PDA

View Full Version : Small boat for rivers, is $300 enough.

aus2045
14-11-2012, 07:13 AM
I've been fishing of the bank now for the past 16 years since i regretfully sold my first boat, but now the desire to actually catch a fish or crab in my local area (Rocky/Yeppoon) and take my 6yr daughter so she can see a tiny taste of what I had as a kid in the 70s at Bribie has become a fever.

However after saving hard for 24 months I have only managed $300.
So do you think this is enough to get a small wooden row boat or similar?

I don't think I need an engine as they are just too expensive, especially on minimum-wages. Rowing is just fine, but need room for a few crab pots and a passenger. I've been looking very hard in the paper, online, but most are aluminium and they start at $1000 and go up from there, and that's for very old beat-up 10ft tender.

Got any tips for a battler doing his best to get on the water in tough times?

ozynorts
14-11-2012, 07:23 AM
Hey aus, here are a couple I found on gumtree. Good luck with the search.
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/urangan/tinnies-dinghies/fiberglass-dingy/1009370443
http://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/bungadoo/tinnies-dinghies/9-ft-fibreglass-dinghy-tender/1009260354
Cheers
Ozy

aus2045
14-11-2012, 07:35 AM
Hey thanks ozynorts, that last one looks perfect. Just sadly a little far away.

finga
14-11-2012, 07:45 AM
How do you intend to move it?
Anything with a half decent trailer will get more then $300 for the trailer.

Have a look around the slipways and dry docks in your area. Someone might have upgraded their tender and left the old one lying about.

ozynorts
14-11-2012, 07:48 AM