View Full Version : Poll. Will you buy an Ausfish Flag?

gruntahunta
27-11-2012, 08:12 AM
This is to see if it is viable for Steve to go ahead with the Flags. Thought a poll would be an easy way to see how many, at least a minimum number.

I will put 1 or two or zero. So easy to add up. Just double the two votes and add the one vote number.

Muddy Toes
27-11-2012, 09:57 AM
Not for the alleged $75.00 I wont be.

The Woo
27-11-2012, 10:50 AM
$75 - !!! Sorry if I've missed it, but what are the proposed dimensions?

Captain Seaweed
27-11-2012, 10:52 AM
is this like leading the water to the horse?!

lucee81
27-11-2012, 02:50 PM
$75. That's a fishing trip, I think not. However a more reasonable price and I would

27-11-2012, 03:01 PM
I voted none.
I like to be as unassuming as possible where-ever I go.
Why?? I don't like people interrupting my quite time. Hell....I'm not real fond of people full-stop.

Camhawk88
27-11-2012, 03:49 PM
None.
No flag pole.

$75 each really? Ouch!

Boat Hog
27-11-2012, 04:40 PM
Maybe this poll would be better if we had an idea on the end product? e.g. size, material used, quality of the product, expected cost and ....... the colour/colours?

rosco1974
27-11-2012, 04:42 PM
none for me at $75 a pop...

Funchy
27-11-2012, 06:12 PM
I would love one but at $75 a pop I cant justify it.

kind_cir
27-11-2012, 06:20 PM
I'd buy 7 if I could,.. One for each day of the week.

Owen
27-11-2012, 07:38 PM
None for me. I hate flags after motoring quite a distance to help someone that appeared to have a V sheet out, only to find it was some stupid flag.
So if they are produced don't make them red!

deckie
28-11-2012, 06:20 AM
75 bux hey ?? If i saw one at a chandlery for that price i'd first stroke it, admire the beautiful stitching or maybe the glorious rich deep colour, then look at it from all angles...then say "you are f'king kidding me right ?" and hurl it back on the shelf amongst the other 50 that noone has bought.

I could possibly justify it if it could double up as something even more useful than just a flag...like maybe as a specialist blindfold for a cormorant or gannet that you might one day need to untangle from your livebait.

gruntahunta
28-11-2012, 07:53 AM
Seems to a common theme happening here. More than 50 percent not wanting a flag if the price is $75.

For those that have said no because of a possible $75 price tag, what is the max price you would pay bearing in mind quality would prob diminish as well?

I believe this is why we don't have a flag as Steve has stated that he has has to have definite and sufficient numbers to work with. I thought $75 was reasonable. It has to be made properly so they last not like a cheap football flag which would tear the first time you flew it from ur aerial.

Let's see how many yes's we get in a few weeks.

The Woo
28-11-2012, 07:57 AM
I asked the size before.....
Is the proposale a full size flag pole type flag, or a pennant.
A pennant makes sense, a flag, doesn't.
And neither makes sense at $75, IMO.

barra71
28-11-2012, 09:50 AM
have a look in there woo

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?65532-Ausfish-Flags

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?187383-Choose-Colour-of-Ausfish-Flag...Poll

28-11-2012, 11:36 AM
I think the poll numbers may be distorted. I voted and after voting read the posts. Meaning I only found out about the cost after I voted. I wonder how mant did the same and would have voted differently.

LittleSkipper
28-11-2012, 07:41 PM
To be honest I think $75 for a flag...thats $75 dollars for a FLAG is a little rich I think. What type of material is the FLAG going to made out of? Why should cost compromise quality?

Oh that's right! We live in Australia......where we pay 5 times the price because we live in Australia.....stupid me!

28-11-2012, 09:01 PM
Any one remember Hobbytex?

Fatenhappy
28-11-2012, 09:30 PM
Grunta ... To afford $75 a pop you'd have to be either an accountant or the CEO of Qantas ...

Mate that's 2 slabs or even perhaps a bottle of the pink bear with fuel for a days fishing in the bay ... I know which I would prefer ....

Personally like others, not a real flag person ... Ausfish stickers ... Yea perhaps but flags, no not really ...

Fatenhappy
28-11-2012, 09:32 PM
Hey Finga "hobbytex" .... hmmm what about macramé ? ;D

29-11-2012, 05:18 AM
Hey Finga "hobbytex" .... hmmm what about macramé ? ;D
You could make a flag with some Hobbytex.

Zippidy
29-11-2012, 05:01 PM
I would, only so that other boaties will see that I'm a member here and be more inclined to help one day when I'm broken down, which one day I will be.

Boat Hog
29-11-2012, 05:06 PM
I would, only so that other boaties will see that I'm a member here and be more inclined to help one day when I'm broken down, which one day I will be.

WTF! What's this be inclined to help crapola! Skippers have a duty to help other vessels in distress unless such help puts their vessel and crew/passengers at risk. Well, at least that's what I've always believed and how I feel about it too!!

shy guys
29-11-2012, 07:35 PM
I think 75 is reasonable if they last more than a year yer sure you could get a cheap Chinese one made for like 3 dollars which would last maybe up to a year and mr ausfish would have to buy like a 1000 to get them at that price would he sell a thousand when your looking at only buying 50 to a 100 sure the price Is going to be higher put me down for 2 maybe even 3 might fly one on my rod while trolling its a measly 75 considering how much we spend on our boats what is 75 dollars I spend more on a counter meal

gruntahunta
01-12-2012, 07:11 AM
I would now say Steve will prob drop the idea due to lack of interest. At least we gave it a try but I would not think it worthwhile from the numbers and the comments posted.

Thanks for participating and airing your thoughts. Perhaps there is a cheaper way, beside the stickers, to visually show we are members of Ausfish.

Anyone got another solution or idea?

02-12-2012, 06:00 AM
I would now say Steve will prob drop the idea due to lack of interest. At least we gave it a try but I would not think it worthwhile from the numbers and the comments posted.

Thanks for participating and airing your thoughts. Perhaps there is a cheaper way, beside the stickers, to visually show we are members of Ausfish.

Anyone got another solution or idea?

tattoo on your forehead perhaps.

02-12-2012, 06:31 AM
At $75 I would expect it not to be screen printed but each colour sewn into place.....
Even if the flags were $3 chinese flags that would need replacing every year, at least you would be putting up new pride of Ausfish yearly rather than once.
To equate that to reality, it will be 25 years of a new $3 flag to match one of these $75 flags, how long do you expect your $75 flag to last?
Time to get realistic I think.

shy guys
02-12-2012, 07:13 AM
At $75 I would expect it not to be screen printed but each colour sewn into place.....
Even if the flags were $3 chinese flags that would need replacing every year, at least you would be putting up new pride of Ausfish yearly rather than once.
To equate that to reality, it will be 25 years of a new $3 flag to match one of these $75 flags, how long do you expect your $75 flag to last?
Time to get realistic I think.
Point taken I understand what your saying but its only $75 being realistic I'd replace it yearly at $150 just don't know why it's such a big deal at $75 either you want one or not when I'm looking at buying something I don't go for the cheapest thing on the shelf I go for the one that I like no matter on the price difference

02-12-2012, 07:20 AM
In my opinion the quality of the flag is not important. Most of us are just looking for a way of identifying other Ausfishers at a distance while out on the water. A bit of material, a quick run over with the sowing machine and a basic flag is made. A couple of screens and a jar of screenprint paint and away we go. This would just be an interim measure until Steve comes up with a merchandisable product.
Currently we are running $2 aussie flags and they do help out a lot while out on the water

Mrs Ronnie H
02-12-2012, 07:39 AM

I think it is a great idea and being able to identify other Ausfish members easily would be great as well but it is the cost factor that I say no to. $75 bucks is way beyond what most people think would be reasonable.

Mrs H

gruntahunta
02-12-2012, 07:49 AM
Mrs H... Seems about 50per cent agree with you. The $75 was a figure mentioned by Steve in another thread on this subject so I thought that could be a starting point to see what the general opinion is.

You hace said you like the idea of a flag, most do, so at what price is it that you would say yes I will buy one?

deckie
02-12-2012, 08:26 AM
Lets face it...flags on boats can be a bit of a gin palace wank.
I dont mind paying less for less quality, because if i was flying a bit of a moth eaten looking snot rag then it would suit my fisho image more.
Image is important to me...i pay extra for jeans with rips and stains just so they dont look new...can i do the same with a flag ?

So here's a thought.... can i buy 2-3 cheapo's with a "pre-used look" for the $75 ?? Would probably last longer than 1 that was well made anyway.

Mrs Ronnie H
02-12-2012, 10:39 AM
Mrs H... Seems about 50per cent agree with you. The $75 was a figure mentioned by Steve in another thread on this subject so I thought that could be a starting point to see what the general opinion is.

You hace said you like the idea of a flag, most do, so at what price is it that you would say yes I will buy one?

These days we are all conscious of what we spend and seems the majority are willing to go with a lesser quality if the price is right. I think a fair starting price would be 20 bucks or less even if the quality wasn't as good. JMO.

I do remember seeing the dimensions somewhere and thought that 75 bucks was abit outrageous for the size so keeping that in mind the above is what I would be looking at.
Interesting to see how many would think the same if the price was around 20 bucks or so.

Mrs H

sportfish58
11-12-2012, 05:32 AM
The Ausfish flag IDEA has been going on since 2005 and will probably keep on going on for a lot longer.
Why not come up with another Idea that does not have to include the moderators of this site to decide.

Maybe tie a LARGE piece of RIBBON to your antenna if you want boaters to know you are a Ausfish member.

rosco1974
16-12-2012, 04:52 PM
pirate flags at f.c.b today $9.95...another option

trymyluck
18-12-2012, 07:50 PM
pirate flags at f.c.b today $9.95...another option

Yep, run a Australian flag on top with a pirate flag underneath it, cost bugger all and we can put this to bed.......

Muddy Toes
18-12-2012, 08:37 PM
Or.......the men can runs NSW state of origin flags and the ladies can fly a dainty maroon number.....

19-12-2012, 02:24 PM
Has anyone thought on where you'd be able to bung these flags?
Most aerials will not handle a flag I would imagine.
I mean to say is if the flag is big enough to be seen at more then 10m away it's going to play havoc on an aerial and/or it's base if you're going at any speed.

19-12-2012, 06:49 PM
I mean to say is if the flag is big enough to be seen at more then 10m away it's going to play havoc on an aerial and/or it's base if you're going at any speed.

Most of have been running Aussie flags off our aerials for some time now. Our radios don't work most of the time now but at least we know whos who in the zoo

wayno60
20-12-2012, 12:49 PM
Im getting a price from the company that supplies work with their flags, Ill get back to you shortly....

LittleSkipper
20-12-2012, 01:03 PM

The flag on an aerial idea is as Finga has said "Would play havoc with your aerial & base, I surely won't be hanging anything off of my aerials.

I remember hanging an Aussie flag from my car window with one of those plastic clips that slide over the top of the window before you wound the window up and travelling at 100km/h, by the time we arrived at our destination the flag was "SHAGGED"

WalrusLike
20-12-2012, 02:25 PM
My missus got out yesterday and used the ariel as a hand rail. She did it unconsciously so when I chipped her for it she denied it and thought I was loosing my marbles.

Shoulda known to keep my trap shut...... :)

wayno60
20-12-2012, 03:38 PM
Ok are ya sitting down.... do you think we can move 100 of these??87290

And no not at $75.00 each... how about 1/4 of that???

From time of order placement it will take 21/28 days and we can have either eyelets or loops, top and bottom.

They will be $1 cheaper per flag if steve can supply the art work. If he doesnt they will be $18.75 ea.

Because of the talk about being to big they will be 350mm high by 500mm long. We have to the 1st week of new year to get some numbers together.

get to it.

madmackrel
20-12-2012, 05:51 PM
Im in but not that colour.

tropicrows
20-12-2012, 06:05 PM
I'm boatless now, but ill still have one but not yellow.

Boat Hog
20-12-2012, 06:08 PM
Im in but not that colour.

I'm boatless now, but ill still have one but not yellow.

I'll have one ... just not the same colour as Perry or Bruce - I want to feel special. :P;D

TREVELLY
20-12-2012, 06:22 PM
I will take one - not yellow

Dark blue or black fish on white would be good

wayno60
20-12-2012, 06:36 PM
Guys I can appreciate everyone wanting their own colour to suit their boat or footy team BUT we have to come together and all agree on one colour to get the deal.....

gruntahunta
20-12-2012, 07:55 PM
2 for me please......Any Colour will be fine

shy guys
20-12-2012, 08:44 PM
2 for me and 1 for humdinger

Humdinger
20-12-2012, 08:59 PM
2 for me and 1 for humdinger

is that a 2 stroke thing harry

20-12-2012, 09:39 PM
Ok are ya sitting down.... do you think we can move 100 of these??87290

And no not at $75.00 each... how about 1/4 of that???

From time of order placement it will take 21/28 days and we can have either eyelets or loops, top and bottom.

They will be $1 cheaper per flag if steve can supply the art work. If he doesnt they will be $18.75 ea.

Because of the talk about being to big they will be 350mm high by 500mm long. We have to the 1st week of new year to get some numbers together.

get to it.

Don't forget that this must go through Steve. He owns the image. It can't be used without his OK

Stewey
20-12-2012, 10:05 PM
2 please. Any colour:-)

Stewey

LittleSkipper
20-12-2012, 10:24 PM
That price appears to be alot more reasonable.

wayno60
20-12-2012, 11:53 PM
horse, yes i know that, i was just trying to get everything in place so it can all be laid on the table in front of him.

gruntahunta
21-12-2012, 07:07 AM
Wayne. Please let me suggest you get a sample blue & yellow made and get it to Steve otherwise this will go on forever. The colour really is unimportant and the colours you have chosen are as good as any and not flown by other clubs which do fly black& white pirate flags or green & gold Aussie flags. Make the decision and go with it, the cost is good and if we tear them they are cheap enough to replace.

21-12-2012, 07:31 AM
I would suggest someone make a flag of similar dimensions up on the old Singer and shove it on an aerial and skoot across The Bay and see what happens.

Mrs Ronnie H
21-12-2012, 11:42 AM
Well glad the price has come down which now makes it seem more affordable for a piece of cloth with a fishie pic on it.

Now all you have to do is decide on the colour and go with it-- no ifs and buts.

Finga-- I could do it-- use an official Ausfish sticker i have and whip up a flag shape-- christmas day for a test run.

Mrs H

Tailortaker
21-12-2012, 02:50 PM
I'll take a couple at that price. Any colour is fine by me.

barra71
21-12-2012, 08:46 PM
I will take 2 at that price. that's if Steve gives it the go ahead.. just remember Steve would have to be paid for his logo on the flag so it could go up a few $ per flag..

fishfeeder
21-12-2012, 09:17 PM
I will have a flag
But NOT YELLOW !!

wayno60
22-12-2012, 12:41 AM
87365ok what about these in ausfish colours

wayno60
22-12-2012, 12:53 AM
barra , why???

TREVELLY
22-12-2012, 06:43 AM
I would take two of the second one

lucee81
22-12-2012, 07:52 AM
i will take one ans any colour will be fine im easy like that....

Owen
22-12-2012, 09:11 AM
barra , why???

It's called copyright.
Even your creation of those images is a technical breach.
Anyone who thinks they can just make flags or anything else with that image (without proper approval by AF) is in for an expensive shock.

wayno60
22-12-2012, 11:26 AM
owen,
like i said before im just trying to get it all together so a proposal can be put forward to steve.

ive been told before he's a very "busy" man so im thinking the more i do, the less he has to do/worry about.

and i know all about copyright , i wouldnt go and get these done with out steves approval. In writing.

and seeing you asked, the "why" was for why should/would steve want to get paid to use his logo for flag for his own forum?

Owen
22-12-2012, 11:46 AM
and seeing you asked, the "why" was for why should/would steve want to get paid to use his logo for flag for his own forum?

Because the forum is a business perhaps?
The logo is his IP and anything it goes on should return him a profit.
There should be no open discussion of sales price by anyone other than Steve or his authorised agent(s).
He alone should decide what he sells, when he sells it and at what price.

I know your motives are coming from the right place and I'm sure everyone supports your efforts, but I don't think you've gone about it quite the right way.

gruntahunta
23-12-2012, 05:58 AM
Because the forum is a business perhaps?
The logo is his IP and anything it goes on should return him a profit.
There should be no open discussion of sales price by anyone other than Steve or his authorised agent(s).
He alone should decide what he sells, when he sells it and at what price.

I know your motives are coming from the right place and I'm sure everyone supports your efforts, but I don't think you've gone about it quite the right way.

Owen....If you had followed or bothered to read the entire thread you would have know that Steve has actually asked for samples to be made and sent to him. All Wayne is doing getting the feel of the members to see if it is worth his efforts before sending to Steve with costs of producing. I am sure Steve will then price them accordingly, no copyright breach there.

So instead of looking for negatives lets just say to Wayne(and Steve ) we will buy a flag ( if you want one) and move on. This shouldn't be so difficult.

gruntahunta
23-12-2012, 06:11 AM
So far we have 44 flags wanted from members who have seen this thread.

barra71
23-12-2012, 11:25 PM
well at the end of it all the price and if it will happen is not up to us at all it is up to Steve.
No price should be given here till it has got the all ok from Steve.. that's my view of it..

I am all for a flag and it would be good to get it all done and sorted...

TREVELLY
24-12-2012, 02:56 AM
Owen thanks for looking after Steve's interests.
Wayne thanks for taking the effort to get something happening - even near the price you have suggested is great compared to where it was previously.
Guys please keep arguing we enjoy stuff like that on this forum :D
Merry Christmas to one and all :)
And an Ausfish flag New Year too :P

Just out of curiosity Wayne can and Ausfish brag mat 2m long be made too? Of course with Steve's blessing if it is possible ;)

24-12-2012, 06:22 AM
I will be up for a couple if they can be produced at a reasonable cost. I'm not sure how visible the blue will be against a blue sky and light colours just disapear against cloud. I think red with a white image would stand out the best but I'm happy to grab what comes

TREVELLY
26-12-2012, 10:40 AM
If you want highly visible even red is not so visible - you would need the flouro orange or yellow ;) but risk looking like a rescue flag ;D

The dark blue with white fish is visible and is a commonly used flag for catching marlin.

wayno60
27-12-2012, 12:24 AM
87558I just dont know how this will stand out on the water..

wayno60
01-01-2013, 03:47 PM
Seems we more communication from steve when he's out of the country on holidays then when he's at home...

wayno60
17-01-2013, 06:39 AM
well i give up.... 100 odd people wanting to hear from the owner of this site about a lazy flag for our boats and all the owner can think of is giving out cudo's for some crash helmet company that has nothing to do with Fishing/Boating .

thats ok ill just become one of the plebs...

gruntahunta
25-01-2013, 06:59 AM
Seems like this is dead in the water...Bit disappointed with Steve also, not for not going ahead with the flag I can understand the money reasons, but the terrible communication shown on this topic. I, like Wayne also give up and will revert to the Aussie flag.

TREVELLY
25-01-2013, 04:25 PM
The idea is good though - perhaps it will reinvent itself again one day 8-))

I still reckon a 2m brag mat would be a great idea too ;D

Gon Fishun
25-01-2013, 04:51 PM
Whats stopping one from buying Ausfish stickers and make your own flag.

TREVELLY
25-01-2013, 05:10 PM
Whats stopping one from buying Ausfish stickers and make your own flag.

The stickers don't stick to vinyl - I tried to get some to put onto the back of my boat seats - they won't adhere.

If you make a painted aluminium flag . . . .

You could use the sticker as a template - "stick it" to a blank vinyl flag then spray completely with a paint for vinyl then peel off the Ausfish Sticker and the peeled area will be the colour the flag was originally and the rest is the new vinyl painted colour. If that makes sense - but who will bother?

25-01-2013, 05:53 PM
well i give up.... 100 odd people wanting to hear from the owner of this site about a lazy flag for our boats
How did you get 100 people?
I count 38 wanting any and 48 people not wanting any so far.
So that means only 86 people have any opinion at all on this matter.

25-01-2013, 07:47 PM
Has anyone sent Steve a PM recently. Do it nicely and give a couple of suggestions