View Full Version : Hints for a first timer.

10-01-2013, 07:04 PM
Guys that have had skis for a while.

Can you post up some hints and tips for beginners.

Fishing accessories, maintenance, towing, storage, cleaning, fuel, etc etc...

LP

sid_fishes
10-01-2013, 07:07 PM
did you buy 1 phill

10-01-2013, 07:08 PM
maybe................. shhhhhhh

sid_fishes
10-01-2013, 07:17 PM
well in that case mate
dont piss boaties off
get a s/s frame made for the back[ esky ,rod holders,fuel can]
oh and dont piss boaties off

sid_fishes
10-01-2013, 07:31 PM
oh and by the way i found the seat for the esky and ive got a bag of that floosy salt here for you too
ill drop them up soon

lucee81
10-01-2013, 07:57 PM
get an electric motor to push it along....

trymyluck
10-01-2013, 08:12 PM
Ya need to zig and zag, don't just zag as thats just too easy............:rifle:

Gon Fishun
10-01-2013, 08:19 PM
Insurance, lots of it. :oops:.

Captain Seaweed
10-01-2013, 08:58 PM
I have had a few Phill....shut up you lot and stop labelling me... :)

I never fished off my jetskis I used them to go for a run to clear the mind and go wave jumping in the surf. I had a Yamaha GP1300r injected ski. What did you get? I always washed inside and out then sprayed inside with Inox. Some people rev the crap out of them at the ramp to clear salt water out of them, I never did but washed out for a while then cleared them at home. Watch running them super shallow so you dont suck sand thru the jet as this starts to wear and in turn reduce performance.
I will get another as they are great toys, it just suck there are lots of wankers that own them. Go jump a few waves and you will be like a dog with 2 tails.

Good luck
Marty

10-01-2013, 09:19 PM
NO wave jumping, no Hang Time............. :P

Thanks for the replies... I think ?

FYI...

This will be my Creek Boat. The creeks up 1770 way need my attention and now that I have sold Skanky Hoe ( 4.3 tinnie ) need some other form of transport.

Yes, I'll be plonking a rack for esky and rod holders etc on the back. May even get a " sled " to tow the crab pots around on. I already have the GPS.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/bp5302541406158367745_zps52716235.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/bp5091431723283834779_zpsdbf1f6c4.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/bp4835084321907369032_zpsd7e924c6.jpg

It's a 2008 Yamaha VX Sport. basically a 1052cc 4 stroke EFI with 110hp to get me going.

It's log books show a great record and it is always sprayed with Lanolin after wash and use.

The black and white stuff on the hull is padding so the wake boards didn't scratch the duco.

I have looked at some sites for accessories, but may end up building my own racks.

Marty, I'll be towing this out to Musgrave so you can troll up a Trout round the fringing reefs while I head to deeper water for Reds :)

I may pay to get a cover for it, as it will be in a carport and not a garage. Yes, Insurance is a must.

Anyone got an idea of fuel usage ? I think it has a 60ltr tank, so will have to do a distance run !

Just need some AF stickers and P plates.... ( Phill Plates :) )

LP

10-01-2013, 10:16 PM
WHAT !!!!!

I have 10 insurance policies with RACQ and they tell me they do NOT cover Waverunners / Jetskis.

MMMM thinking I need to change insurers.... anyone in the industry that wants to handle a 10 policy change-over ??????

LP

lucee81
10-01-2013, 10:22 PM
When you said ski I thought you meant a kayak as som people call them ski's. my bad.
So my comment clearly makes no sense.

10-01-2013, 10:41 PM
OK tried 2 other insurers and apparently do not want my business either.

Googled " jet ski insurance " and clicked on a site... called them " sorry, we do not do jet ski insurance ".... " well why are you listed on Google as doing so ? ".... hangs up !

Found another insurer and completed ins online... all done !

LP

10-01-2013, 10:46 PM
When you said ski I thought you meant a kayak as som people call them ski's. my bad.
So my comment clearly makes no sense.

You do realise, Lucas, that you were posting in the " Jet Ski " forum ??? :LMAO::hammer:

Apparently they are Jet Skis... and not Waverunners... I have no idea.

Time for swim... bit humid, but I do believe, rain is on the way.

cobiaman
10-01-2013, 11:02 PM
Need someone to wind in the marlin while your driving???

Shark Poker
11-01-2013, 04:23 AM
I suggest that you give double or triple the usual distance from other craft in order to show you are a courteous operator.
Had a Seadoo for a couple months now and I still feel the icy glare of people in 'real' boats.
And I just installed a lowrance sounder/gps. Did you install yours yet?
Pauly

Boat Hog
11-01-2013, 04:34 AM
Nice purchase Phill! Good that you've finally seen the light and come over to fibreglass!!

So what's the plan? Up to Agnes with it on the ute tray and tow Rebait or will it be living at Agnes for a while (and where will the keys be ;)).

11-01-2013, 08:20 PM
Just picked it up this arvo.

It will be coming to Agnes, with accessories installed.

I'll mount the GPS this weekend.

I'll then draw up plans for the frame ( 316 stainless ) or maybe polished ally ??? Build it around suitable esky, or is that Chilli Bin ??

It will be towed offshore while at Agnes , given the right conditions.

Jim, I have already had an offer to tow the ski to Agnes from Brisvegas in September.

Now to get a T-Shirt made for riding it... something written on the back like :-

If you can read this, my deckie has fallen off ;;D:jester::LMAO:

LP

12-01-2013, 06:53 AM
OK, had anyone who owns a jets ki , towed it any distance / speed.

I believe it has been and can be done, but you'll need to fit a " tap " / valve to the water intake.

LP

WalrusLike
12-01-2013, 08:02 PM
Yeah my mate has often.... It travels well if you feed enough line to get a good spot in the wake.

That towing valve is a trap. The way to do it is clip your keys to it so you can't forget to set it correctly.

WalrusLike
12-01-2013, 08:03 PM
Oh.... It's a three seater ski behind a 26 Bertie.

Seahorse
13-01-2013, 07:20 AM
Hi phil
I fish off mine whenever i can. Got the fishing rack few rod holders at different places are very handy. I got a yammy. Give yamaha insur a call. I got both ski's insured with them.
There is a few other guys around redcliffe area who go and have a fish.
I got the ho cruser 1800cc and couple weeks ago, left clontarf, to mud, to four beacons to tangas and back to clontarf. Dont know the milage but approx 30 lit fuel i would say.
Mate i enjoy around scar, woddy point, but really go anywhere.
I saw a fish rack made out of PVC pipe the other week. Looked great. Said it ost him about $130. I think i might do that with the second ski. U can then paint it same olour as ski.
I will put a pic up of mine

Fish_Two
13-01-2013, 10:54 AM
Hi Phil, get a" tow tap" fitted, ita a ball valve fitted in the engine bay that stops water going in to the engine whilst under tow,
If you don't have a tow tap do not tow above 6 knots or you will fill the engine with water,

I regularly tow mine behind the big boat at speed, just make sure you have long rope

It would want to be a good day to tow it musgrave,

Glen

13-01-2013, 01:56 PM
Thanks Glen,

Yes, I have seen the valves.

Now just thinking about towing, I was reading on a Yankee forum that the ski will tend not to tow straight, ducking and diving ????

So I think it will depend on the length of the tow rope and maybe, just maybe the way it is attached.

I thought an ' A ' frame type might keep it on the straight and narrow. That is attach ropes of equal length from my rear cleats ( close to transom on boat ) and then attach to towing point on ski... so the A works like... boat > ski if ya know what I mean.

I know when towing boats, not a lot of tow line is used, so why do you say long tow rope for ski ? How long would you suggest or do I do a " trial and error " mission.

Musgrave is only 52K's to lagoon from bar....... :)

Fish_Two
13-01-2013, 03:30 PM
Phil,
you will need to attach the tow line to the tow hook on the front of the ski, then I run a long tow line up to a bridle ( A) on the tow boat,
Yes the ski will duct and weave , I think due to the steering control system on a jet ski, maybe tie the handle bar down, but I have never worried about it,

The long tow line is so you position the ski up above your wake on smooth water behind the boat, if you know what I mean, the faster you go the further back it will be

I have towed my from the Gold Coast to tangas ,,

You know better than anyone the conditions at 1770 and how flat it can be inside than the last 10km are just painfull depending on wind direction and tide
The ski may just dig in on the swells,

But really what re you going to do with it once you get there?
Leave it ,and go for fish?

You will have more fun with at the beach,jumping waves and towing drunk blokes on a tube

Thanks Glen

15-01-2013, 06:36 PM
https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSj_H9GEthn_6VdV2801Axn5B4A45YLR BjWXPzyzV2BYUHJUwzL

15-01-2013, 06:40 PM
The above pic is of a " unit " available in different colours.

It attaches via a ratchet strap at front to tow loop and 2 racket straps either side that connect to the loops under the transom.

Esky with bait board on top and things, as well as 4 x rod holders.

Looks easy to attach and remove, rather bolting stuff on.

RRP ........ $800.00

http://www.whiteybox.com/0_0_0_0_436_581_csupload_49629864.jpg?u=1448501047

http://imgc.classistatic.com/cps/blnc/120807/059r1/16649dm_20.jpeg

15-01-2013, 06:51 PM
Towing pics...

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg115/JetSkiBrian/fishing%202010/skitow.jpg

http://i246.photobucket.com/albums/gg115/JetSkiBrian/fishing%202010/skitow2.jpg

They towed it 32nm offshore and towed at 25MPH.

Donged AJ's etc...

LP

15-01-2013, 06:55 PM
http://jetskibrian.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/cindy-on-ski-520x390.jpg

15-01-2013, 07:34 PM
I am booked in for my licence test this Saturday.

$125.00 and a 3 hr course and they supply Ski etc.

$85 for Qld Tpt and you only get a piece of paper, until you renew ya Drivers licence and then the PWCL gets added.

OH, there is another Ausfisher attending to get his licence , as he says " it's no use Phill having a Jet Ski and me not having a licence to use it " ???

LP

Seahorse
15-01-2013, 09:11 PM
Good luck.

17-01-2013, 08:33 PM
I am booked in for my licence test this Saturday.

$125.00 and a 3 hr course and they supply Ski etc.

$85 for Qld Tpt and you only get a piece of paper, until you renew ya Drivers licence and then the PWCL gets added.

OH, there is another Ausfisher attending to get his licence , as he says " it's no use Phill having a Jet Ski and me not having a licence to use it " ???

LP

where you taking the test LP,

17-01-2013, 10:43 PM
Horizon Shores.......... marina.

LP

Muddy Toes
18-01-2013, 10:48 AM
I'll ride the ski out to Fitzroy if you tow my boat.

It's alright.....I know a few people up there that can give you a few tips on towing mine.

20-01-2013, 12:10 PM
Licence test passed....

Did it on a Seadoo 150HP new fangled thingie with reverse and emergency stop etc.........

Aced the written test........... :happy:

Question 20:-

Consuming alcohol does what to your driving skills ?

4 choices...

choice 3. Makes you confident and relaxed to operate the craft better . :LMAO:

NO.... I did not tick that box !!!

LP

Muddy Toes
20-01-2013, 12:32 PM
I'd tend to dispute that.while it may not be the appropriate answer I can't see how it would be false.

20-01-2013, 01:04 PM
Wasn't false, just not the answer that got you a ' tick "...

hahahahahaaaaaa

20-01-2013, 05:41 PM
Im with Muddy, it was an subjective truth then

Muddy Toes
20-01-2013, 05:44 PM
Mythbusters on Phill's new toy mike?

sid_fishes
22-01-2013, 06:58 PM
phill, the more i think about what you want to do, the less i sleep. ok
with the esky set-up i would be inclinded to wrap s/s around the outside of your rod holders. high and low [ strenght ] grab rail as well. also it would give you a chance to have the backrest attached[ either fixed or removeable ]
next you need to put fish plates [ again 316 s/s] inside your esky to add strenght, cause you never know what will hit when trolling
i,m still thinking ok
and thanks