PDA

View Full Version : New Tinnie Advice

boboncc
10-02-2013, 07:50 AM
I am about to retire, I'm new to boating so I need some advice on buying a new tinnie.
I'll be using it 75% of the time for fishing, photography and taking the wife out in estuaries and rivers. The other 25% will be spent on Brisbane Water at Gosford NSW. I have no plans on taking it out in open water.

My wife can get a little "sea sick" if the boat rocks too much. I've done some research and have come to the conclusion to get something stable in the 3.5m-3.8m. The boats I've looked at so far have been Quintrex Explorer, Stacer Proline and Smartwave3.5 (poly). The Smartwave seems to fit the bill but there are not many around and not many dealers.

I've been to a couple of Quintrex and Stacer dealers. The last Quintrex dealer was concerned that I would even think of using the explorer on Brisbane Water due to performance in chop (safety?). He said I would be better off with more of a V shaped hull like the Quintrex Dart rather than a V nose punt.

I don't want to be conned into getting something that is not suitable. What are your thoughts?

Thanks!

Dan5
10-02-2013, 09:36 AM
Mate checkout the hornet or the Stacer proline........sounds like they would suit your purpose........Both are traditional punt orintated but do have a bit better ride than a v nose punt and both are stable for their size....a V hull in thse sizes can be a little bit unstable under foot and the layout usually lends it's self to more room aswell as the sides are generally vertical.

Dan

Chimo
10-02-2013, 09:40 AM
If your going to take picture with it and carry your wife more than once the sizes your looking at are IMHO, on the small side.

Older, bigger tinnys will be cheaper and will have stood the test of time vs some of the newer stuff.