PDA

View Full Version : Fibreglass Hull Leaking

bushonion
16-01-2013, 08:40 AM
G'day everyone,
My fibreglass runabout has been out of the water for a few years and went back into the water this week. When I opened the bung a few liters of pretty rusty looking water came out... She's never had a leak before and I don't know we here to start.
Any advice welcome...I'm scared of the possible implications/costs/getting ripped off if I take it to a repairer which I will have to do because I am not technical/strong/equipped to fix it (just an old grrl who likes to fish)
Cheers

fat-buoy
16-01-2013, 09:22 AM
I had a tinny which used to take on water.. and after agonising about the possibility of a hole etc I decided to check the bung a little. What I did was to put a lick of silicone around the bung backing plate (female component attached to the boat) and then put a lick of vaseline around the thread of the actual bung... The next trip when I opened the bung not a single drop came out so I guess it was just a bit of water either getting past the thread and seal or behind the bung itself.

Worth a try before putting extra $$ into it.. PS I was told that the vaseline would deteriorate the bung plastic and it may well have but I had the boat for over 4 years and didn't notice anything at all different and worse case scenario is pay $10 some time down the track to replace it.

fat-buoy
16-01-2013, 09:26 AM
I had a tinny which used to take on water.. and after agonising about the possibility of a hole etc I decided to check the bung a little. What I did was to put a lick of silicone around the bung backing plate (female component attached to the boat) and then put a lick of vaseline around the thread of the actual bung... The next trip when I opened the bung not a single drop came out so I guess it was just a bit of water either getting past the thread and seal or behind the bung itself.