013, 07:53 PM
i enjoyed looking at the boats and was impressed by TABS and also by the OMM boats. The new 5m OMM is a brilliant boat in CC or cuddy it could be close to the best allrounder going IMO..

No Fear
17-03-2013, 08:16 PM
I had a look around today. It was as expected but for the $12 entry fee it was worth the look around.
Is there any reason the high end fishing and tackle manufactures never have their own stand there? Eg Shimano, Penn, Okuma etc. There is so much gear there that is cheap and nasty and it would be great to have some of this gear displayed with the full range to touch and play with. Even if it was at RRP(or a tad below) I probably would have bought something decent. For example if I could hold a Torsa and a Talica, I would have been able to compare and probably buy one.
Can these manufacturers not do this due to their obligation to the retail stores or do they simply not want to be there? There are very few (if any) tackle stores that carry the full range of tackle so to have a stand with an entire range would be beneficial for me. Moreso than $10 Japanese reels! Just my thoughts.

therapy
17-03-2013, 08:48 PM
Went yesterday. Any day you can pick up a 7 foot 6 drop shot for $50 and tt-h jig heads for $7 is not a bad day. My pick of the boats would have to be the Seajay offshore range. Just something about the sturdy build of the hard tops tickles my fancy. It ought to be re-named the TINY TACKLE SHOW. Not much there besides the mad Lebs flogging fishing gear like rotting fruit and vege and the one stall upstairs. After looking at boats all day, I wanted to buy some spotters and maybe a reel to go with an old dropshot at home. No dice. But I will go back next year because young chicks seem to wear less and less and there is not many places I go where where the handbrake doesn't want to go!!! Nearly dislocated an eyeball twice!! Must be getting old..................

Cheers....Terry...

17-03-2013, 09:09 PM
Went in late today - picked up some good bargains at the ARB stand. Barely looked at the boat part ::)

fairpractice
18-03-2013, 07:45 AM
Hi. really useful comments; hope the organizers read them.My observations; It's really 2 shows at the one venue and it's obvious that the 2 outfits don't talk. The 4x4 directory was alphabetical and the T.T. directory was numerical?? Really hard to track down exhibits.

Nuggets talk on downrigging and bottom bashing was Good, but he had competition from the yelling leb's selling crap gear and an overloud air con? system As for the rest; weak topics and none of the old hands.

Boats; The bottom line; check the prices there and wait for the second hand market to buy. The manufacturers are 'doing it tough" so any show price would be snapped up later.

Couldn't believe the line up ,in the sun, of people waiting to 'meet' Roothy. cheers john

Corry
19-03-2013, 09:02 PM
We drove 12 hours on Thursday to get there, spent all day at the show, and drove back on Saturday.
Was worth it, and will do it again.
Loved the Vindicator boats, and their trailers, bought ourselves a Foxwing awning for the car, checked out the Cross Country boats, will probably end up with one of them for the roof, and checked out the TABS, will probably end up trading our Top Ender in on one, just have to wait and see.
Had no interest in the Roothy thing, or the Worstling thing, heard Worstling start one of his 'rants', couldn't get out of there quick enough. Didn't spend too much time looking at tackle, would've of like to, but it all looked like cheap crap, and would've prefered to be able to speak to someone with knowledge, anyway, come back to Fishing World Mackay and bought a new reel there.
Good trip overall, the missus had a good win at the Casino, which was funny cause it was the first time we've ever gambled, and we only spend $20.
Like the idea of the two shows, makes it easier for those travelling to get there, two birds with one stone sorta thing.

Corry