PDA

View Full Version : Transom repair

tangled-lines
08-02-2013, 02:26 AM
I'm adding this post for informational purposes only, and hoping it might be helpful for others with similar problems. I'm no expert with fibreglass, but this seems to have worked for me. I mention WEST system epoxy in this post, and if you do a search, you will quickly find they have some excellent videos and articles/books for download on the use of this material. All I can say is it is bloody tough stuff. Just allow a few drops to get between two sheets of marine ply accidentally and try to pull them apart the next day, you will need a pry bar, and the epoxy doesnt give way, the marine ply is what comes undone.

A while back had some issues with cracking of the gelcoat where the transom meets the outboard well. A fibreglass repairer said it was a soft transom,but the transom core felt quite solid, so I guessed it was due to excess flexing of the outboard on the transom. I recalled a grounding sometime earlier, and my outboard sits on an alloy transom block whcih raises it a few inches. Had thought about this when I installed a new outboard, and the dealer felt it was advantageous to keep the alloy block as this keeps the power head up away from the salt water.

The cracks went right throught to the interior, and I could feel them opening up slightly when applying force to the outboard leg. My mates all said all fibreglass boats develop gelcoat cracks, nothing to worry about. But it all meant fatigue to me.

The solution for me was to take the outboard off, and grind out the cracked areas thoroughly, ensuring a rough key for the new glass.