PDA

View Full Version : help for newbie

Rhino145
24-02-2013, 01:37 PM
Hi all.
I'm a complete newbie to this site and boating in general. My wife and I are booked to do our recreational skippers tickets next month. I have had little exposure to boating and my wife has nil. We hope to buy our first boat in the coming months. My question is - if you are a complete beginner and have no friends that own boats etc, what is the best way to get a start and join in the fun of owning a boat considering we know squat? if its the internet what sites are best etc? I know a lot of people are lucky to be bought up in that lifestyle and pick it up as they go along..unfortunately we need to start from scratch. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
rhino

midcoast learner
24-02-2013, 01:48 PM
Hi all.
I'm a complete newbie to this site and boating in general. My wife and I are booked to do our recreational skippers tickets next month. I have had little exposure to boating and my wife has nil. We hope to buy our first boat in the coming months. My question is - if you are a complete beginner and have no friends that own boats etc, what is the best way to get a start and join in the fun of owning a boat considering we know squat? if its the internet what sites are best etc? I know a lot of people are lucky to be bought up in that lifestyle and pick it up as they go along..unfortunately we need to start from scratch. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
rhino
I have had a boat for 5 years and i am still very much a newbie . Ausfish i found is the best place for good advice . Bunch of good helpful people on here .

thylacene
24-02-2013, 02:18 PM