View Full Version : Urgent ! Please read.

06-09-2012, 12:13 PM
THIS IS YOUR LAST CHANCE TO STOP THE LOCK OUT!

Recreational fishermen are about to get locked out of massive areas of Australian waters. And all this while the federal Government has given the green light to a super trawler so it can plunder our waters! What’s happening here is just plain wrong, and we need to all get together to stop it. Marine reserves should be implemented with proper scientific planning and processes, and that is just not happening. In just a few days on September 10, we’ll be locked out of huge areas of Australian waters unless we stand up and say no. The only way to try and stop this is to take 60 seconds and make a very quick submission through the Keep Australia Fishing website to lodge your protest. People power is the only way to make the politicians take notice here. Please share this link on all your own Facebook pages, and spread the word!

http://www.keepaustraliafishing.com.au/index.php/take-action/campaigns/campaign-1-don-t-lock-us-out

LP

Gon Fishun
06-09-2012, 12:41 PM
Letter sent, and with a few strong words politely and politically correct added.>:(
Also sent to Face crook :)

netmaker
06-09-2012, 01:08 PM
done phill. keep up the good work mate.

06-09-2012, 01:17 PM
Done short but sweet.

Boat Hog
06-09-2012, 01:41 PM
Done!

Let's keep Australia Fishing!

Funchy
06-09-2012, 01:42 PM
done :D :thumbsup:

Goodoo haven
06-09-2012, 01:51 PM
Also done it, and I will email it to some of my mates

barra71
06-09-2012, 02:02 PM
also done mate... we can only hope for the best now.....

Chong
06-09-2012, 02:03 PM
Done...thanks for the heads up Philllllllll

Daintreeboy
06-09-2012, 02:17 PM
Done. Phill whatever happened to that stuff you got me involved in up here in Cairns? I never got anything back from the clowns who ran it, no minutes, nothing...

outta line
06-09-2012, 02:30 PM
found it on face book this morning ....was going to post up here this sarvo ....piped at the post.... lol

Crunchy
06-09-2012, 02:39 PM
Done - keep up the good work guys

pescados
06-09-2012, 02:42 PM
Done here too.

backhoe
06-09-2012, 03:02 PM
done................

bf90
06-09-2012, 03:19 PM
done deal here too :)

Snap Dog
06-09-2012, 03:54 PM
Done mate, let hope for the best.

preso
06-09-2012, 03:55 PM
Done. Thanks for the heads up Phil.

Dantren
06-09-2012, 04:25 PM
Send the link to your whole contacts list gents..................

Linedropper
06-09-2012, 04:28 PM
Done. My personal message.

"I'm a fisherman and I vote! Remember that come election time 2013"

BeastMaster
06-09-2012, 04:36 PM
Done - bring on the federal election.

cobiaman
06-09-2012, 04:39 PM
Thanks for the heads up phill

MangroveZac
06-09-2012, 04:52 PM
Done and spreading the word!

06-09-2012, 04:53 PM
Done. Phill whatever happened to that stuff you got me involved in up here in Cairns? I never got anything back from the clowns who ran it, no minutes, nothing...

I think a lot of the rec fisho stuff was shuffled under the carpet and otrher stuff was used for the Coral Sea closures that are pending.. not happy.

Captain Seaweed
06-09-2012, 05:07 PM
done, Thanks Phill dont usually find these.

BigE
06-09-2012, 05:15 PM
done

BigE ...............

cuzzamundi
06-09-2012, 05:18 PM
All done. Let's get everyone onto this! Cheers for the heads up, Phil.

Cuzza

royslaven
06-09-2012, 05:32 PM
I done good
cheers,roy

2IC
06-09-2012, 05:36 PM
all done thanks phill

rosco1974
06-09-2012, 05:48 PM
all done
cheers rosco

Prowl n Wolf
06-09-2012, 05:59 PM
done. thanks phill.

06-09-2012, 06:07 PM
done days ago Phil ! :P

That's with 2 L's Black Ra :P

petelaska
06-09-2012, 07:14 PM
Done as well

pegasus
06-09-2012, 07:18 PM
Done.

Lew

frank100
06-09-2012, 08:05 PM
Done ! It's enough to make you vote Liberal !

hookinin
06-09-2012, 08:33 PM
Done and thank LP

shubeej
06-09-2012, 08:43 PM
letter sent, this country is run by ........... well we all know

06-09-2012, 08:53 PM
I will post a link to a new petition being submitted by me once the Clerk of Qld Parliament approves it.

It is along the lines that we want the Qld Government to pay attention to the Fed's stupidity, and that local Marine National Parks need review, in order to let Recs in in some form or another.

Humdinger
06-09-2012, 09:17 PM
done -------;D

Obi _ Wan
06-09-2012, 09:29 PM
Did it days ago and have done it again.

Thanks Phill

3rd degree
06-09-2012, 10:03 PM
Done....

Something's really wrong when the Government is letting an ocean raping machine tear our habitats apart, yet feel the need to keep locking us out of areas on the basis of it being unsustainable.

Almako
06-09-2012, 10:19 PM
Also done.

Our government needs the arse.

dugggy
06-09-2012, 10:23 PM
Comments added and sent!!!
Doug

Stansy
06-09-2012, 10:29 PM
Done and dusted, thanks Phill

fisho8
Done Phil thanks for putting this up mate. This is a bloody outrage.>:(

bondy99
Done and sent two seconds ago

bigjimg
06-09-2012, 10:32 PM
More clowns in this govt than Circ de Solei.Mind you those clowns have spines.Jim

Jakers 69
06-09-2012, 11:20 PM
Done that ,

goat boy
06-09-2012, 11:24 PM
Done. Hard to refrain from writing gutter language when talking to gutter trash, but I can always hope dignity rubs off, right?

cqfreshie
06-09-2012, 11:41 PM
Done. Geewiz.. how can they be fair dinkum when there is this flamin' great tinnie comin' into our waters to errr... chuck a net.

buggerit
07-09-2012, 02:06 AM
Done . Thanks for initiating Phill

fandtm666
07-09-2012, 02:43 AM
done hopefully they will listen to the public

maco
07-09-2012, 05:45 AM
Sent mine. Hope i get a reply

Apollo
07-09-2012, 05:51 AM
Done. Thanks for raising this.

sportfish58
07-09-2012, 06:01 AM
"DONE"................

leonp88
07-09-2012, 06:03 AM
Done.

With fishing being one of, if not THE most popular recreational activity in Australia, I have complete faith that 100% of recreational fishermen will oppose these outrageous proposed chanes. I think the key warning to the government is that WE are fishermen and WE vote. All the fishermen in Australia make up a bloody large percentage of the population and we won't put up with this shit!

All the best.

kingcray
07-09-2012, 06:04 AM
Done. Heres hoping for an outdoors lifestyle for my kids, lets keep Aus fishin'
Dean

raffles
07-09-2012, 06:19 AM
Done. Hope everyone on Ausfish sends a message and shows these blockheads how stupid an idea this is.It doesn't matter to them,they probably dont fish and spend their holidays overseas.

Stewey
07-09-2012, 06:22 AM
Done. ?........>:(

robo55
07-09-2012, 06:26 AM
done ??? don't lose sight of this when comes time to vote ,,we have couple down here with araldite on their asses but the crowbar will be at work come voting time

bigbrian47
07-09-2012, 06:48 AM
done phil good onya

07-09-2012, 06:55 AM
done, facebooked, lets trounce these fools!

aerordauto
07-09-2012, 07:02 AM
comments sent, lets see what happens.
cheers mark.

Lapras
07-09-2012, 07:03 AM
. . .Done . . .

Greg001
07-09-2012, 07:32 AM
Done lets hope they get the message

TroyVIS
07-09-2012, 07:45 AM
Done - Now lets cross everything and hope for the best!

FordGT
07-09-2012, 07:47 AM
email sent

bluefin59
07-09-2012, 07:54 AM
Done ,thanks for the link...matt

brock13
07-09-2012, 08:13 AM
Fingers crossed this helps

SunnyCoastMark
07-09-2012, 08:19 AM
Done - I can't belive the hypocrisy of what they propose. - I wonder how long it would take for the super trawler to catch the equivalent of the entire annual recreational catch? - 1 week - 1 month?

Moonlighter
07-09-2012, 08:30 AM
Done, and posted on my Facebook page with an appropriate message.

Thanks Phill, great work.

ML

Swanie1975
07-09-2012, 08:45 AM
done

cheers ryan

Si
07-09-2012, 08:50 AM
Done!

The thing that annoys me is that the creation of marine parks or restricted areas should be based on peer reviewed scientific investigation (s) not political agenda or vote grabbing to a minority group. Also coral sea is not under threat so why create a marine park.

Mr Squiggles
07-09-2012, 09:06 AM
Got it from the Nomad blokes a week or so back. All done thanks & hope it goes well.

blackjew
07-09-2012, 09:13 AM
Thanks phill letter sent,lets hope for the best.Ill send it on the the FFF IN darwi:on

Micadogs
07-09-2012, 09:13 AM
done also.......

Barry Ehsman
07-09-2012, 09:37 AM
Done here as well, let's hope we get through to them.

Baz

bpm1968
07-09-2012, 09:39 AM
Done.. ignorant sycophants

split-shot
07-09-2012, 10:06 AM
Forwarded the letter, as requested. I would like to thinkl that we will all have some luck, but with the greens holding the balance of power, I do not like our chances

cdcfish
07-09-2012, 10:09 AM
done, hopefully they start listening to the people

stue2
07-09-2012, 10:21 AM
All Done...........

IcyDuck
07-09-2012, 10:34 AM
Another one sent ... thanks Phil

conco46
07-09-2012, 10:37 AM
done mate
how much will austrailans put up with?

popgun19
07-09-2012, 10:50 AM
done. Thanks Phill.

tropicrows
07-09-2012, 11:06 AM
All done guys...

larfin
07-09-2012, 12:39 PM
I am in message sent
greg

Kdog
07-09-2012, 12:41 PM
Gday Sir Phil,

Mate, thanks for getting onto this, I have added my thoughts on this as well, long winded but truthful. Bloody scares the bejeezus out of me with all the planned no go zones:(

Damned67
07-09-2012, 01:56 PM
My 'letter':
"As a Medical Scientist, where even our manuscripts cannot be published without critical peer review of our Scientific Method, I'm appalled that such important changes can be proposed/implemented, without basic critical peer review, let alone scientific evaluation.

Moreover, as an Australian, and one who assumes to have a somewhat logical thought process, I am disturbed by the illogical process whereby recreational fishermen are locked out of large areas while the so-called 'Super Trawler' is allowed to plunder our resources.

These decisions are clearly made in the name of votes and self-preservation..... Science be damned.

Despite my life-long voting history, I simply cannot continue to vote for an illogical, ill-informed Government."

Which recreational fishing groups give financial support to political parties and campaigns?
Which conservation groups give financial support to political parties and campaigns?
It's about the $$$ as much as it is the vote. It's going to be a tough fight fight for us to win this far out from the election, I feel.

Goldfinch
07-09-2012, 02:01 PM
I'm in....thanks MR Ausfish.....luv ya work!!!!

dan12345
07-09-2012, 02:18 PM
done letter sent

2DKnBJ
07-09-2012, 02:29 PM
Jobs done

Cheers Dazza

07-09-2012, 02:38 PM
Done thanks Phil

kingfisher1
07-09-2012, 03:10 PM
Letter done. Hope they listen.

Chris Ryan
07-09-2012, 03:32 PM
All done. Reminded the Minister that there are over 5million rec fishers in Australia who voteand pay their taxes and find it humiliating to be classed envirovandals yet they will allow a floating fish culling, sea lion and dolphin drowning trawler into the Coral Sea area.

douggy
07-09-2012, 03:39 PM
Done, and sent to all my mates

07-09-2012, 03:43 PM
Look here Folks!

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?187124-Petition-to-draw-State-Government-s-attention-to-Fed-Marine-Park-Policy.

07-09-2012, 03:48 PM
Done and dusted.

Personally I don't hold much hope of success. The minister will consider keeping the greens happy far more important.

catfishkid
07-09-2012, 03:49 PM
My thoughts have been added.

LittleSkipper
07-09-2012, 04:06 PM
All Done!! Aust Govt....should be ashamed of themselves?

pipifin
07-09-2012, 04:08 PM
done :beer:

Axl
07-09-2012, 04:49 PM
Done L/P lets hope it gives them something to think about at least.

Dignity
07-09-2012, 05:09 PM
Done and forwarded to heaps more for comment. Just goes to prove a total lack of understanding of the marine environment.

FishHunter
07-09-2012, 06:55 PM
done and added to FB

07-09-2012, 07:45 PM
I have actually asked FQ where they stand on this and have they made Submissions to Tony Burke.

I think I'll pop a personal email to Tony Burke as well. Couple of questions need answering.

Keep sending in those emails lads............

cheers Phill

Bay+Beyond
07-09-2012, 08:02 PM
Also added my comments to these mongrels

indy
07-09-2012, 08:07 PM
Done good on you phil

madmackrel
07-09-2012, 08:13 PM
Message sent, thanks Phill for bringing it to our attention. come on australia we need them to know how we feel.

DAZMC1
07-09-2012, 09:10 PM
Done here!

sottydog
07-09-2012, 09:13 PM
Done...Whether you vote labor/liberal/naitonal/green/one nation blah blah get behind this as once in place there will be no turning back!

chris_s
07-09-2012, 09:16 PM
Done.....
And just in case Mr Burke misses your message a simple google search will locate his email address and you can send it again to him, just so he gets the message.

I may only be one voice but I'm one of thousands.

Mrs Ronnie H
07-09-2012, 09:50 PM
Hi Phill

My concerns and opinions on this added very politely.

Totally unjustified act when the new Super Trawler will do more damage to the environment in one small swoop than we could half do in a life time.

Status update on FB to let everyone know what is happening and how they can help out by visiting the Link and Saying NO.

Ronnie

Darren Mc
07-09-2012, 09:59 PM
Done here. Let's hope for some positive action, but i don't think i'll hold my breath waiting for it...

pickers
08-09-2012, 02:56 AM
done here too.

08-09-2012, 05:01 AM
dou it ! ;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D;D

flatzie
08-09-2012, 05:39 AM
Done, what utter hypocrisy by the Govt!

Squidlet
08-09-2012, 07:22 AM
Copy!
Cheers Chris.

Stik-ugly
08-09-2012, 07:50 AM
Done deal !

Cheers Dave

Russ B
08-09-2012, 11:18 AM
Message sent and a polite reminder to the government we live in a democratic society where we can make choices and the current government will be affected by our choices at the next election

TB91
08-09-2012, 04:31 PM
Done
Thanks for the heads up Phil
TB1

johncar
08-09-2012, 06:35 PM
All Done..All good

Redhunter
08-09-2012, 07:00 PM
Done lucky phill

liltuffy
08-09-2012, 07:12 PM
Personalised message sent, hope we get some traction.

Tinlegs
08-09-2012, 07:51 PM
Message as follows;

No to the Commonwealth Marine Reserves, yes to sustainable catch and release recreational fisheries.
No to PEW, and think for yourself and Australians Mr Burke.

Dicktracey
08-09-2012, 07:53 PM
thx phil letter sent

barra71
08-09-2012, 08:06 PM
Kevin Rudd has joined the fight to stop a giant Dutch super-trawler fishing in Australian waters.
The former prime minister is backing Labor backbencher Melissa Parke's private member's bill that could send the controversial super-trawler the FV Margiris packing.
Current environmental laws do not go far enough to allow the federal environment minister to stop the vessel from fishing Australian waters.
Seafish Tasmania intends to use the trawler to fish for up 18,000 tonnes of red bait and mackerel, but opponents are concerned about the risks to dolphins and other marine life.
Mr Rudd said he would support Ms Parke's bill.
"The planned use of Brisbane as a home port would mean we are just leasing the good name of Brisbane for bad purposes," he said, in a statement.
"There is a difference between commercial scale fishing and the industrial scale fishing that this vessel appears to be engaged in."
He said the vessel "which trawls a net 100 metres high and 200 metres wide and 600 metres long is going to lead to the accidental slaughter of seals and dolphins."
Mr Rudd said his position was consistent with the Labor Caucus' consideration of the matter when it last met.
The bill might come before the lower house within the next fortnight.

krusey
08-09-2012, 08:44 PM
Letter sent and I also added the other issues on about the off-roading destinations in the cape that the government are threatening closing off to the public

Krusey

Mark Robinson MP
08-09-2012, 09:38 PM
Good work Phill.
There is also an epetition in the Qld parliament that Tim Whittle has put up that opposes new federal zones and some past restrictions in state waters for rec fishers

Gazza.Boyne
08-09-2012, 10:00 PM
Letter sent. Hope this gets some traction.

Camhawk88
09-09-2012, 12:40 PM
Add another one to the list

Jackinthebox
09-09-2012, 03:59 PM
Don't forget to add your own message guys..... mine attached below.

"Dear Minister Burke,

I find the hypocrisy of your government to be disturbing.

In one instance you lock responsible recreational fishermen out of one of our most fish rich regions that, according to world fisheries data, is amongst the most lightly fished regions in the world.

Then, you allow one of the largest, most destructive forms of fishing in the form of the Super trawler to plunder our waters and scoop up great gobs of important biomass (baitfish) critical to the entire marine food chain and sell it overseas for peanuts as cheap food for the masses. To add insult to injury, this vessel will be fishing Queensland waters - the same state where recreational fishermen who like to take a small amount of fish for consumption and have minimal effect on the fishery have been locked out of their sovereign territory!

When will you stop pandering to commercial fishing interests and start realising that recreational fishermen inject many times more dollars and jobs into our economy for a fraction of the destruction caused by commercial fishing practices.

What about responsible catch and release charter operators such as Nomad charters who are have a miniscule effect on the fishery and will be prevented from visiting these regions in the future, all because a gullible government listened to a conniving American environmental group (Pew) who admitted that they would not do the same to their Gulf of Mexico because it would decimate their fishing industry and cause huge economic damage.

When will you stand up for the people of Australia that really use the resource you are purported to be managing. Lockouts are not the answer and they are a lazy, green vote grabbing substitute for real fisheries management and enforcement."

frankgrimes
09-09-2012, 04:09 PM
Done. :thumbsup:

harrydog74
09-09-2012, 04:55 PM
Message sent

Thanks Phill

09-09-2012, 05:16 PM
sent email to pollies..also sent email of protesr to the mob concerned: http://seafishpelagic.com.au/

robersl
09-09-2012, 06:34 PM
done thanks

aidbox
09-09-2012, 07:55 PM
done here too

xrnath
09-09-2012, 10:13 PM
THANK YOU FOR ADDING YOUR VOICE TO OUR CAMPAIGN!

Thank you for the link, Phil. Submission Sent.

BARICK
10-09-2012, 10:48 AM
Done.
I hope it packs a punch enough to stop the lockout.

74fpv01
10-09-2012, 12:22 PM
added my 20c worth.

xerubus
10-09-2012, 12:48 PM
done.... thanks

ifishcq1
10-09-2012, 07:25 PM
last minute letter in
I hope we amount to something along with all those we have told outside the forum and everyone else concerned

FordGT
10-09-2012, 08:23 PM
So what do we do now?

ColeDaddy
10-09-2012, 09:57 PM
Good on you Phil. More power to the fisho's I say.

dnej
10-09-2012, 10:58 PM
http://photos.marinetraffic.com/ais/showphoto.aspx?photoid=866823 (http://photos.marinetraffic.com/ais/showphoto.aspx?photoid=866823&size=full)