View Full Version : Trophy 2052 Diesel

31-01-2013, 07:00 PM
Has anyone had any first hand experience with these boats. They are a lower tier boat in the US herachy but from what I can see they look pretty good to me. A few issues with the little diesel in them but it looks like it can be managed. I like the 500NM range at around 20 knots and the 1.6NM/L sounds pretty good. I can live with an economical slug if the boat is comfortable

cobiaman
31-01-2013, 07:16 PM
I think the swains would be a good trial for it...

31-01-2013, 07:33 PM
I think the swains would be a good trial for it...

Hopefully in the future but for this years trip I'm Bulls beer and bait bitch. I'm not sure what services you are covering to pay your way though

wrxhoon
31-01-2013, 08:51 PM
Nothing wrong with the boat if you like sterndrives but gutless, if you fill her up (326 lts) say 3 big guys in it and a bit of gear you will be slowing down uphills. I wouldn't buy the 120 hp diesel and don't bank of the 1.6 knm per lit either, that could be down the river empty not loaded outside.
If you must buy inboard get the 220 hp. I had a 2002 with a 200 merc optimax and she went well, a mate had one with 175 also went well , 150 outboard would be minimum hp that I want on that boat, they weigh about 1600 kg empty , no fuel no gear.

myusernam
01-02-2013, 12:13 PM
yes, those quoted figures are rubbery at best. Have a look on the hull truth or ask the question on fuel economy there from dudes that own.
Goes against all comparitive figures. even the quintrex diesel 6m which is a much lighter boat was using 18 or 19l per hour at 20+ knots. Arvor similar..
those that have similar boats say 10l per 100hp per hour at cruise roughly.
some checkbook journalism there i reckon

01-02-2013, 01:28 PM
a 120HP diesel will be a far better "cruiser" with added weight than any 150-175HP outboard.

01-02-2013, 04:25 PM
yes, those quoted figures are rubbery at best. Have a look on the hull truth or ask the question on fuel economy there from dudes that own.
Goes against all comparitive figures. even the quintrex diesel 6m which is a much lighter boat was using 18 or 19l per hour at 20+ knots. Arvor similar..
those that have similar boats say 10l per 100hp per hour at cruise roughly.
some checkbook journalism there i reckon
A couple of guys on The hull Truth get great economy out of them but in Pangas and other boats, not the Trophy. Its rated at just under the 120hp mark and is reported to give fuel usage of 12.5L per hour at 17+ knots which sounds about right to me for cruising. Popular mechanics give it as drinking less than 20L per hour at over 30 knots at WOT. In a sea I would love the torque of a diesel over any outboard. Bar crossings would be nice with a bit more acceleration though

lucee81
01-02-2013, 08:25 PM
Hopefully in the future but for this years trip I'm Bulls beer and bait bitch. I'm not sure what services you are covering to pay your way though

he wouldn't have to pay on bulls boat. Would you expect your son to pay...
Look at them together very much father and son..

Muddy Toes
01-02-2013, 08:44 PM
What's the plan here Neil. A local buy or an import job?

01-02-2013, 09:59 PM
You can get diesel Stripers etc. with the bigger motors. I go past a nice diesel Scout Vantage every day with a leg on an airberth that looks a ripper.

01-02-2013, 10:27 PM
What's the plan here Neil. A local buy or an import job?

Import. Not quite ready yet though

Alchemy
02-02-2013, 09:42 AM
A couple of guys on The hull Truth get great economy out of them but in Pangas and other boats, not the Trophy. Its rated at just under the 120hp mark and is reported to give fuel usage of 12.5L per hour at 17+ knots which sounds about right to me for cruising. Popular mechanics give it as drinking less than 20L per hour at over 30 knots at WOT. In a sea I would love the torque of a diesel over any outboard. Bar crossings would be nice with a bit more acceleration though

Horse, my initial reaction was that 120hp seems a bit light on but then my 7.5m only has 240hp and I imagine a fair bit more boat than the one you're looking at. I had the MTU tech out for a run last year and he hooked up his diagnostic computer to the engine to check a few things out for me. One thing I found surprising is that at about 3500 rpm (max revs should be 4200) the engine was only at 50% throttle, so I guess only developing half of its rated HP. At these revs I am sitting around 22 knots which makes for very economical boating.

FisHard
02-02-2013, 10:17 AM
The 2052 Diesel is a real "dream boat" for me! The combination of a walkaround cab, decent bunks (I can lay comfortably in them and I'm 6'4") and an econimical powerplant, holds stacks of appeal in my world. I'm also a bit suss on 120hp in a 21 footer, but on the hwy, 60t B Doubles still do the job with the same horsepower of a 1800kg HSV. Its all about the torque.
How about we go halves in one?

02-02-2013, 10:43 AM
The 2052 Diesel is a real "dream boat" for me! The combination of a walkaround cab, decent bunks (I can lay comfortably in them and I'm 6'4") and an econimical powerplant, holds stacks of appeal in my world. I'm also a bit suss on 120hp in a 21 footer, but on the hwy, 60t B Doubles still do the job with the same horsepower of a 1800kg HSV. Its all about the torque.
How about we go halves in one?

They certainly seem to tick a lot of boxes for me. It would be nice to take fuel range pretty much out of the equation for a few of the trips I would like to do.

my v16c
02-02-2013, 11:08 AM
http://images1.boattrader.com/resize/1/39/2/4103902_0_121020120915_3.jpg?w=640&h=480&1131962

FisHard
02-02-2013, 11:23 AM
If you need to take jerry cans to extend your range even further, I know I'd rather thay contained diesel than ULP! I had 6 Jerrys in the Seafarer on a trip last year and was very happy when they could be decanted into the main tank. No one wants to blow up!
Horse, any reason why you're not looking at the 2352?

02-02-2013, 11:57 AM
http://images1.boattrader.com/resize/1/39/2/4103902_0_121020120915_3.jpg?w=640&h=480&1131962

Thats the beast. A hardtop would be nice

02-02-2013, 11:59 AM
If you need to take jerry cans to extend your range even further, I know I'd rather thay contained diesel than ULP! I had 6 Jerrys in the Seafarer on a trip last year and was very happy when they could be decanted into the main tank. No one wants to blow up!
Horse, any reason why you're not looking at the 2352?
The 2352 is a fair bit bigger. Its 700kg heavier and 4" wider. Even the 2052 is a big boat to drag around.

FisHard
02-02-2013, 12:15 PM
That's a clean unit. A set of massive clears and some trim tabs and you'd be good to go (to the swains)
Have you got pre-approval from Mister?

Boat Hog
02-02-2013, 12:19 PM
I think the range would be fantastic Horse! Trade off being not as much power. If you wanted to go ultra long range then a fuel bladder or two would get you anywhere and back again. Another advantage is that some places have an on water diesel bowser only - no ULP.

Before I ended up with the Striper I had my hopes set on the Trophy 2359 with the 2.8L Cummins Turbo Diesel (200 HP) with Bravo III Sterndrive. There wasn't that many available at the time in Australia (used) and very few in the states with the diesel.

02-02-2013, 12:34 PM
Yea the diesels are pretty rare in the States. I think I could live with the slower speeds. I can just imagine Muddy and Humdinger chucking donuts around it

my v16c
02-02-2013, 03:49 PM
Horse...You know you want it , you know you need it ...you know you must have it.....just grab it.... while the dollar is strong....
Cheers My V16C ;D

wrxhoon
03-02-2013, 08:58 PM
Not so from my experience, the diesel is a slug!!

wrxhoon
03-02-2013, 09:20 PM
My 2002 on heavy duty dual axle ally trailer (200 opti, about the same weight as 2052) was very easy to lug around with a LC200 ttd, no problem anywhere at or above speed limit and we have some hills here going up and down the coast.
As far as range goes the outboard had plenty, at least 250 kn miles with plenty to spare in the 326 lt tank. The only issue not a lot of deck space and a bit tight at the helm, good at sea on the go but not as stable at rest due to the deep V and narrow bottom.