PDA

View Full Version : Cosmetic application of flowcoat - advice needed

smclaren
21-01-2013, 04:25 PM
Hi Guys

Need some floatcoat advice.

I am restoring a fiberglass duckboard that has the manufacturers name embossed (raised up) on it.

Final step after some repairs on the board is a cosmetic coat to hide the repair work and give it a nice even finish.

The thing is that the embossing is very subtle and I am concerned that too thick a mix of flowcoat will reduce the boldness of the embossing and also reduce the non-slip qualities that the embossing gives it.

So I am look for a method/process/technique that will give me the cosmetic coverage ... but with a thinner application. Hope that makes sense ?

I am not a flowcoat expert ... so you'll need to spoon feed me the details sorry.:-[

Thanks

Steve

sharkcat one
21-01-2013, 06:39 PM
Hi Mate,

Flowcoat will not stick to anything that has not been sanded . I would not use flowcoat , either get a gelcoat detailer to regelcoat the board or 2-pac the board. You should not use flowcoat if it faces the sun all of the time.
Flowcoat will turn yellow or off white with time, flowcoat is not gelcoat with thickeners added ( So many people on this site believe it is ) . flowcoat has no uv resistance , usually made from ortho base,( some flowcoats can come in Vinylester bases, but you will have to ask for this) , where Gelcoat is iso based, flowcoat is more brittle than gelcoat, when you buff flowcoat it will look great for about 6 months and will dull off .

Keep the flowcoat for you lockers and undersole areas .

I know alot of people on this site repair gelcoat on their boats with flowcoat. If they want to do it that way ,it's their boat. But if you want to do it correctly don't use flowcoat.

Using the flowcoat on the underside of the board is fine.

Cheers
Scott

smclaren
21-01-2013, 08:57 PM
Thanks Scott ... good info there mate.

Sounds like a job for a pro ..... which I ain't !

Thanks again.

Rip it up