View Full Version : Signature 600f

mckanah gibson
13-12-2012, 09:17 PM
I'm looking at buying a second hand 600f signature, has anyone got any advice on what to look out for or own one that can tell me if they are worth buying or not! Probably looking at the 2005 model and latter!

Mckanah

14-12-2012, 09:32 AM
Very nice hull - not too many issues at all. Just make sure its not underpowered, and check for things around the transom that have been added on but not properly sealed like deck wash pump pickups etc.

The 600F/RF are both very comfortable rigs that will serve you well and command decent resale as do most Signatures (do I sound biased? :))

Get the engine checked out by a reputable mechanic and do a water test.

What engine is on the one you are looking at?

hooknpull
14-12-2012, 03:02 PM
Hi champ I got the 632 which is only a foot or 2 bigger.. Rides great in most conditions. On a westerly chop it can bang at times but if you take it easy and don't wanna drive around like a maniac in shit conditions you will be happy.. I was looking at a 602 brand new but got mine with 100 hours n 30k cheaper so I took it. If u can get a 602 I like the rear folding seat for fishing. Cheers

MikeyS
14-12-2012, 04:08 PM
I've got a 2005 575F, so pretty close to what you're after, and there's times when I wouldn't mind an extra 12 inches... As Argle said, make sure its not underpowered. Anything less than 150hp might be getting underpowered, 175 4 stroke would probably be sweet.

mckanah gibson
15-12-2012, 10:50 AM
im looking at two at the moment, one has a suzuki 150 with under 100 hrs and the other has a yamaha 150 with just over 100 hrs both 4 strokes. will probably wait till the new year and see if any more come up before buying but from all the research and reading about them and what you guys have said makes me definatly want to get one and not an over seas boat brand

hooknpull
15-12-2012, 03:56 PM
Don't get me wrong. If I had a v8 land cruiser already I would have this in my shed http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13102267&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=47&eapi=2 I also forgot to say you gotta play with your trims too mine can duck dive if not trimmed properly..

Luke G
15-12-2012, 04:54 PM
Don't get me wrong. If I had a v8 land cruiser already I would have this in my shed http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13102267&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=47&eapi=2 I also forgot to say you gotta play with your trims too mine can duck dive if not trimmed properly..

You'll need more then a criser for that ;)

hooknpull
15-12-2012, 05:02 PM
Cruiser would pull that. My little hilux pulls my 6.5 Haines..

Luke G
15-12-2012, 06:05 PM
Cruiser would pull that. My little hilux pulls my 6.5 Haines..

It would pull it, but not legally, maby with a single motor and an ali trailer it might just scrape under 4t, but ours had twin 175 verados and a steel trailer and we were 4.7t. Cruisers are rated to 3.5t, but id bet the ttd 200 would go alright still ;)

ozynorts
15-12-2012, 06:51 PM
im looking at two at the moment, one has a suzuki 150 with under 100 hrs and the other has a yamaha 150 with just over 100 hrs both 4 strokes. will probably wait till the new year and see if any more come up before buying but from all the research and reading about them and what you guys have said makes me definatly want to get one and not an over seas boat brand

The one with the Zuke 150 has been for sale for a while (at least 8 months that I know of) so maybe room to negotiate. The price has hardly moved either.

hooknpull
15-12-2012, 06:52 PM
They reckon the ute is going to come as a option with the twin turbo... how did your boat handle on the sea??? My lux is only 2.2t capacity. I haven't taken it over the wwighbridge...

17-12-2012, 10:55 AM
Do you really need the extra cabin space? If it were me I would be looking at the 600RF you get sooo much more usable cockpit space and still have a decent dry storage area at the front. Of course if you really need the cabin then the 600F would be the go.

mckanah gibson
17-12-2012, 08:49 PM
i have had a think about that argle, but would have to check them out as i would want to be able to sleep two people in the front comfortable for the big northern territory trips we do to the islands around king ash bay, but will by all means go check them out before buying a boat.

18-12-2012, 10:23 AM
The cabin would be good for overnighters for sure although you could always put camp style mats/airbeds on the floor of the cockpit with camp covers and screens which would allow better airflow on hot nights - those cabins get pretty cosy in the tropics! Tough choice but they are both great boats - enjoy

mckanah gibson
02-03-2013, 07:41 AM
Thanks for all the help guys, just put a deposit on a 600rf and I'm off to Melbourne next weekend for a water test n hoping to bring her home if the water test is like the other ones I've done! I looked at many boats but this one seemed to have been looked after the best!

johncar
02-03-2013, 08:30 AM
Good luck with, hope the weather is nicer down there.

02-03-2013, 01:21 PM
Nice work! Post a few pics if you can, whats powering the 600RF?

mckanah gibson
02-03-2013, 06:51 PM
It has a 2004 Yamaha 150 done 188 hrs! Will post some pictures when I get her Back home!

mckanah gibson
03-03-2013, 07:20 AM
here are a few that where taken from the boat dealer down south, looking forward to the road trip next weekend to pick her up!

03-03-2013, 07:24 AM
Links not working mate.

mckanah gibson
03-03-2013, 09:04 AM
Don't know what I did wrong, never put photos up before!

03-03-2013, 09:13 AM
Here you go http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?103565-Attaching-photos-files-to-posts

mckanah gibson
03-03-2013, 09:42 AM
thanks alot for your help, would never have figured it out by myself!89442894418944089439

04-03-2013, 01:20 PM
That's a sweet looking 600RF mate congratulations, bet you can't wait to get it wet and start fishing!

MikeyS
04-03-2013, 04:09 PM
Beauuutiful. Nice choice.

bigjimg
04-03-2013, 07:04 PM
Very nice.You now have the longest week of the year to get through.
If I can make a suggestion, be sure to add a turnbuckle and chain to the front winch eye bolt for the long trip home.You don't want the nose bouncing around in the snubbing block and damaging her before you get to use it.Enjoy. Jim.