View Full Version : Bow Mount Watersnake Battery?

fishinwahbee
30-12-2012, 11:42 AM
Hi,

What battery for a 54lb Jarvis Marine Watersnake? After a battery that will run the bow mount all day. Brand, make, model, type, ect. Sorry im a newby and have no clue.

Thanks heaps guys, Jari

bar raider
30-12-2012, 08:03 PM
You'll want At least a 100 amp hour deep cycle, that will last a day of casting and trolling.

Brand and type? well thats up to your budget, just make sure its a deep cycle and rated 100AH or more, Price is up to you, 200 - 350 odd dollars.

martib
31-12-2012, 07:52 AM
i did the same about 12 months ago and the best place was ebay,and i did alot of searching.
AC Delco 100amp hths

fisho_83
31-12-2012, 08:03 AM
I second the AC Delco Calcium battery. I have had no worries with my battery at all. They are also pretty reasonably priced. Another important thing is you need to have a good quality charger. I got the 7 stage Intelli Charger. They retail for about $200-$250 but I picked mine up for about half that on ebay. With a deep cycle battery, I basically leave mine on the charger the whole time except when I am using it. I think, if you leave a deep cycle battery around that is not fully charged it drastically effects the life of the battery. Good luck mate!!

martib
31-12-2012, 08:48 AM
yeah fisho_83 good point,yes ive got the same,easy to use,both battery and charger are great

chris69
31-12-2012, 09:44 AM
Go 120 amp to 130 amp for 54lb bowmont, for a minncota 55lb bowmount 120 amp is the minimum amps to have.

31-12-2012, 09:49 AM
Agree with Chris.

I run 2 120 amps in my boat.

foggy
31-12-2012, 02:28 PM
Agree with Chris.

I run 2 120 amps in my boat.

Agree with the two posts above and especially Luc's post.

A 54lb watersnake if used flat out has a current draw of 48amps.
So if you want to run the motor all day flat out you will need 48amp X say 7 hrs = 336 Amp hrs.

Then consider that most batteries are rated to 80 percent capacity, so 336/.8 = 420Amps

If you intend to use it flat out all day you will need 420ah battery.

If you are using it on slower trolling speeds the current draw will be much less and you will get away with a smaller battery bank.

If you install 2 x 120ah battery's and use the motor on maximum, you will get approx 4hrs. On slower speeds,they may last all day.

Hope that long winded expanation helped.

Foggy

stevej
31-12-2012, 06:18 PM
if your using any 55pd electric flat out for a hour straight then its undersized for the job at hand and should go up to 80pd

31-12-2012, 08:19 PM
I have the same watersnake bow mount and I don't bother to go more than 2/3 throttle as the small increase in speed going full bore isn't worth the battery drain.

I do a lot of trolling and generally run at 1/2 throttle or less.
With my 2 batteries, I can easily do a 4 to 6 hour session.

Most hulls will have an optimum speed and trying to go much faster simply drains the batteries.