View Full Version : Wax off wax on.

sandym
06-02-2013, 07:32 PM
Hi All,

Long time reader first time poster. Made the mistake of washing my boat with truck wash and have removed some the wax. Have seen Blackened excellent detailing post.

My question is, do I have to give it a polish first or can I just reapply wax? The boat is 8 years old and in good condition.

Thanks.

thylacene
06-02-2013, 07:35 PM
You don't have to polish it, but I reckon a dose of polish before the wax gets a better result. YMMV

07-02-2013, 07:44 AM

Polish before the wax will help, however it's ok to just wax over the existing surface if there's no oxidation.

Shelby35
07-02-2013, 09:35 AM
On that supject what is the best to use when cleaning your boat?

DM
07-02-2013, 09:05 PM
wash your boat with hair shampoo. Cleans well but doesn't attack any polish. after a polish use a polymer or teflon sealer. meguires or international yacht paints sell good quality sealers witch last atleast 6months

09-02-2013, 04:32 PM
On that supject what is the best to use when cleaning your boat?

Use a quality wash and wax. Something designed for the job and loaded with protection such as carnubra wax. I personally use Easygleam, a locally made one. DO NOT use chemteck CT18 as it will strip the polish and wax, however CT20 would suffice.

carpetcleaninggc
15-03-2013, 08:02 PM
Hi All,

Long time reader first time poster. Made the mistake of washing my boat with truck wash and have removed some the wax. Have seen move out cleaning brisbane (http://www.bondcleanings.com.au) Blackened excellent detailing post.

My question is, do I have to give it a polish first or can I just reapply wax? The boat is 8 years old and in good end of lease cleaning brisbane (http://www.bondcleanings.com.au/end-of-lease-cleaning-brisbane) condition.

Thanks.
You can wax on some of the required areas but not on complete boat. Just make use of good polish and little bit of wax

Scott79
16-03-2013, 09:49 PM
Dave,
Is it either of these that you use?

https://www.eazygleam.com.au/index.php/component/virtuemart/auto-care/car-truck-washing-products/truck-wash-trucking-gold-1l-detail?Itemid=0

https://www.eazygleam.com.au/index.php/component/virtuemart/auto-care/car-truck-washing-products/carnuba-wax-1l-detail?Itemid=0

Thanks,
Scott.

17-03-2013, 05:58 PM
Dave,
Is it either of these that you use?

https://www.eazygleam.com.au/index.php/component/virtuemart/auto-care/car-truck-washing-products/truck-wash-trucking-gold-1l-detail?Itemid=0

https://www.eazygleam.com.au/index.php/component/virtuemart/auto-care/car-truck-washing-products/carnuba-wax-1l-detail?Itemid=0

Thanks,
Scott.

G'day Scott,

This one, from this supplier

http://hallsindustries.com/detailing/external-detailing-chemicals/truck-car-boat-wash/eazygleam-carnuba-wash-wax-20l/prod_149.html

Scott79
17-03-2013, 07:03 PM
Cheers mate.

19-03-2013, 05:01 PM
wash your boat with hair shampoo. Cleans well but doesn't attack any polish. after a polish use a polymer or teflon sealer. meguires or international yacht paints sell good quality sealers witch last atleast 6months

Personally i'm yet to come across any hairy boats.......

PixieAU
19-03-2013, 06:05 PM
Thats because they get waxed regularly. Brazillian-style!