View Full Version : New boat but which motor?

winston
04-11-2012, 09:47 AM
I have ordered a new 4.29 clark pursuit runabout (unpainted). I wanted a tinny but I am too old to get cold and wet. My local marine dealer has matched Brisbane prices so I will buy from him. He is a mercury dealer. I see the two motor choices as a forty two stroke 3 cylinder with power trim and tilt or 30 four stroke with power trim and tilt. The fourstroke is only $500 dearer than the two stroke. The forty four stroke is $1600 dearer but 20 kg heavier which I think adds too much weight. I will fish predominately by myself and occasionally with my wife. Which of the two motors would you choose? Cheers Winston.

Chamelion
04-11-2012, 10:12 AM
Mercury 40hp 3cyl 2 stroke engines are re-badged Tohatsu, a motor that I'm considering for my hull should my current USA mercury 40hp be cactus and requiring too much work... But if it were me I'd probably consider the four stroke 40hp. Surely 20kg isn't that much of a difference. Quieter, less smelly, better fuel figures - though taking into account the $1600 price difference and much dearer servicing it could take a long time before you 'broke even' over a modern two stroke... Depends how much you use it I guess. Take into account your fishing styles too.. If you like to troll, go the four stroke.

As for the 30hp vs 40hp.. Not often you'll find someone who says that they wished they went with the smaller motor.

Chamelion
04-11-2012, 10:18 AM
I just realised I didn't really help all that much...

If money isn't much of a concern and you can afford the extra $1600 and don't mind that it'll take a while to break even when compared to a 2 stroke, go the 4 stroke and don't look back. The extra 20kg is nothing that can't be fixed with 20kg of ballast placed in the nose at the absolute worst. ;)

fisho8
04-11-2012, 10:53 AM
I would go the 4stroke mate I have a 15hp 4 stroke merc on the bacl of my 385 Quinny nice and quiet and great on fuel the boat will have better resale value to if you decide to sell it down the track to worth spending the $500 for the 30 or even $1600 for the 40 that is for sure. If you fish on your own then the 30 would a reasonable option most 4.2mtr boats are being sold with 30's on them like the 429 stacer rampage and the quinny 420 busta however they have the 2 strokes on them if it was me I would go with the 40 as you can load your boat up and still have a quick easy ride the 40 would be the go IMO but it comes down to personal choice..:)

04-11-2012, 11:14 AM
I'd go the 40 2stroke myself. Is it a detuned Tohatsu 50 by any chance? The Tojo 50 is well established. Gotta admit I'm a Tojo fan though, I've got a 90 and had a 30 previously.

04-11-2012, 11:33 AM
It comes down to how you want to use the boat I reckon. If it were up in the NT with long river distances then the 40 4 stroke would be the go. I've got a 40 tohy and its a simple brilliant motor that needs very little servicing.

Chas & Clarry
04-11-2012, 01:00 PM
If we are reading the question correctly there were 3 motor choices but you have ruled out the 40, 4 stroke, so are asking about the 40, 2 stroke vs 30, 4 stroke.

On that choice we'd go the 40 2 stroke, and especially for those days when you aren't fishing alone.

Tim and Trace

Chamelion
04-11-2012, 01:13 PM
I'd go the 40 2stroke myself. Is it a detuned Tohatsu 50 by any chance? The Tojo 50 is well established. Gotta admit I'm a Tojo fan though, I've got a 90 and had a 30 previously.

The 3 cyl merchatsu 40 is a de-tuned 50. Apparently an extremely simple procedure to unlock the extra 10hp. One of the pivotal reasons I would consider one over the competition.

winston
04-11-2012, 01:35 PM
Chas and Clarry, I am not considering the 40 fourstroke. I know the 40 two stroke will perform better but the 30 twostroke should still perform reasonably and be quieter, more fuel efficient and have better resale in later years. Hence the conundrun. Cheers Winston.

Chamelion
04-11-2012, 04:15 PM
Sounds like the 30hp 4 stroke is going to be the motor of choice for you.. In fact, I get the impression you've already decided on it, now you're just trying to justify it. ;)

cobiaman
04-11-2012, 04:42 PM
I would be taking the 40hp 2 stroke. Cheaper to service and will be bugger all difference in fuel usage and an extra 25% hp...

winston
04-11-2012, 05:12 PM
Chamelion, I think you are on the money. I currently have a Suzuki 140 fourstroke and would find it difficult to go to a two stroke. I would love to hear from anyone with a similar size boat with a 30 fourstroke and how they perform. Perhaps a separate post. Cheers Winston.

Matt76
04-11-2012, 06:11 PM
I would have thought the 30 would be barely big enough on a 4.29m boat? There will bea fair perfprmance difference between the 2. I have a 140hp Suzy four stroke and an 8hp Yammy 2 stroke, I love them both for what they are.

thelump
04-11-2012, 07:38 PM
I'd go the 40 two stroke simply for the reasons cobiaman posted. I used to have a 445 allycraft with a 40 3 cyl, 2 stroke and it went hard. Will make the clark fly and fuel economy in those smaller 2 strokes are still good.

Richo1
04-11-2012, 08:22 PM
Go the 40Hp 4stroke!
I have a Clark Pursuit 427 with a Merc 40hp 4 stroke and it uses less fuel than my Yamaha 20hp 2 stroke did on a smaller boat. Considerably less!
If you go a 30hp you will spend the whole time wishing you had a 40hp motor IMO.
So glad I went the 4 stroke. (28knots with gear and 2 blokes)
Richo

Scott Ashe
05-11-2012, 06:13 AM
Hi mate,
I have the Allycraft '425 Reelmate' with the 30 4 stroke 3 cylinder Yamaha. I usually only have two people on board, and find that is adequate most of the time. I believe my 30 4 stroke is a 747cc unit, while the 40 2 stroke may only be 698cc unit.. You will find the 4 stroke more expensive to service ($390 yearly service), but I think it's a nicer motor. I usually fish around Coochiemudlo, Peel, Macleay Islands. I also love my crabbing and you can run around all day checking pots without using too much fuel. My motor is a 2009 model, and it has had 80 hours use in 3.5 years

Hope this helps.