View Full Version : Horsepower for a V17R

JB sniper
14-02-2013, 04:10 PM
Hey lads, my mate has a v17r he is currently doing up new transom and so on. Just want to get some feedback for him on what motor he should run.? He had 115 2 stroke merc on it but is looking for a 4 stroke. He wants to put a 140 suzuki on it. But has also come across a 115 mercury 4 stroke. He has been recommended a 90 Honda. But he wants more hp then that. Just want all your thoughts on what he should run. Any feed back would be great thanks.

Cheers jb

14-02-2013, 04:29 PM
Forget the 90 I reckon. The 140 would be perfect but the 115 isn't a bad second option if it was cheaper or in better condition.

14-02-2013, 06:06 PM
Quite a few V17's runing around here with 90 Honda's on them... no rocket ships but they will do 30 knots and very economically

the 115 merc is a weighty engine

mackydog
14-02-2013, 06:25 PM
Your best bet is to put a 65hp chrystler on it. The 1964 model was a cherry! The 65 has an absolute shit tonne of power behind it, she's super quite and outstanding on fuel! Turtally awesome motor! She will get up and boogie! It will give you plenty of range and power for those long reef trips you boys do chasing those elusive wong and beluga whale bones!

innos
14-02-2013, 06:43 PM
i see some guys used to run 150 and 200hp two strokes. surely the 115merc or yammy four stroke would not have much weight difference between them and the two strokes of that horsepower.

Waraba Mick
14-02-2013, 07:38 PM
For what its worth the v17r new was rated to 160hp ( outboard ) and 170hp ( sterndrive ).

JB sniper
14-02-2013, 07:41 PM
I reckon your all over it mackydog. Will tell my little mate the Chrysler is the go and he is a mad Wong hunter so should suit him good.

Cheers jb

EMURUNNER
14-02-2013, 08:29 PM
I have the Suzuki 140 4stroke on my v17l and it goes great. I wouldn't go any less than a 115hp though. In the next year or so I'm going to be looking at putting the df175 on mine just so I get a beta cruising speed.

JB sniper
14-02-2013, 09:42 PM
Yeah thought he'd be right with the 140hp. By the way emmurunner took your advice and both his v17r and my v19r are down with Adam Milner at the moment. When there done mine will be getting one of the new Yamaha 200 hp light weight 4strokes on it. My mate just needs to sort out his donk.

Cheers JB

EMURUNNER
14-02-2013, 09:52 PM
JB you should try and talk ya mate into getting the pod set up I got. It has so many advantages and rides heaps beter in the chop. If not I recommend he raises the transom height to take a 25inch motor as they sit down deep in the water at rest with a heavy 4stroke.
Cheers Gav

EMURUNNER
14-02-2013, 09:56 PM
JB also I have a jacking plate sitting in my shed to suit the df140 if he decides to go with the original transom height.
Cheers Gav