View Full Version : Getting harder to tow a big boat..

team_mongo
01-11-2012, 09:11 AM
Was downloading this years oversize permit, and it has changed.

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/Business%20and%20industry/Heavy%20vehicles/Guidelines%20and%20permits/Pdf_class_permit_220_th_12.pdf

Now much more detailed.

Need oversize sign front of car and back of boat.
Need flag at front of car and back of boat.
Need Flashing light for night driving. (I checked with TMR a couple of years ago with the old permit, and it was not required at that time.)
More restrictions on which roads and tunnels.
More restrictions on times on when towing is legal.

For the guys who do tow large boats AND follow the rules, how do you mount your front oversize sign and flags? I was thinking of mounting in front of the bumper bar, or on a roof rack.

Thanks TM

01-11-2012, 09:27 AM
It looks like the boat stays at holiday during Christmas and Easter.
I wonder why that rule is there?

01-11-2012, 09:37 AM
Transport embargo around Xmas and Easter has been in force for some time. Always a rush to get new mining jumbos, trucks and boogers to site before the blockout starts. Be interesting to see how flexible they are for boats. Might need a police escort with road closures. :-X::)

It cost me a fortune a few years ago moving all the Roadheaders for the Airport Link tunnel to launch sites with all the permits, trip plans/JSA's, road closures and cops - mind boggling really.

Got to keep the holiday travelers safe.

01-11-2012, 11:30 AM
hey mongo, my mate's been spewing about this change, he's had to drill through his flash chevy bullbar for the bolt holes for the sign.

01-11-2012, 12:43 PM
hey mongo, my mate's been spewing about this change, he's had to drill through his flash chevy bullbar for the bolt holes for the sign.
Hasn't he heard of tech screws?
http://www.transtools.co.uk/store/images/uploads/ScrewsAndFixings/TSLS5525W16-2.jpg
no need to drill a hole then.
Or there's cable ties. Everything can be held on with cable ties.
::) ;D :-X ;)

champion
01-11-2012, 01:52 PM
And then everyone wonders & complains why THINGS cost so much.... all the bullshit red tape !!

01-11-2012, 02:51 PM
Transport embargo around Xmas and Easter has been in force for some time.

Yup! I recall that being the case at Christmas time as far back in my work life memory as 1967 so I suspect that the requirement was pretty mature at that stage also.

marto78
01-11-2012, 04:39 PM
Hasn't he heard of tech screws?
http://www.transtools.co.uk/store/images/uploads/ScrewsAndFixings/TSLS5525W16-2.jpg
no need to drill a hole then.
Or there's cable ties. Everything can be held on with cable ties.
::) ;D :-X ;)

Or duct tape :P

Muddy Toes
01-11-2012, 07:38 PM
Wholly crap!!!!:o

I'm starting to think it might just be easier to buy a set of chisels and get that sucker back down to 2.5 wide.

Just thinking on how I'm going to make all this happen.....is there anything saying that I can't mount the disco light for night travel on the boat?I was just thinking of using a magnetic one on the hard top of the boat that gets plugged in to a 12v plug on the boat just to try and avoid wires and crap sticking out of the car windows.
Thoughts?

N.B. Not that I've been driving around without this stuff and this permit since 1 July 2012 ::)::)

cobiaman
01-11-2012, 07:39 PM
Just leave it up at 1770 for the christmas period...

ozynorts
01-11-2012, 07:52 PM
Just leave it up at 1770 for the christmas period...
I promise to keep an eye on it for you..... To be sure that there is no condensation I will give it a run for you. Just be sure there is enough fuel for a run or two to Fitzroy will ya!!!

Boat Hog
01-11-2012, 08:05 PM
Just had the ally frame made up for the new tow vehicle, mounts on top of two Rhino Rack crossbars. Wasn't cheap. Fitted it this arvo. Can't even tow at night in NSW without a pilot vehicle!

Hardly even notice it!

team_mongo
01-11-2012, 08:06 PM
Paddles, how he doing it?
A bar with the flags on each end and the banner in the middle?
TM

cobiaman
01-11-2012, 08:08 PM
Just had the ally frame made up for the new tow vehicle, mounts on top of two Rhino Rack crossbars. Wasn't cheap. Fitted it this arvo. Can't even tow at night in NSW without a pilot vehicle!

Hardly even notice it!

What happened to the silverado???

ozynorts
01-11-2012, 08:15 PM

Hardly even notice it!
So Jim, are you legal now??? :)

ozynorts
01-11-2012, 08:17 PM
The Silverado is for his next boat. Ssshhhh don't tell Mrs Boat Hog.........

Boat Hog
01-11-2012, 08:18 PM

The tax man has our Silverado money Cobes ..... well, a good chunk of it. Brother in laws, low milage never been off road, car came up and well it tows better than the old Prado (and is legal). But rest assured, the Cruiser is an interim measure!

Plus side is I can now put a whole lot more tackle and stuff in the boat!!!

Boat Hog
01-11-2012, 08:19 PM

Ohhh ...... she has a fair idea where it's all heading. ;)

ozynorts
01-11-2012, 08:22 PM
Grady White??????

Muddy Toes
01-11-2012, 08:32 PM

I don't think he's got any problems there.......Mrs Hog rules!!!!!!

I remember a conversation about Jim getting married for a Silverado and a casual ::) over dinner one night.As I recall Mrs Hog seemed pretty cool with the whole idea.
Jim's the dude we all want to be just quietly.....oh yeah, god that lady can cook too!!!

team_mongo
01-11-2012, 09:04 PM
Jim,
Is that frame reinforced against the rear roof rack?
How quick does it go on and come off?

TM

Boat Hog
01-11-2012, 09:21 PM
Will post up some photo's tomorrow. It folds down flat. Bolts into place in upright (200ml back from vertical) or horizontal position. Frame welded onto sections of ally channel, then cross bolted through the Rhino bars. Undo 4 bolts and it all comes off. Towing to Port Macquarie tomorrow, will see if it holds up okay!

Captain Seaweed
02-11-2012, 07:00 AM
It looks like the boat stays at holiday during Christmas and Easter.
I wonder why that rule is there?

Hi Finga,
There are restrictions put in place by Main Roads for oversize transport, traffic control, intersection work during peak periods to prevent traffic incidents...so they think. I use to work in the signals game and we were restricted to when we could work depending on holidays and special events. Its typical government thinking
I am about to start towing oversize so this is all new to me. I am thinking piss the signs and yellow lights/flags off and just run a Blue and Red lights!! :)

Triple
02-11-2012, 09:55 AM
What's the fine for failing to comply?

02-11-2012, 10:15 AM
Wholly crap!!!!:o

I'm starting to think it might just be easier to buy a set of chisels and get that sucker back down to 2.5 wide.

I've got a nice new chainsaw. it might save some time

Just thinking on how I'm going to make all this happen.....is there anything saying that I can't mount the disco light for night travel on the boat?I was just thinking of using a magnetic one on the hard top of the boat that gets plugged in to a 12v plug on the boat just to try and avoid wires and crap sticking out of the car windows.
Thoughts?
What sort of magnet sticks to aluminium.. or fibreglass??\
This might be of use http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/Safety/Vehicle%20standards%20and%20modifications/Vehicle%20standards/pdf_f22_guideline_installation_flashing_lamps_v3_1 02010.pdf

Yeah. I know I'm a smart@rse :)

Boat Hog
02-11-2012, 03:48 PM
Ok. Towed 'legaly' from Coffs Harbour to Port Maquarie today...... Strong Wind Warning with massive Southerly wind! :o The 4.2 TD Cruiser was fading a bit in the 95 - 110 Km range where the Prado 3.0 Common Rail TD would have still had some punch!

Sunrise this morning was at 0550 Hrs, the place to get to was the Kempsey Bridge over the Maclay River. Narrow Bridge with a restriction on Oversize Loads during Peak Hour (0730 - 0930), I mean c'mon a 2 hour peak time in Kempsey!!! :-? So, distance calculator was showing the time for the journey as being 1 hour, 42 mins. With only 1 hour, 40 mins of legal driving time to get across that bridge or face a 2 hour wait til we could cross and about 5 fixed speed cameras and two point to point cameras ......... it was going to be tough! :'(

Okay, we may have snuck out a few minutes before sunrise and we got a good run despite the wind..... crossed the bridge with 10 mins to spare. Phew. ;D ;D 8-)

Discovered a few things.

Warning Flags that are sold on sticks are no good stuck in the gunnel rod holders at the rear of the boat. Why? Well, despite trimming them down a little in length they don't have enough weight to hold them in place in a loose fitting rod holder. Gone! Need two more flags. :-[ :'(

Warning Flags that are light weight and fluro coloured with brass eyelets in the corners. Had two of these cable tied at the front edges (top and bottom) to the bow rail and rail upright near the start of the oversize section. Port side okay, Sarboard side for some reason flapped itself to pieces with the stiching (between the two different colours) coming apart. Need another flag. :'( >:(

Yeah, but what about the OVERSIZE signs? Surely they would last the journey? Front sign (rigid) okay. Rear sign (Banner) showing signs of wear and tear.>:( >:( Was tied between the hard top supports and possibly needed to be tied super tight (maybe time to relearn the truckies knot?). But, it was going into a 30 knot southerly at 100 KPH. When I stopped south of Kempsey, I lowered the sign a little and retied it a lot tighter. Time will tell if this banner lasts or not.

Now, normally I would tow up the road a couple of Km then stop and check all the tiedown points etc but I couldn't do this considering the tight schedule we were on. Also there were the usual drivers going 80-85 in a 100 zone and for me to pass was difficult while all thsoe behind me were wanting to get past that bloody oversize boat that was slowing them down! Gives me a bit of an understanding of some of the frustration faced by truck drivers.

Here's some more photo's of the sign mount I had made up.

This is the sign folded down. The rear support leg has been un bolted from the frame and rotated fully forward through the pivot point which is the bolt on the top right. The support leg has been fixed to the frame by the bolt on the top left hand side. The bolt on the lower right is holding the sign down in the closed position. Note there is a strip of self adhesive foam/rubber between the mounting frame and the support frame around the sign.

This is the locking tab, used to bolt the sign into place when folded flat.

This is the bolting holes and support bracket (with adhesive foam/rubber) for the support leg when rotated to the front and locked down.

Picture of support leg (1 of 2). Sign in raised positon.

Rear view. Sign is bolted through the Rhino Rack rails with four bolts. All bolts are stainless and the nuts are nylock so you don't need to tighten them too much.

I would say that with a socket and ring spanner or shifter you could undo the whole thing in under 10 mins and have it removed from the rails. You can mount or unmount it with the sign either raised or lowered.

It seems to be a lot noisier with the sign lowered? I might put some of that adhesive rubber/foam stuff under the frame to get rid of the gap between the frame and the rail.

Cost?
Custom made $480.
I supplied the Oversize sign.

Now going to have a beer and a well earned relax.

WalrusLike
02-11-2012, 05:02 PM
That's kind of funny.... imagine walking along the footpath and a 'safety' flag whacking you in the head as it flew out of its holder. :)

Mister
02-11-2012, 07:06 PM
That's kind of funny.... imagine walking along the footpath and a 'safety' flag whacking you in the head as it flew out of its holder. :)

That would be an unsecured load then.

Muddy Toes
02-11-2012, 09:29 PM
Warning Flags that are sold on sticks are no good stuck in the gunnel rod holders at the rear of the boat. Why? Well, despite trimming them down a little in length they don't have enough weight to hold them in place in a loose fitting rod holder. Gone! Need two more flags. :-[ :'(

Warning Flags that are light weight and fluro coloured with brass eyelets in the corners. Had two of these cable tied at the front edges (top and bottom) to the bow rail and rail upright near the start of the oversize section. Port side okay, Sarboard side for some reason flapped itself to pieces with the stiching (between the two different colours) coming apart. Need another flag. :'( >:(

Ever thought of just buying some of the warning flags that already have the elastic straps and plastic clips already on them Jim?
They take about 2 sec to put on and take off......I'm sure a quiet trip down to your local quarry in the dead of night might uncover a couple in the dog boxes of a couple of semi's ::);D.

Boat Hog
02-11-2012, 09:53 PM
Thanks Muddy - now you tell me! Or are those pictures of A Salt Weapon Photoshop ?? ! ;) :)

DaveNkelly
02-11-2012, 10:49 PM
What is the fine for towing an over size boat? I'm in queensland,

Muddy Toes
02-11-2012, 10:56 PM
I've never photoshopped anything before in my life Jim.

Every picture I have ever put up is of an actual photo I've taken.

ozynorts
03-11-2012, 09:22 AM
What is the fine for towing an over size boat? I'm in queensland,
Try looking in here.
http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/Licensing/Licence%20demerit%20points/demerit_points_schedule_v33_20110408.pdf
I couldn't find it but only had a quick look.

DaveNkelly
03-11-2012, 09:53 AM
Thanks, I couldn't see it I found over weight is 220,

I was told by the local boat dealer that QLD is allowing the US boats to be towed with out the over width now.. as long as the trailer has correct rego..
I guess I should look into it a bit more and let " MY MATE" know,he he he.

Why isn't there a simple Doc that tell you all the details, unless there is and I just cant find it..

kizza1
03-11-2012, 10:16 AM

I was told by the local boat dealer that QLD is allowing the US boats to be towed with out the over width now.. as long as the trailer has correct rego..

Why isn't there a simple Doc that tell you all the details, unless there is and I just cant find it..

Let me guess, the boat dealer was trying to sell you an overwidth boat?
here is everything you ned to know.
http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/Business%20and%20industry/Heavy%20vehicles/Guidelines%20and%20permits/Pdf_class_permit_220_th_12.pdf

basically you use to apply for a permit. now they have a generic permit you print off and keep in the car. you still have to abide by the rules and restrictions though.

barra71
03-11-2012, 10:19 AM
this may help some people to get a better under standing of what they my need to konw or do..

http://www.marineqld.com.au/towing-oversize-recreational-vessels

Boat Hog
03-11-2012, 02:22 PM

Yeah, and I was told by a boat dealer that a Seaswirl Striper wasn't over width. I guess when they shrink wrap 'em they get squeezed real hard!

DaveNkelly
03-11-2012, 03:54 PM
The yank boats are about 120mm over ? its a major drama for 120mm, that's only 60mm either side..

Boat Hog
03-11-2012, 04:55 PM
The yank boats are about 120mm over ? its a major drama for 120mm, that's only 60mm either side..

My Striper is 8'6 = 2.59 M that's 90 mm overwidth, i.e 45 mm each side.

I wonder how many caravans etc that are 2.5 M wide and have aftermarket awnings, screen doors, security screens etc attached that stick out (possibly more than my miserly 45 mm) beyond 2.5 m wide? ::)

murf
03-11-2012, 05:46 PM

I wonder how many caravans etc that are 2.5 M wide and have aftermarket awnings, screen doors, security screens etc attached that stick out (possibly more than my miserly 45 mm) beyond 2.5 m wide? ::)

so does that mean no night time run to Hervey Bay?? if not that sucks :(

cheers Murf

DaveNkelly
03-11-2012, 06:24 PM

yeah I totally agree, all that I can say is... so far so good..

what did all the added extras for towing cost?
or dont you know either...lol

team_mongo
03-11-2012, 06:37 PM
No probs running at night.

Need a flashing light, signs and flags.

Have a look at the original post for details.

TM

03-11-2012, 08:11 PM
No probs running at night.

Need a flashing light, signs and flags.

Have a look at the original post for details.

TM

Murf would enjoy that sort of attention.

Boat Hog
04-11-2012, 06:44 AM
so does that mean no night time run to Hervey Bay?? if not that sucks :(

cheers Murf

What? You want to go up on the Thursday night now???

Okay, here's the dilema.

Can't cross the Queensland border during peak hour, as can't drive through Gold Coast, Logan or Brisbane City then. QLD = 7.00am to 9.00am and 4.00pm to 6.00pm. Can't drive in NSW at night without a pilot vehicle and all the lights required. Can drive at night in QLD - no pilot needed but will need Flashing Lights and side marker lights displaying yellow to the front and red to the rear at 2 m intervals along the length of the oversize projection, plus red lights to the rear of any overhang.

Now, if I knew someone who could do electrical stuff .......

No Finga, not going to use tech screws or christmas lights!

Boat Hog
04-11-2012, 06:52 AM
yeah I totally agree, all that I can say is... so far so good..

what did all the added extras for towing cost?
or dont you know either...lol

Ahh, .... in the region of $700 + . Which is still less than I spent on my last rod/reel combo!

The biggest issue, and the one which is the driving force for compliance in my case, is Insurance. There's a lot of money rolling down the road and if you have an accident you can loose the lot through non payout of insurance due to a legal technicality. Also, you may be liable for any other damage or loss and leave yourself vulnerable to civil litigation. Not to mention the possibility of jail time should someone die in an accident.

murf
04-11-2012, 08:18 AM
What? You want to go up on the Thursday night now???

Okay, here's the dilema.

Can't cross the Queensland border during peak hour, as can't drive through Gold Coast, Logan or Brisbane City then. QLD = 7.00am to 9.00am and 4.00pm to 6.00pm. Can't drive in NSW at night without a pilot vehicle and all the lights required. Can drive at night in QLD - no pilot needed but will need Flashing Lights and side marker lights displaying yellow to the front and red to the rear at 2 m intervals along the length of the oversize projection, plus red lights to the rear of any overhang.

Now, if I knew someone who could do electrical stuff .......

No Finga, not going to use tech screws or christmas lights!

WOW thats a lot of effort and brain power, I thought watching the tide times was enough of an effort in the bigger boats. I love my little 5m ugly duckling :) drive to beach anytime and throw her in anytime :) but sure am looking forward to the experience

cheers Murf

Muddy Toes
05-11-2012, 07:29 PM
So seriously.....I took a leisurely 4 hour break today at work and decided to read the Permit in a bit more detail.
So how have you blokes hook up the clearance lights?
9 Additional warning devices required during night-time travel
Note: ‘night-time’ means the period beginning at sunset and ending at sunrise or where visibility is less
than 250m due to natural light.
9.1 vehicle or combination with an oversize boat must display:
a) side markers - yellow lights to the front and red or yellow lights to the rear, no more than 2m apart
along both sides of the oversize vehicle or combination and along any front and rear projection; and
Note: Side markers must start and finish at the end of the projecting load.
b) rear clearance lights - two red lights fixed to the rear of any projecting load within 400mm of each
side of the load, and at least 1 metre but no more than 2.1 metres above the ground; and
c) all lights must comply with Australian Design Rules (ADR).

This is starting to get all a bit too hard.......

Captain Seaweed
05-11-2012, 08:05 PM
not much thought put into it by the author

murf
05-11-2012, 08:18 PM
still makes it hard to go for a fish at 4am and be home by 8am with a bag of snapper mmm must have a big fridge on board and a pantry :)

cheers Murf :)

Feral
06-11-2012, 05:21 AM
Well you could always buy a compliant boat!
Remember a couple of years ago if you bought an oversize yank boat you couldn't tow it at all.
I think they should be commended for coming up with the auto permit system similar to the one used for cockies and their farm machinery.

At least it allowed those who got stung by dodgy importers to use their big boats in relative freedom.

Boat Hog
06-11-2012, 04:01 PM
Well you could always buy a compliant boat!
Remember a couple of years ago if you bought an oversize yank boat you couldn't tow it at all.
I think they should be commended for coming up with the auto permit system similar to the one used for cockies and their farm machinery.

At least it allowed those who got stung by dodgy importers to use their big boats in relative freedom.

Yep, sure could. Considering the trouble to tow a beam of 2.59 M, next boat may be 2.5 M or more likely around 3.0 M - might as well make it worth while! :)

team_mongo
06-11-2012, 05:02 PM
Feral,

The problem is oversize boats, not that they are made in the US.
Trailcraft 6.4's are oversize, so are the KC2800's.
I have yet to see a trailcraft with oversize flags on it..

TM

Boat Hog
07-11-2012, 04:08 AM
Feral,

The problem is oversize boats, not that they are made in the US.
Trailcraft 6.4's are oversize, so are the KC2800's.
I have yet to see a trailcraft with oversize flags on it..

TM

Was talking to a Trailcraft Dealer this week who mentioned this fact. Most of the Trailcrafts 6.0 M and over are few cm Overwidth, with beams of 2.53 to 2.55 M. The dealer also said that Trailcraft had spoken to the RTA (NSW) about being such a small amount overwidth and was told not to worry about it. Of course, this was not in writing and wasn't from an insurance company.

Mister
07-11-2012, 07:00 AM
"RTA (NSW) about being such a small amount overwidth and was told not to worry about it. Of course, this was not in writing and wasn't from an insurance company.'

You need to get that in writing, truckies get busted for less than that.

Muddy Toes
12-11-2012, 03:51 PM
What a friggin joke, what are the real truckers with real oversize loads going to think?:-?

Boat Hog
12-11-2012, 05:35 PM
Yep Anthony, had a couple behind me last week chatting to each other on the radio saying .... that boats not oversize?????

Ohh ... and your design is way to simple - so it probably will work realy well.

Was browsing through Trade A Boat Magazine today and saw the adds for the boat movers. They showed pictures where they were transporting oversize boats on a low loader and their oversize flags were on sticks attached to the low loader (not the load). I wonder if that's legal or acceptable? Sure would make it simple to put a couple of flags on sticks into holders mounted on the boat trailer. Hell, you could even mount them there semi permanent?

Muddy Toes
12-11-2012, 06:26 PM
2 roof racks, 2 shelf hanging bracket bunnings things and a few nuts and bolts.

I was starting to stress out thinking of how I would do it all because I want to go out on Wednesday.I had thoughts of buying steel or aluminium, drawing up plans, calling Bull or Mad Mackerel ::), towing how I have for the last 2 years 8-) and then along comes Timmi the Tiler and suggests the shelf bracket thingies.

KISS.....Kept It Simple(because we're)Stupid.8-)

2IC
12-11-2012, 08:01 PM
2 roof racks, 2 shelf hanging bracket bunnings things and a few nuts and bolts.

I was starting to stress out thinking of how I would do it all because I want to go out on Wednesday.I had thoughts of buying steel or aluminium, drawing up plans, calling Bull or Mad Mackerel ::), towing how I have for the last 2 years 8-) and then along comes Timmi the Tiler and suggests the shelf bracket thingies.

KISS.....Kept It Simple(because we're)Stupid.8-)

Thank goodness some one in the crew is looking after you STUPID lol

Muddy Toes
12-11-2012, 08:46 PM
Tell me about it.......I had to choose my wed crew very wisely, got 2 of the finest athletes with me so they can chase it all down the highway when it all blows off.

cobiaman
12-11-2012, 08:49 PM
Geez, its been a little while since ive been called an athlete!!!

WalrusLike
12-11-2012, 10:42 PM
Ignore me.... I shouldn't drink and write. .. lousy joke removed....

Fed
13-11-2012, 09:23 AM
Not everyone needs a red flag.

nathan089
28-12-2013, 07:20 PM
Hi Everyone, wanted to bring this thread back to life with a couple of comments. Im about to purchase a a boat with a beam of 2.55m according to manufacturer specs and i was looking at the relevant wide load towing regs which have been updated in the last couple of months and everyone should have a read. http://www.marineqld.com.au/towing-oversize-recreational-vessels

Id like to get some feedback on my point of view on this

Its my assumption that we all want to fully comply with the rules so that we are protected primarly for insurance purposes and liability purposes if god forbid we hurt someone or get hurt ourselves. But lets think about what this means...

I dont think it would be an unfair thing to say that the majority of trailer boaters out there have at least one of the following problems...

No flag on your outboard prop which is a protruding load in most cases, A left brake light doesnt work quite properly, reversing light on the tow vehicle doesnt work, tires on tow vehicle or trailer have a fraction of a mm to little tread, you have an eski in the boat that is not tied down, fishing rods in the boat that are not tied down the list goes on...

Unless you are 100% satisfied that you do not have any of the above problems if you have an accident and you get a douche bag insurance guy your still not getting covered even knowing you comply with the wide load regs.

So my thoughts are that no cop is going to notice your load is 50mm to big. it seems that the effort involved to meet the requirements is a waste of time and money for most...

I dont intend for this to come of as taking a disregad for the rules but as a of puttin these regulations in perspective.

28-12-2013, 07:41 PM
A cop may not measure your rig but he will note if you are rigged for towing overwidth. The insurance company knows exactly how wide your vessel is and if they find you travelling illegally they have their get out of jail card all stamped for them. Being overwidth contributes to some accidents unlike a loose fishing rod

nathan089
28-12-2013, 08:15 PM
Product disclosure from club marine says

What We cover

We will cover You, for Accidental Loss, Damage, Fire
and/or Explosion and Theft to Your Boat which occurs
during the Period of Insurance:
• Within
the
Geographic

Limits;

Including
whilst
Your
Boat
is
in
transit
on
the
Trailer by road, rail or ship in Australia, provided
Your Boat is designed to be towed on the Trailer and
all statutes and laws regarding the towing of Your
Boat on the Trailer are complied with."

The catch being all statutes and laws are being complied with... seems they could skive out of a payout regardless of weather the infraction contributed to the accident or not.

Dont get me wrong, im not advocating that people dont follow the rules, its just seams that truely comprehensive compliance is essentialy futile. There is always going to be something you missed or didnt know that is grounds for the insurance company not to payout.

docaster
30-12-2013, 09:29 AM
Product disclosure from club marine says

What We cover

We will cover You, for Accidental Loss, Damage, Fire
and/or Explosion and Theft to Your Boat which occurs
during the Period of Insurance:
• Within
the
Geographic

Limits;

Including
whilst
Your
Boat
is
in
transit
on
the
Trailer by road, rail or ship in Australia, provided
Your Boat is designed to be towed on the Trailer and
all statutes and laws regarding the towing of Your
Boat on the Trailer are complied with."

The catch being all statutes and laws are being complied with... seems they could skive out of a payout regardless of weather the infraction contributed to the accident or not.

Dont get me wrong, im not advocating that people dont follow the rules, its just seams that truely comprehensive compliance is essentialy futile. There is always going to be something you missed or didnt know that is grounds for the insurance company not to payout.

A lot would depend on the police report then. Try and do the right things at least.
How do others interpret the side marker lights?
As i read it you only need them if your outboards protrude more then 1.2 meters.

SatNav
31-12-2013, 02:50 PM
1. Side marker lights are required to outline the load IF you require to travel at night and especially applies to (overwidth) sail boats and the short'ish trailer designs some use and requirements are explained in Form 26. But yes podded outboards can slip into the very same requirement.

2. ADR rules for normal (<2.5m) boat/trailers combinations get away with only a single width light typically on the mudguard but once overwidth then the requirements change, and over 2.5m is overwidth.

docaster
31-12-2013, 06:30 PM
1. Side marker lights are required to outline the load IF you require to travel at night and especially applies to (overwidth) sail boats and the short'ish trailer designs some use and requirements are explained in Form 26. But yes podded outboards can slip into the very same requirement.

2. ADR rules for normal (<2.5m) boat/trailers combinations get away with only a single width light typically on the mudguard but once overwidth then the requirements change, and over 2.5m is overwidth.

So for my 2.59 wide boat i need side marker lights (no more than 2 meters apart) regardless of the overhang at the rear of trailer

SatNav
31-12-2013, 07:18 PM
"So for my 2.59 wide boat i need side marker lights (no more than 2 meters apart) regardless of the overhang at the rear of trailer"

1. Are you > 2.5 metres? Yes? got to 2. No? then no worries

2. Do you intend travelling at night? Yes? go to 3. No? then simply follow the daytime requirements

3. Does your load extend further then 1.2 metres behind the trailer? Yes? then width lights required not > 2 metres along both sides starting from the end of the projecting load. No? then follow the standard lighting requirements

ozynorts
31-12-2013, 07:20 PM
Here is a recent thread about this with a link to the rules.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?194513-Class-permit-394-TH-13-(Over-Width-Boats)-rescinded
And here is some of the relevant text.
“over width boat” means a boat exceeding 2.50 metres wide up to 2.90 metres wide."
8.1.3 When transporting over width boats the following must be displayed:
a) one “warning sign” at its front; and
b) one “warning sign” at the rear, or if it is carrying a rear projecting load, at the
rear of the load.

8.3 Daytime lighting requirements
8.3.1 When transporting over width boats during daytime travel, the vehicle must have its
low beam headlights switched on.
8.4 Night-time lighting requirements
8.4.1 At night-time, a vehicle/combination with a load protruding more than 1.20m from the
rear of the trailer must have the following additional lighting:
a) side markers - yellow lights to the front and red or yellow lights to the rear, no
more than 2m apart along both sides of the oversize vehicle/combination and
along any front and rear projection;

ozynorts
31-12-2013, 07:25 PM
I would assume reading these that if your motor doesn't protrude more than 1.2m from the rear of the trailer then you won't need the lights but you will need the over size signs front and back.

ozynorts
31-12-2013, 07:29 PM
There was also a discussion on here a while ago about what constituted the rear of a boat trailer. I think the consensus was that the last cross member was the rear of the trailer and not the rollers.

docaster
01-01-2014, 12:42 PM
There was also a discussion on here a while ago about what constituted the rear of a boat trailer. I think the consensus was that the last cross member was the rear of the trailer and not the rollers.

I reckon common sense would dictate from the tail light position, which would be the last cross member usually like you say

SatNav
02-01-2014, 10:07 AM
1. Probably a couple of points that may be worth clarifying? The MarineQld web link is a superceded version and the curent version is 3 dated December 2013.

2. Form 26 originally applied to Over-Dimensional vehicles mainly being Dragon boats, Aircraft, Rowing sculls & Yachts all of which were over dimension due to length and not width. Form 26 originally did not cover any of these vehicles and all still had to 2.5 metres wide or less.

3. The old Class permit 220 specifically and only dealt with over width boats over 2.5 metres and up to 2.90 metres. Note by definition of the terms in these requirements a "Yacht" is not an "overwidth boat" but both can be classed as over-dimensional, one being based on excessive length but still must not be more than 2.5 metres and the other based on width between 2.5 & 2.90 metres.

4. Even though the old class permit has been effectively included into form 26 the separate requirements have not changed. In other words a "Yacht" (and the other orig form 26 vehicles) must still be less than 2.5 metres and a 'yacht" is not a "overwidth boat".

lee8sec
02-01-2014, 10:26 AM
But a yacht may be a "overwidth boat" as well as, under or over length.;D

The main thing is people that tow" over size" loads need to know exactly what the rules are & how to stay with in them.

SatNav
02-01-2014, 10:32 AM
"But a yacht may be a "overwidth boat" as well as, under or over length."

1. No under form 26 a Yacht can not be more than 2.5 metres (so can not be over width as such) but can become an excessive dimension vehicle as per form 26 based purely on length (overhang etc)

lee8sec
02-01-2014, 12:26 PM
What would you expect from bureacrats, you cant tow a 2.6m wide 22ft yacht but make it a "boat" and you can.