View Full Version : 40hp Yamaha – Honda – Suzuki ???

block
11-11-2012, 05:54 AM
I am looking at updating the motor on my 4.2m Blue Fin froma 30hp 2 stroke to a new 40hp 4 stroke. I am looking at these 3, Yamaha F40FEHTL – Honda BF40 – Suzuki DF40A.

How does one decide witch one to get? They are all around the same Weight (close to 100kg) so this is not a factor. 5 year warrant on the Honda does has some merit.

Dwane

jelifish
11-11-2012, 07:27 AM
I just upgraded from 30hp 2 stroke to 40 hp 4stroke, I purchased a Honda but think all 3 are great motors, Price and backup service determined my purchase locally.

Dan5
11-11-2012, 07:29 AM
Mate i don't think you could go wrong with either of the IMO all good proven engines........i do really like the layout of the tiller on the Yamaha myself.

Scott Ashe
11-11-2012, 07:49 AM
Hi Mate,

I reckon you'd have to be happy with any of those motors. I have the 30 Yamaha 4 stroke (same specs as 40 4 stroke) on my Ally craft 425 Reelmate and love it, and I've done 80 hours in 3.5 years. Just look for the most respectable dealer in your area, and you cant go wrong.

Shawn 66
11-11-2012, 09:36 AM
G'Day Mate ,
I will say first off that I am biased . I have the 40 4 Stroke yammie on my 4.2 side console . Lovely motor . One thing the yammies do have on their tiller steers is a " push button" system to lower the revs to near stalling . Good for trolling .
In saying that , I reckon you could not go wrong with any of the three . As has been said , price and backup service should make the decision pretty clear cut .
Shawn

spelchek
11-11-2012, 09:47 AM
They are all good brands - each with a hoard of fans and each with its share of haters. I'd go with the brand sold by the dealer you trust the most as it's the after-sales experience that's going to be the main reason you'll love/hate the motor.

11-11-2012, 10:04 AM
Who will look after it for you??

What dealers are you comfortable with, this is the major issue IMO .

barra71
11-11-2012, 11:05 AM
What about a 50 4stroke.. look at this one

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?187924-YAMMY-50-HP-4-str-TILLER-FOR-SALE

chris69
13-11-2012, 11:23 AM
Have a look at the new DF40A theres a new tiller on it but any of those 3 are proven.