PDA

View Full Version : 2 Stroke or 4 Stroke?

boboncc
20-02-2013, 06:59 AM
I have read many posts here and I do know the advantages of one versus the other (cost, efficiency, weight, noise etc). I'm new to boats and I apologise if some of you think this is a dumb question, but are the exhaust fumes from 2 stroke engines that bad?????

Even though this is going to be my boat, I am going to have to take into consideration the boss who at times can get a little sea sick. Having said that she does not complain about the exhaust when she uses a brush cutter. ;D

Thanks!
Bob

ozynorts
20-02-2013, 07:22 AM
It depends on the type of 2 stroke. I have a Yammie 115hp carbie and it is really noticeable. And noisy. I have been on boats with Optimax motors and the smell was still noticeable but not as strong. My wife gets sea sick at times and it is made worse by the smell.
Cheers
Ozy

lethal098
20-02-2013, 08:30 AM
modern day 2 strokes, no not a lot, older 2 strokes yes,

WalrusLike
20-02-2013, 08:53 AM
It depends on the type of 2 stroke. I have a Yammie 115hp carbie and it is really noticeable. And noisy. I have been on boats with Optimax motors and the smell was still noticeable but not as strong. My wife gets sea sick at times and it is made worse by the smell.
Cheers
Ozy

Yeah me too. My motor is a year old and if slowly traveling downwind it can bother the boss. Made worse by clears on.

However after switching to Yammalube instead of caltex I find its a bit better. Can't say for sure though.

But it is not a deal breaker type thing... It just might tip her over into seasick if things are heading that way. A factor but not the only one.

(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like'.)

boboncc
20-02-2013, 09:06 AM
Ozy ,Lethal098 and WalrusLike ........ thanks for the replies.