View Full Version : Boat Trailer Rego ?

softplasticsdude79
01-03-2013, 10:23 PM
Hi All,

Im getting closer to getting my project finished and am curious about the trailer rego,I have been on the Qld Transport page and from what i can gather i need

- weighbridge cert
- Rwc
- Brakes

Is there a law on how big the led lights on the rear must be ?

Is this right,Trailer is a single axle redco with a Atm of around 1000 Kgs at a guess.

Adam

Funchy
02-03-2013, 01:53 AM
G'day Adam

You can enquire on line maybe through this link mate?

http://www.roadsafeqld.com/Trailer075to35tonneATM.aspx

Glad to hear it is nearly ready mate and can't wait for a ride ;p

softplasticsdude79
02-03-2013, 05:50 AM
Thanx Luke, Obviously from the other 220 who viewed this, no one has done this in qld before.

wayno60
02-03-2013, 07:20 AM
When you arrive at the Department of Transport and Main Roads customer service centre (http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/About-us/Contact-us/In-person/Customer-service-centres.aspx)( http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/About-us/Contact-us/In-person/Customer-service-centres.aspx ), you can make the process of registration quicker and easier if you have the following required documentation with you:

a completed Vehicle Registration Application form (F3518) (http://www.support.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/formsdat.nsf/qtforms/QF3518/)( http://www.support.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/formsdat.nsf/qtforms/QF3518/ ). This form is also available from any Department of Transport and Main Roads customer service centre or, if you live in a rural area, a Queensland Government Agency Program office, a Magistrate Court or your local police station
a completed Self Assessment of Single Axle Trailers form (F3970) (http://www.support.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/formsdat.nsf/qtforms/QF3970/)( http://www.support.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/formsdat.nsf/qtforms/QF3970/ ) (required only for trailers with single axles and an aggregate trailer mass of 750kg or less)
an original copy of the current Queensland safety certificate (http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Registration/Buying-or-selling-a-used-vehicle/Safety-certificates.aspx)( http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Registration/Buying-or-selling-a-used-vehicle/Safety-certificates.aspx ) (required only for trailers in excess of 750kg aggregate trailer mass)
a gas systems compliance certificate that is less than three months old – for caravans/mobile homes with gas appliances, a gas systems compliance certificate or equivalent interstate certificate (if applicable) is required when a new vehicle is sold, a used registered vehicle is sold (transfer of ownership) including commercial vehicles and vehicles for hire (applies to vehicles requiring certificate of inspection every 12 months). If your caravan is imported and fitted with gas appliances, fittings or systems, you must provide a gas systems compliance certificate from an authorised gas installer certifying that the gas appliances, fittings or systems comply with Australian standards. This certificate must be less than three months old.
a weighbridge certificate or other acceptable evidence of the caravan or light trailer's tare (unladen) weight (required only if the caravan or light trailer has an aggregate trailer mass over 1.02t) – check with your local Department of Transport and Main Roads customer service centre for information on alternative acceptable evidence
evidence of the caravan or light trailer's origin – old registration papers or an official purchase receipt are acceptable
evidence of caravan or light trailer's garage address (must be a Queensland address) – current Queensland driver licence, property rates notice, gas, phone or electricity bill are acceptable
evidence of personal identification is required when registering a caravan or light trailer in an individual's name – for example, a current Queensland driver licence. Refer to the Evidence of Identity Information Sheet (http://www.support.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/formsdat.nsf/qtforms/QF4362/)( http://www.support.transport.qld.gov.au/qt/formsdat.nsf/qtforms/QF4362/ )
evidence of organisational identification is required if you are registering a caravan or light trailer in an organisation's name – for example, certificate of incorporation (issued by the Office of Fair Trading), business registration (issued by the Office of Fair Trading), certificate of registration of a company (issued by ASIC – Australian Securities and Investments Commission) and so on. When registering the caravan or trailer in a business name, the proprietor of the business must also bring their Queensland driver licence as identification. If the proprietor is an organisation evidence of identity of the organisation is required.
Note: Organisation representatives must also bring proof that they are acting on behalf of the organisation. Evidence of Representation includes one of the following – a person is in their organisation's uniform, a business card or business identification, the person is a regular representative for the organisation at the customer service centre, documentation from the organisation on official letterhead, as well as the representative's personal identification, such as their Queensland driver licence
have a means of paying the registration fee (http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Registration/Registration-fees-and-labels.aspx)( http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/Registration/Registration-fees-and-labels.aspx ).

02-03-2013, 07:26 AM
I JUST POSTED THE FOLLOWING, ONLY TO SEE THAT WAYNE JUST BEAT ME AND HAS GIVEN THE FULL INFO. WHAT THE HECK, I SHALL LEAVE IT HERE ANYWAY. GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR REGISTRATION... :D

I have done it twice on home made trailers in Brisbane. My memory is a bit patchy but I don't recall getting a RWC done on either of them.

On the first one, I got a weighbridge certificate and presented the trailer at the Transport Department at Upper Mt Gravatt where the lady came out to the trailer with her tape measure and book of tables and rules and went all over the thing, measuring the important dimensions and ratios. She looked at the small tyres and told me that they were not rated to carry the load. That was a nonsense of course and it was not hard to show her her mistake. All was hunky dory and the trailer was registered with no further problems.

With the second trailer, about seven years ago, I had to find another weighbridge because my previous one had closed down so I went a long way out of my way to get to a commercial weigh bridge at Rocklea, only to be told by the lady there that it was no longer necessary to get a weighbridge certificate on a small trailer under a certain size. Nonetheless, I paid my money and got the trailer weighed anyway.

Then I took it to the Transport Department at Cleveland and guess what..... by this time, the assessment was a self assessment. ie the lady from Transport Department gave me the form to complete wherein I had to attest that the trailer was built to the national rules and that was all that I had to do. Very straightforward. Did that, paid my money and the trailer was registered.

That was seven years ago and it is always possible that things have changed since then so I would recommend dropping by a Transport Dept office and asking them what you have to do and maybe getting the form to take home to fill out.

The national design rules that they will adhere to will be these ... http://www.infrastructure.gov.au/roads/vehicle_regulation/bulletin/vsb1/index.aspx#Bulletin%201

It would be good if you don't have to get a weighbridge certificate as there are not so many commercial weighbridges around to do this and getting to one can be a nuisance. I recall looking up the Y e ll o w P a g e s Directory last time and seeing lots of weigh bridges and turning up at one at a scrap steel business at Murrarie and being greeted by very puzzled workers there who explained that their weighbridge was just for their own business operations and that they were not licensed to provide certified weighings for the general public. Unfortunately, that was not clear in the Y e ll o w P a g e s Directory listing which must have been generated by some enthusiastic Y e ll o w P ag es Directory person who had listed all weighbridges whether or not they were in the business of being overtly commercial public weigh bridges.

Feral
02-03-2013, 07:42 AM
I must say it always amuses me that they require a weighbridge certificate for a braked boat trailer.
Generally the trailers weigh nothing compared to the boat that is going to sit on top of them!
If your trailer is braked, and the axle can handle it, register it as 1.5 tonnes, the maximum for a single axle braked trailer.

softplasticsdude79
02-03-2013, 08:26 AM
The trailer has park brakes but no mechanical driving brakes,Thats what im trying to determine,if i need brakes or not,Also the ATM & GTM is a little confusing,My trailer has a plate that says made in 4-4-90 and a GTM of 740kgs.

Do i register it as a under 750 Self assesement or as a 750kg-3.5t with all the Rwc and weighbridge documents,I want it as cheap as i can,but also dont want to register it illegally.

Thanx for your help.

02-03-2013, 08:33 AM
What boat are you putting on the trailer??
Load that boat up with gear, fuel, batteries, motor/s eskies with ice and water etc that you would load into it for a trip and have a guesstimate of that weight. If you near the 600kg mark for the boat without the trailer, you can bet it will go over the 750kg mark.
If you think it will be close to the 750kg mark, upgrade it to the braked axle and register it for maximum of that single axle rating.
That way you will never fall into an under rated trailer rego in case of any accident that may arise.
Rego is cheap compared to a knocked back insurance claim.