View Full Version : caloundra bar info wanted

The Catfather
05-09-2012, 05:32 PM
g'day guys

i'm relatively new to boating in SEQ. i'm thinking bout heading out to wide cal next week. i've launched from mooloolaba a number of times, been out to barwon banks, etc. i'm thinking bout launching from caloundra and tackling the bar this time as some of my spots are a lot closer to caloundra than mooloolaba. however, i've only crossed the bar once before. i'm in an 18ft shark cat. my questions are:

- how long past high tide can i leave it?
- would it be sensible to come home after dark?

any other info would be much appreciated!

kind_cir
05-09-2012, 05:45 PM
Get in contact with Caloundra Coastguard, they will give you all the current info.

Mad Fish
05-09-2012, 06:08 PM
Mate we always leave from Spinnacre sound at Bribie Island might take another 30 min to get to Cal wide but the run home is always good with the prevailing North Easterlies at your back on the way back. Unless it calm or a very full tide we go to Combie point then head North to Cal wide. That avoids the banks where the waves can stand up.

tenzing
05-09-2012, 06:19 PM
Mate are your spots THAT much closer to Caloundra than Mooloolaba!
I know a guy with an 18' shark cat that I was supposed to call!
I reckon you should think more about bringing home a feed this time and stop letting the office standard down!
Brendan