View Full Version : 115 4stroke Yammy fuel consumption help...

aidbox
23-01-2013, 09:32 PM
Hi guys just wondering what the consumption of a 2011 115 4stroke yammy woud be pushing a 5.5m plate boat? I know there are lots of variables but just need an aproximate. I am travelling roughly 60km out and back (120km) in total and wodnering how much fuel Id use as there is a 200L tank...how much km-litres running at the avergare cruising of 4000rpms I guess?

cobiaman
23-01-2013, 09:34 PM
In decent conditions nearly 2km/L ??

aidbox
23-01-2013, 09:37 PM
In decent conditions nearly 2km/L ??

Roughly 60L in a 120km trip then..... if my math is correct. So 200L should be heaps? Was hoping not to have it full all the time due to extra weight...

cobiaman
23-01-2013, 09:40 PM
Only 1 way to find out....

johncar
23-01-2013, 09:54 PM
If you are heading out to sea it can be better to carry a bit of weight low in the centre of the boat where the fuel tank is most likely located. It can help with stability and ride. So 200 Litres in the right place can be good.

fish'n'chippy
24-01-2013, 05:36 AM
Have a look on here
http://www.scoutboats.com/pdfs/187Dorado-115.pdf
It's test data for a boat of similar size and weight with a yammy F115

I like to head out with full fuel. As mentioned the extra weight can help with stability, but for me it's more about how hard it is to get out and push it to a servo.......

G

dluxv6
24-01-2013, 07:07 AM
Aid box
Have a look at this gives test reports on multitude of boats running f115a yammy
Google yamaha outboard prices
You will find brisbane yamaha
Select motor and on page you should test on different boats

Cheers drew

24-01-2013, 07:12 AM
My 115 on the Yalta 555 cruises anywhere just under 5000 rpm, I think 4000 rpm will be painfully slow on a good day with smooth water. So driving with fuel economy in mind somewhere in between your burn rate should be under 25 litres per hour. A full day from scarby out to hutchies trolling will use around 100 ltrs max. I would always have a full tank on any offshore trip.

aidbox
24-01-2013, 07:50 AM
Aid box
Have a look at this gives test reports on multitude of boats running f115a yammy
Google yamaha outboard prices
You will find brisbane yamaha
Select motor and on page you should test on different boats

Cheers drew

Thanks mate that's a really useful site! Says roughly that it would use 2.28l per 1km in a 16knt winds with 3 crew- av top speed at 31knotts in these conditions. Not too bad as it was on a 5.6m bar rusher. This roughly works out to what Scalem says too- about 25L/ph, I think this is ok considering I have a 200L...should be heaps for what I'm doing then wouldn't you think? Like the theory of full tank for weight and stability- does it affect your boats with extra weight? Or is it better to this weight when underway?

aidbox
24-01-2013, 07:50 AM
Only 1 way to find out....

Yeah it's for a boat I'm considering buying :)

myusernam
24-01-2013, 07:56 AM
why do people insist on using km when charts are in NM?! work on 1nm/L. but if it's rough and it really has to work hard you might use more so make sure you have some left over. a good way is 1/3 out, 1/3 back and 1/3 in reserve.

Crocodile
24-01-2013, 08:25 AM
Hello Aidbox,
try these,
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/products/marine-outboard/power-reports
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/sites/yamaha-motor/files/Vindicator_5.50_Cuddy_F115.pdf
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/sites/yamaha-motor/files/Bar_Crusher_560C_F115.pdf
and so on.
Bear in mind that these figures would be recorded in ideal conditions with a perfectly prepared boat.

Muddy Toes
24-01-2013, 08:29 AM
why do people insist on using km when charts are in NM?! work on 1nm/L. but if it's rough and it really has to work hard you might use more so make sure you have some left over. a good way is 1/3 out, 1/3 back and 1/3 in reserve.

For me personally I use kilometers because the charts I have are in kilometers, the electronic charts I use are in kilometers and my digital Yamaha gauge I use give a reading in kilometers per litres.

Apollo
24-01-2013, 08:44 AM
I run a 5.5m glass centre console with a F115 and 19x13 SS prop. In good conditions I get 2.3-2.2km/L at 4000-5000rpm, 2/3 tank and medium load. Full tank (151L), fully loaded and decent headwinds and moderate chop (ie trim tabs in use), I am down to 1.7-1.8km/L at same rpm.

thelump
24-01-2013, 09:32 AM
Mate I have a 2011 F115 on a Yalta555 glass half cabin. At 1770 last year we had a couple of good days to get out to the reef approx 65km run out. I had 3 large POB 150l of fuel and all the gear that 3 blokes need on a trip. We sat on around 4500rpm for a little while and fuel burn was around 1.6km/l I then upped it to 5000rpm and got a bit better at 1.7km/l at around 46-49km/h.167kms for the day and used 100litres of fuel. Mind you conditions were near on perfect. Add some slop to this same scenario and the consumption will increase quite a bit. For a local trip out down here (Redlands) with only 2 POB and less gear and running with the current heading to the SPB I will get better than 2km/l and an average trip will be 1.8 - 1.9km/l overall. This is with a standard 17K stainless Yamaha prop.

thelump
24-01-2013, 09:35 AM
I run a 5.5m glass centre console with a F115 and 19x13 SS prop. In good conditions I get 2.3-2.2km/L at 4000-5000rpm, 2/3 tank and medium load. Full tank (151L), fully loaded and decent headwinds and moderate chop (ie trim tabs in use), I am down to 1.7-1.8km/L at same rpm.

What WOT are you getting Steve?

24-01-2013, 10:21 AM
Mate I have a 2011 F115 on a Yalta555 glass half cabin. At 1770 last year we had a couple of good days to get out to the reef approx 65km run out. I had 3 large POB 150l of fuel and all the gear that 3 blokes need on a trip. We sat on around 4500rpm for a little while and fuel burn was around 1.6km/l I then upped it to 5000rpm and got a bit better at 1.7km/l at around 46-49km/h.167kms for the day and used 100litres of fuel. Mind you conditions were near on perfect. Add some slop to this same scenario and the consumption will increase quite a bit. For a local trip out down here (Redlands) with only 2 POB and less gear and running with the current heading to the SPB I will get better than 2km/l and an average trip will be 1.8 - 1.9km/l overall. This is with a standard 17K stainless Yamaha prop.

Don't you get better fuel consumption going down river than up for some mysterious reason involving metaphysics and carpet?;D

aidbox
24-01-2013, 01:15 PM
Hello Aidbox,
try these,
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/products/marine-outboard/power-reports
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/sites/yamaha-motor/files/Vindicator_5.50_Cuddy_F115.pdf
http://www.yamaha-motor.com.au/sites/yamaha-motor/files/Bar_Crusher_560C_F115.pdf
and so on.
Bear in mind that these figures would be recorded in ideal conditions with a perfectly prepared boat.
Thanks mate found this very useful and seems to be on the mark. I like how they give you an overview of different boats, crew and wind. Excellent

aidbox
24-01-2013, 01:19 PM
Geez I love this site- bloody helpful lads, appreciate it! What would we do without this 'interweb' thingamejiggy?

Tango 322
24-01-2013, 05:45 PM
We have a 5.5m plate alloy with hardtop running a F115. With a full tank of 200 litres, three big blokes on board and average to good conditions @ say, 4,500 RPM, it will do 1.6 - 1.8km/litre. When it goes to crap offshore, 1.2 km/ litre is about it.

thelump
24-01-2013, 06:54 PM
Don't you get better fuel consumption going down river than up for some mysterious reason involving metaphysics and carpet?;D
And magic JJ you forgot the magic!

fisho64
24-01-2013, 08:52 PM
Thanks mate that's a really useful site! Says roughly that it would use 2.28l per 1km in a 16knt winds with 3 crew-

you must have that ass about face, that is huge. My old Trailcraft with F115, heavier than yours etc averaged around .9-1.1 NM per litre, your quote is around 4 litres per NM.

and nautical miles? theres a good reason why they are the standard in maritime environments, but now that people just punch it into a GPS and roar off with no idea of what the numbers mean or the most basic navigation skills, its being ignored.
It p+++es me off no end when listening to a marine forecast on the AM radio and hear an announcer call 20-30 km/h winds. You know he hasnt converted it so the actual forecast is double that reported.