PDA

View Full Version : What do i do with water "in" the hull (rain in boat)

planetzion
04-03-2013, 06:00 PM
Hi lads,

New to the forum. Just have a question for those that have done some work on Fiberglass boats. I recently bought a 4.5 'Hinton' Cuddie circra late 80's. First boat!! Good little boat 55 Yammy goes well. Being a spray painter by trade Im intending to refit and paint etc. Ill be asking more questions later ....

but here is my prob the boat cover has a leak and its filled the front half of the cabin with about 4 inches of water a few times from rain (now I have a tarp) but the issue is the boat seems to weigh about 20-30kgs heavier at the nose. When I lift the front of the trailer up and put it back down you can hear what sounds like water sloshing from somewhere in the hull. When I have bailed all the water out if I come back the next day its got another inch of water back in it at the nose under the seats etc.....

Any ideas....? Thanks in adavance I hope what i wrote makes sense cheers Aaron

Nice to meet you all....

ozynorts
04-03-2013, 06:06 PM
Hey mate, firstly welcome to the forum.
You are going to need to find out where that water is getting in and get it out. If you have fresh water inside the hull there is potential for rot to set in. Does it run out the back if you tilt it up and take the bungs out?
Cheers
Ozy

planetzion
04-03-2013, 06:10 PM
hi mate havent tried that yet super new to actually owning a boat.....Ill give that a go. if that doesnt work whats next?

ozynorts
04-03-2013, 06:21 PM
If that doesn't work then try to get the water out the way it came in. Lower the jockey wheel down so that the nose is lower and get the water out like that. You really need to get that water out ASAP. Also if you can find out if this is something that has just started happening or is it a problem that has been around for a while.

FishHunter
04-03-2013, 06:47 PM