View Full Version : " Rascal "...the new bay scooter

deckie
17-11-2012, 01:09 AM
Hiya, finally got around to putting this up (assuming it works).
Some of you already know this project and took a bit longer than expected due to other commitments, but pretty much finished now....6hrs clocked up breaking the new donk in. Only some electronics like stereo/vhf/aerials to go, as well as downriggers, assorted fishing stuff and maybe some decals/name left to do.
This is a one owner since new Vickers 4.8m Cuddy that was already in very good nick to begin with...perfect for a complete refit.
Going forward i needed a lightweight easy to manage f/glass rig i could quickly take out for a fish or just a hoon around by myself or one other. Plan was less offshore work on it this time around and more night fishing, downrigging/swimming baits and general lure flicking...mainly Broken Bay/Hawkesbury/Long Reef/Middle Harbour/Sydney Harbour.

I've shortened it all which skips a lot of work, but hopefully gives an idea whats involved in a complete ground up restoration.

Any questions please ask...love talking about this stuff.
Hope its not too boring and the vid works, and i'll get Part 2 and 3 done and post asap.
Steve.

Part 1
http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/1131/3fhhfqmavncmmwuvlctfqb.mp4
Part 2
http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/5007/lylhudycvpsqekaoscmdfc.mp4
Part 3
http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/2448/rwecjmjjyftnkmckozrmma.mp4

shy guys
17-11-2012, 01:24 AM
Mate great work waiting for part 2

propdinger
17-11-2012, 05:47 AM
video wont work here EMI didn't like your song choice it seems

Captain Seaweed
17-11-2012, 06:13 AM
I found the same issue, cant view due to copyright crapola it seems

deckie
17-11-2012, 06:49 AM
AAhhhh cock..i hate this geeky stuff. I'll try it some other way. Sorry.

Edit:...can someone tell me if this works

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/1131/3fhhfqmavncmmwuvlctfqb.mp4

Lancair
17-11-2012, 07:17 AM
Love your work, awesome job and attention to detail. Well done.

Shawn 66
17-11-2012, 08:03 AM
Thanks for that . That project is something to be proud of .
Again thanks for the show , and am looking forward to part 2.
Shawn

Chas & Clarry
17-11-2012, 08:55 AM
That's fantastic! Like everyone else, we are looking forward to part 2 now.

Tim and Trace

johncar
17-11-2012, 11:19 AM
Looks like great work throughout you can be proud of. Nice wiring job too..Thanks for sharing it..

ozynorts
17-11-2012, 04:09 PM
Nice work. Looks great.

Fishbait
17-11-2012, 08:35 PM
Good video. Your new project is very professional and looks like brand new. Congrats. Look forward to part 2 of your video.

thelump
18-11-2012, 06:04 AM
Can you come and polish my boat so it looks that shiny. Good work mate.

deckie
18-11-2012, 08:17 AM
Thanx fella's. I'm struggling with this video making stuff but think i've now ironed out the bugs. It works on this machine but could be crap on everyone else's for all i know.
I think the files were too big so will need to change part 2 (v long) to part 2 and 3.
Making porn obviously aint my thing.
Part 2 maybe later today if i can around to finishing it.

WalrusLike
18-11-2012, 09:17 AM
My boat has volunteered to be a starlet in your next porn video.

"Restoring and improving a one year old boat from its owners misadventures...."

She is willing to let you have your way with her... :)

Captain Seaweed
18-11-2012, 12:14 PM
Wow!!! you have really put some quality work in there, its looking great well done mate! I cant wait to see this boat finished.
Thanks for reposting the video it was worth watching
Marty

deckie
18-11-2012, 02:33 PM
Part 2 up now also. I've had to go with 3 parts not 2.

Couldn't find any bada bing type 70's porn music to go with it.

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/5007/lylhudycvpsqekaoscmdfc.mp4

deckie
18-11-2012, 02:49 PM
My boat has volunteered to be a starlet in your next porn video.

"Restoring and improving a one year old boat from its owners misadventures...."

She is willing to let you have your way with her... :)
She sounds just lovely :D...she got big rocket launchers ?
Nahhh i reckon i might go fishing for awhile...a bit of luvvin every 25 yrs or so is enough. Wont be long before this one looks like crap again ;D
The temporary ban on pillies and burley finishes at the end of this month... then its back to the grunge look.

ozynorts
18-11-2012, 03:50 PM
Mate that is a stunning boat. I would love to do a project one day and if I get any where near that level of finish I would be stoked.
Awesome job mate.
:)

NTMID8
18-11-2012, 05:54 PM
Deckie, it looks STUNNING!!!! From those first pics you sent me when i was asking about fuel tanks the workmanship is second to none! It has got me thinking about "tidying" my rig up, and that bait board?! Geez what an idea! I love it! Im gonna have to try and make one, i have been pondering for ages how to thaw my cockles without making such a massive mess. Did you build the board out of ply then fibreglass and gel coat it?

deckie
18-11-2012, 07:18 PM
Deckie, it looks STUNNING!!!! From those first pics you sent me when i was asking about fuel tanks the workmanship is second to none! It has got me thinking about "tidying" my rig up, and that bait board?! Geez what an idea! I love it! Im gonna have to try and make one, i have been pondering for ages how to thaw my cockles without making such a massive mess. Did you build the board out of ply then fibreglass and gel coat it?
Cheers matey. Its kind of a bitza that baitboard. I was counting kilograms on the transom by that stage and wanted a new board that went right back over the donk, but not heavy. Had some leftover offcut of thickish klegecell which formed the structure, and the well part of it is simply thin ply treated with maybe 4-5 coats of everdure which is just a thin epoxy resin...whole lot sanded rough then glassed, then flowcoated. I found the actual HDPE cutting board top sitting by itself in a shop years ago and grabbed it coz it was a good size. The cutting surface/lid itself is a bit of "king board" or "king starboard" which is pretty easy to get. Total weight including 316 poles is a fanny hair over 6kg.
The s/s uprights are long (high) in that photo coz i didnt know heights for the motor so left them long to cut later...as it turned out i still had to modify them for trailering due to motor tilt didnt quite make it right up without touching the baitboard.
There's a thousand ways of building them to get exactly what u want, all sorts of fittings available to cure any issue, just beware not to let them get too heavy and allow for weight of f/glass and f/coat if u go that path. You can use ply for the lot no probs if glassed.
Hows that Haines going ? i remember that rig u bght coz it was in terrific nick.

captain rednut
18-11-2012, 07:29 PM
That is quality work your doing on your boat. well done, i like it and am looking forward to the next part.
cheers jim

NTMID8
18-11-2012, 09:20 PM
Hows that Haines going ? i remember that rig u bght coz it was in terrific nick.

Boat is great, considered selling it a little while ago (for its bigger brother either 542f or 575f) but in the end the 470f still does exactly what i needed. I have since fitted a mick winch (need to tidy the front up some more) and looking at fitting some new seats. After seeing this thread it has got me thinking about changing my bait board and customising the rear seats into something more useable. Have you got any more photos of your bait board and storage areas? Sorry to "steal" your ideas but MAN your rig is super neat!

On a second note how did you go about polishing your hull?

deckie
18-11-2012, 10:43 PM
Have you got any more photos of your bait board and storage areas?
On a second note how did you go about polishing your hull?
Yeah have more pics but which bits so i know what to dig out ?..u mean side pkts out the back, cabin or anything ?

After taking it off the trailer i acid washed the entire thing to get rid of some chalkiness and stains. You put it on in sections for maybe 15-20 mins (no longer) then hose off straight away. Dont do it whilst on trailer coz gal steel hates it. Then went over it in 3M fibreglass restorer which is a fairly heavy cut, so cant go too hard on older gelcoat, then buffed some areas just to see how it would come up.
Just after that was when it went to the fibreglasser for the new transom and he did an amazing job with colour matching the gelcoat...told me his son gave it "a quick polish" all over to get some shine to match his work. I should've asked what he used but didnt sorry.
It already could use a wax...nothing we can do will ever come close to a pro job. Like what "blackened" in here can do.
Sorry not much help but yell out re what type of pics and i;ll see what i can dig up.

NTMID8
18-11-2012, 10:53 PM
Ill PM you so as not to further hijack this thread.

dreemon
20-11-2012, 06:20 AM
Thanks Deckie ! :angryfire: thanks alot for putting my V150 to absolute SHAME :'(, O well, I can see what you've been up to. . . . some very high quality time consuming reno's ! 8-)

I might have to get back into getting mine back up to scratch , I'm unsure of the state of the transom, seems sorta solid to me but I can see stress fractures at areas in it's bum.,
might be ok ? but will be having Sharkcat one having a look at it,

Great to see you getting it out on the water, you must be rapt ! ! and hows the new donk workin out on it? and what donk is it? I haven't been on here for awhile as I bought a 4wd and got hooked into modding it, close to being finished so now I just get to enjoy driving it instead of working on it, ( sure ya know what I mean) ,

Once again . . you've made your boat a real head turner 8-) Cheers

deckie
20-11-2012, 09:49 AM
Hey Johnny been awhile. What the hell happened to doing up the motorbikes ? You'll be doing up an 18 wheeler soon ;D. Never could get into this off roading stuff myself, too much time in them for work to want to play in them. You got some pics of this new beast ??
Hopefully its just some gelcoat cracking, if it feels solid under loading its probably just fine...and your subfloor is good as gold from memory. Worth checking though yeah.
Yeah i took too long but everything else kind of distracted me :P.
That thing of yours must still out drag most things on the water with that 90hp. Ended up sticking with the plan and putting on the F70A Yam which just works perfect. Glad i added up the weights from the start coz it actually sits and rides better than before, and no hydrofoil needed.
Should have Part 3 done soon, which is like the money shot in this movie :D.

20-11-2012, 10:12 AM
I can't see it 'cause my wife doesn't let me look at porn.:( I'm sure its great anyway Deckie and you should be able to pull another wife or two with it.

deckie
20-11-2012, 01:15 PM
I can't see it 'cause my wife doesn't let me look at porn.:( I'm sure its great anyway Deckie and you should be able to pull another wife or two with it.
geeeezus jack cmon..high time u got them back out of her purse, this stuff is only rated MA15+ anyway.
Hmmm maybe i;m not the best one to be taking advice from re women...i'd likely have u divorced in no time :-X.
Its no shaggin waggin this little boat, unless i suddenly develop a dwarf fetish...besides when you mention "boat" to women and they seem to expect you;ll be picking them up in a 50' Hatteras or something.
Reminds me...anyone reading, still got one single ex wife available. Goes alright too, not too many on the clock, bit of a looker, and goes off in the sack like a dolphn fish hitting the deck after a hard days shopping. All enquiries kept confidential 8-). Bit pissed off she refused to don a white crochet bikini and drape herself across the bow for this movie...and i refuse to pay for professional porn stars.

WalrusLike
20-11-2012, 05:55 PM
..... Bit pissed off she refused to don a white crochet bikini and drape herself across the bow for this movie....

Your not the only one.... :(

dreemon
20-11-2012, 06:20 PM
18 wheeler Lol, the bike was a good project and fun but then got the 4wd so had rego's for boat n trailer , work ute, bike and 4wd, then with the offroad mishaps as the pics will show, one had to go, :-? to pay for new clutch, slave cyl, alt, radiator exploded that day so had to get a new and a few other bearings etc, $ 1600 plus it's a fuel hog ,

it's a 94 jackaroo,v6 petrol, mods are home brew snork, extractors with mandrel bent s/steel tube hiflow cat and muff, home brew roof racks, lifted 80 mm , 32in muddies, breathers for all, and it can still get me into trouble;D great for towing the boat tho,.

the 90 on the boat seems perfect for a bogan like thee , but since the missus has seen yours she wants no more hanky spankme in my cuddy :'( all I can do is give her a shocker when she pullin up the anchor:o::)

good luck fishin on yours if ya got a bird in there, btw what was the first fish ya caught when ya got it back on the water?

ps look up youtube steel panther shocker,

deckie
20-11-2012, 08:38 PM
lol that truly has to be the worst band and track i've ever heard ;D. They look like the old Motley Crue glam band. Where do u find this stuff ? :P

Thats some serious GI Joe territory in the pics. Looks like it handled it well. Sweet rig. Did you need the snatch strap :P8-) ??

Dont tell me you took the boat in there ???..whats with the serious wheels on the trailer ?

Dammit i should finish this movie, it'd only take about 30mins but just keep getting distracted. I think i;ve found the right music for it...a bit of classic 80's sleazebag porno glam.

first fish ??..umm a yakka :-[

dreemon
21-11-2012, 01:56 PM
Have look at there other songs ! there hilarious ! ! lol Asian hooker is good one to consider for your next vid;D ya said ya want sleezebag/ porn/glam 8-) or try Fat Girl, good lyrics , have another listen to them,
( still steel panther )

yeah had to get winched outta that hole, the boat wasnt with me just a local track that has now been closed, tell ya what !! if I want to go through deep water . . . I 'll use the boat from now on !

the tyres on the ( next to ) the boat were to hide the rusted out mud gaurds, :-[
I now have new ones along with new springs and u bolts, the bloke will be lookin at the transom friday, hope its just gell coat like ya said,

Vid Vid Vid !! ! ! !

deckie
23-11-2012, 09:11 PM
Sorry about the delay... murphy's law i couldnt get the last one to work.
Hopefully works ok. Yell out if no good.
Part 3
http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/2448/rwecjmjjyftnkmckozrmma.mp4

ozynorts
24-11-2012, 09:43 AM
Yep it worked mate. It looks awesome. Who needs to buy a new boat when you can take the one you have and give it a new lease on life.
Congrats mate.
Ozy

dreemon
24-11-2012, 03:33 PM
Imagine how many of em they would've sold if they looked and were kitted out like that new ! ! :D, Very very nice Deckie ! I think for there era they were ahead ofthere time and took on a modern look from way back , mine still looks older than yours cause I still have the retro windscreen :jester:, took it out today with the family for a burn then offshore sunday to try my luck and or skill, I'll have to test it again for top speed . . . used to be 63 k's now with the extras and the family getting heavier I maxed 57 ,
still a very smooth and dry ride 8-)

deckie
25-11-2012, 05:06 PM
Cheers Ozy...yeah this one deserved it. When i was a lot younger it took me all sorts of places, taking all sorts of good fish and never once gave me grief. Too many good memories to just let go.

deckie
25-11-2012, 05:17 PM
Imagine how many of em they would've sold if they looked and were kitted out like that new ! ! :D, Very very nice Deckie ! I think for there era they were ahead ofthere time and took on a modern look from way back , mine still looks older than yours cause I still have the retro windscreen :jester:, took it out today with the family for a burn then offshore sunday to try my luck and or skill, I'll have to test it again for top speed . . . used to be 63 k's now with the extras and the family getting heavier I maxed 57 ,
still a very smooth and dry ride 8-)
The windbreaker is back in fashion anyway johnny 8-). Guys are spending $ putting them on as well as wavebreakers...who the hell cares if it chews 0.04 ltrs/hr more or whatever or slows it down 0.76 kph. It just works. They're still the dryest hull made that i;ve been on.
Newer rigs might be more beamy and a bit more stable at rest, but there's always a bit of a sacrifice to get that when in the choppy stuff, they still slice shitty wind chop damn well, and track sweet. Enough cabin for 2 to get out of passing weather, light enough to throw around and treat like a tinnie, and not a drop of water comes aboard unless you hit that one particular angle of chop in serious breeze.
Havent revved past 5000 yet, and racking up 50kph so unsure what 6100 will bring, but its fast enough for me. Despite more weight down back with the 4 stroke it actually sits better in water and not in the slightest bum heavy. Stoked so far 8-)
Steve.

dreemon
26-11-2012, 03:43 PM
Get a few more hrs one the motor and she'll prob be really good plus the fuel savings .. that precious fuel . you'll be happy with that, mines does 1.5 k per L , ;D

Ha ha , ok then I'll keep the retro screen but will have to fit new perspex for sure ! !

took mine outside yesterday (sunday) I got one keeper grinner and a throw back baby grinner, blame it on the N. easterlies ? didn't see anyone else having luck so they just didn't feel hungry, comming back in the seaway bar it was lumpy and chopped to bits that there was no obvious swell to sit on so just trimmed right up an goosed it ! still couldn't get wet 8-) sat in the seaway and saw a few struggling to get in,

funny that it's now a must to wear life jackets through this bar and very few do from what I saw, . anyway enjoy your rig and get some blood stains in it ! ! ! ;D