View Full Version : 4.5m Centre Console

TimBOO
20-11-2012, 10:22 AM
Hey all, i after a 4.5m centre console for moreton bay and offshore from the goldy. Just wondering what everyones thoughts are/what you own, how they handle, stability etc etc...

20-11-2012, 10:40 AM
you dont say if you are going glass or alloy, a 4.5 ally Cc (like say a savage/Quintrex/Stacer) would be OK, still a 4.5m tinny though, so dont expect a magic carpet ride, but they are cheap enough, and easy to come by, the old haines 4.55?? would be the pick of them, if you can find one.

TimBOO
20-11-2012, 07:11 PM
Yeah definitelt tinnie... Also want something i cant put in and out by myself and shit like that...

Lancair
20-11-2012, 07:19 PM
Also want something i cant put in and out by myself and shit like that...

You can put a 6.5m boat in and out solo, if you learn how. Size has nothing to do with it really. :D
Having said that, a 4.5m or similar tinny is easy to man handle around, to winch on to the trailer and does make cheaper (boat cost) solo fishing possible.

Si
20-11-2012, 07:43 PM
Hey all, i after a 4.5m centre console for moreton bay and offshore from the goldy. Just wondering what everyones thoughts are/what you own, how they handle, stability etc etc...

what's your budget? You looking for something new or second hand?

TimBOO
21-11-2012, 05:54 AM
Would probably wanna go brand new. Around the 15k mark...

Axl
21-11-2012, 06:13 AM
You mean something like this http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=11510575&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=8&eapi=2

This is an SA dealer but if you find a Brooker dealer in QLD (Cunnighams at Clontarf used to be not sure about there new yard) im sure they would be able to do something similar (or better).

mull dog
21-11-2012, 06:29 AM
I'd go poly

BGG
21-11-2012, 06:59 AM
Poly for me too. No comparison.

21-11-2012, 07:05 AM
15 grand would see you in any of the Telwater CC's in that size (or pretty close anyway) plenty has been written about their build and so on, but for the price, I reckon they are pretty hard to beat.

TimBOO
21-11-2012, 07:41 AM
What are those brookers like? Are polys good offshore?

21-11-2012, 08:11 AM
won't make a lot of difference what they are made out of, 4.5M is still a 4.5M boat, make them an offer on this one, it even has a 4 stroke!
http://five-islands-marine.com.au/products-page/5islands-marine-new-boats/savage-455-safari-centre-console-demo/

21-11-2012, 08:12 AM
By the way, I don't stand to make a "spotters fee" or anything else, I just saw the Savage when I was looking for something else!

Fed
21-11-2012, 08:41 AM
I'd want a lot more bang for my buck, $15-$20K for a 4.5M tinny is crazy stuff IMO.

TimBOO
21-11-2012, 06:44 PM
Does seem a bit pricy... Anyone take a 4.5m centre console offshore at all????

BLOOEY
21-11-2012, 07:08 PM
G'day TimBOO. I Take mine offshore, 4.5 Bluefin Warrior C/C. In fact i just repowered it after 11 years of having a 40hp 2stroke went to a 60hp 4 stroke. Offshore in any sort of wind is always wet,......very wet sometimes. Bit of a tradeoff for being able to leccy around the rivers, creeks and dams too though, Great allround boats! Ben

Si
21-11-2012, 07:12 PM
I'd want a lot more bang for my buck, $15-$20K for a 4.5M tinny is crazy stuff IMO.

Totally agree it's pricey but unfortunetly it's not hard to get into that price range on a new good tinny of that size with a half decent (4 stroke) motor. I've spent the last six months looking and weighing up options. Everything is so expensive these days its crazy.

Giffo65
22-11-2012, 09:10 AM
TimBOO

I have a 4.5m Polycraft CC and had it for 11 years now.They ride better than a similar size pressed tinnie and are stable.I cross costal bars,mainly Tallebudgera and had it out off Bundy about 35ks out,they handle well in crappy conditions for a small boat.I will be back down the Goldy with it just before Christmas if you want to go out in it.

frankgrimes
22-11-2012, 10:00 AM
Does seem a bit pricy... Anyone take a 4.5m centre console offshore at all????

Yep - I take my 4.5 Poly CC offshore Goldie all the time.

Fed
22-11-2012, 10:24 AM
I saw a 90s model 5.5M Seafarer Viking (new shape) old tech motor for $9,000 the other day, admittedly it was on evilbay but I'd be on it like hair on a gorilla if I was looking for a bay/offshore boat.

TimBOO
22-11-2012, 10:43 AM
Giffo65. Yeah that'd be awesome. Heard a.bit about them with the sides not being to high and that sort of shit but id love to even just have a squizz at one... Can you fit a leccy on the front?

Giffo65
22-11-2012, 01:06 PM
Yes you can,I have an 80lb Watersanke on the front,although a 55lb may of been adequate.I will pm you my number,should be Mackeral season soon,I fished with livies at Palmy on Saturday morning before the storm hit and got 1 nice Tailor,no Mackeral though.Jump onto Polyboatowners website and have a look there.

goat boy
22-11-2012, 11:21 PM
Would probably wanna go brand new. Around the 15k mark...
everyone keeps saying poly, but I dont reckon u will get a 4.5 poly brand new for 15k?..not even close (not even the open one). 2nd hand at that price...

Giffo65
27-11-2012, 08:04 PM
TimBoo

Empty your inbox,can't PM you.

Giffo65
27-11-2012, 08:11 PM
Goatboy is right,you will not get a new one for that,but 15 K will get a good used rig.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13515752&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=24&eapi=2

This one if the link works has a 60 Suzi 4 banger for 15 K

Spiderpig
28-11-2012, 09:25 PM
Go the poly, you wont regret it. You could prolly pick a new one up with a 2 stroke for $15 or have a look for a second hand one. I picked up my poly 4.5cc for $17k 2 years ago, on the water with a 60hp merc bigfoot efi fourstroke(new).

You wont want a tinny after going for a run in one of these.

TimBOO
29-11-2012, 07:37 AM
Inbox cleaned out. Didnt know it only held 3 messages or so... Yeah keen to have a look at a polycraft...

TimBOO
29-11-2012, 07:39 AM
What are they like with water coming in at andaround the transom while offshore?

fat-buoy
29-11-2012, 10:05 AM
I have had a few small boats in my time and went from a 3.9 tinnie to a 5.3 Coxcraft and then back to a 4.5m CC tinnie for a few years before deciding that off shore I wanted something a bit bigger and went back to a 5.2 Sig.

For mine there is no substitute for size... I used to feel very small sometimes in the 4.5 CC when I was over 10 km offshore and the seas were a bit bumpy.. If you can go for a bigger boat as it will give you a better ride, probably be more stable and I would hazard a guess to say a little safer at sea. There is very little difference to loading and towing a 4.5m tinnie to a 5m jobbie...

The CC was fun for fishing as you could move around it and stuff but I am getting old and soft and have the missus on board some times so the cuddy cabin was the way to go for me... so much drier and the canopy keeps the sun to a minimum.

I started with a figure around what you are looking at but at the end of the day upped the ante and paid $25k for a 2008 Sig 520 cuddy cabin with a Suzuki 90 4 stroker with 100hrs on it... I know this isn't the set up you are looking at but it does give you an idea of what sort of options are available for a few extra dollars...

Good luck on getting your ideal set up on the water soon :)

Coxy23
29-11-2012, 12:19 PM
I have just purchased a bigger boat and have my 4.5m quintrex 440 dory for sale that might interest you, the boat is a 2009 model and has a 2012 40hp etec which has been programmed up to a 50hp, I purchased the motor early this year and have done around 50 hours on it, it is very good on gas and has plenty of get up and go, you will get around 120km from the 45L tank and it uses hardly any oil, it comes on a 2009 telwater trailer. The boat has after market gunnel's with 10 built in rod holders, also it has a set of out riggers, radio, live bait tank, all lights and 2 x lowrance 5" HDS units one being a GPS/Sounder combo the other just a sounder with a 600watt tranny.
Its a great little boat I am located on the Gold Coast if you wanted to check it out, looking for $13K complete.

TimBOO
29-11-2012, 01:45 PM
Thanks coxy23 but ill have to pass. The reason i only wanted to go 4.5m is i have a 3.7m fibreglass boat with leccy and decks and what not but ya really have to pick ya days to get out to some of the islands in the bay. I also went halves with the old boy in a 1700 mustang half cabin years ago which we take offshore so i was just weighing up my options. I dont know, you all know what its like... TOO many decisions...

Camhawk88
29-11-2012, 03:23 PM
Begs the question mate why spend 15k on a new boat that probably wont do either job (creek or offshore) as well as the 2 other rigs you have?

Spiderpig
29-11-2012, 08:06 PM
What are they like with water coming in at andaround the transom while offshore?

It doesnt. I am at max transom weight and even with two blokes fishing it doesnt come in.