PDA

View Full Version : seeking advice on 1999 stessl 550 seahawk tri hull

rtansley
02-10-2012, 07:18 PM
Hi
i'm new to boating and in the market for a boat for the family. I am currently looking at a 1999 stessl seahawk it is classed as a tri hull but it is based on a single hull with chine mounted sponsons. it has a 90hp honda on it with 600hrs on it and he wants 18k for it.
does anyone know much about these hulls. how well do they ride ect. i have read a reveiw that they are quite good but I would like the opinion of anyone who has owned one or been in one see pics attached
thanks in advance8484884849

oldie
03-10-2012, 02:28 PM
hey mate i know they are stable and apparently ride well but the price is way to high especially with 600hrs on the motor

MyWay
03-10-2012, 02:48 PM
I think I saw that one on ebay before I could be wrong
I heard they ride OK and very stable and something about turning not sure what ....
but ones again I thought this is tri hull stessl

and not bad price for 5,5 and 600 hours not much at all for that Honda
I wish you good luck what ever u do

Smithy
03-10-2012, 03:07 PM
I think it is fair. Mate bought one about 18months ago for $19K second hand with a 90 Honda as well. Towed it to Gladstone where he is doing some work and got $27K for it from a cashed up miner then went an bought a US Trophy with a 150 Opti for $30K so he has made out a bandit the last few months. He rated it as far as a tinny goes and he has had a different boat about every 18months but he was itching to get back into a glass boat after owning a 575 or 625 Cruise Craft previous. I am personally not a fan of those era Hondas. They were the first batch of 4 strokes to hit the market. Interesting trailer. Open channel will be good for a good life if it is well built. Tough call. It is a buyers market at the moment.

Scott Ashe
03-10-2012, 06:45 PM
Hi mate,