View Full Version : First glass boat, which boat n why. THAT ol chestnut

2_kilo_killer
28-08-2012, 06:31 PM
hi all,

been doing a bit of research on my first glass boat. pretty much narrowed it down to either a seafarer or a haines signature. looked at HEAPS of boats online (including this site). i like the shape and features of these boats, they are a very good brand of boat and they seem to represent value for money for what you get. looking at up to 5mtr of boat and single axle trailers (just for ease of handling at the ramp by myself and also have space restrictions in the yard/garage). as i live on the gold coast and have only been in the rivers etc in my 3.9 hornet, obviously i'd like to do the closer offshore reefs ie 9 mile, palmy reef, gravel patch etc etc. what i'm after from all of you knowledgible folk is which boat would you pick from these boats and most importantly WHY. i'm trying to learn about the right combination of boat/motor to do the above reefs and maybe further out. check these signatures first........sorry bout the amt of boats here
thanks guys
2KK

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13248591&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=5&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12990988&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=9&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12914215&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=12&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13116294&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=14&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13177854&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=21&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12879046&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=22&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12537511&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=26&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13013347&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=36&eapi=2

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13214682&Silo=Stock&Vertical=Boat&Ridx=42&eapi=2

http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP005083093

http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP004505646

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=11122201

http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP005300265

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13248591

2_kilo_killer
28-08-2012, 06:38 PM
and a few seafarers

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13176308
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12935877
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12669291
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats/Power-Boats/AdNumber=TP004942460
http://www.tradingpost.com.au/Boats/Power-Boats/AdNumber=D1114702192150

Crunchy
28-08-2012, 06:50 PM
I feel for ya Bud...my only advice from having gone through the same process is the decide exactly which boat you want then hunt it down....sorry I can't help as no experience on those boats....damn good decision on going to a glass boat though:-X

Dicktracey
28-08-2012, 06:57 PM
My only advice would be sea trial to the conditions you wish to use it, we tested out first 4.8m glass tub in 20knt NE in the bay.
After you narrow it down pay a surveyor to give you a full independent report, Best $$ you could spend before shelling out,cheaper than a new Transom in 6mths.
Dick

Swanie1975
28-08-2012, 09:13 PM
id be looking for the best combo of hull size and latest/ best brand of motor but it needs to be matched to the hull especially seeing as you will be crossing bars all the time to go fishing. the couple of signatures with 90 hondas look good to me but if you dont do a lot of hours the bigger 2 strokes would be ok as well. electronics you can either factor in replacement cost when negotiating a deal or get a set-up you are happy with.

insist on a water test to make sure the hull/motor matches well and get an inspection if you are at all unsure or want peace of mind.

you can get a lot of boat for your money at the moment so look for something well cared for that suits your needs. you seem to have narrowed it down pretty well so thats a great start.

cheers ryan

ozynorts
28-08-2012, 09:57 PM
When you think you have decided, get a survey!! It is a real money saver.

rowanda
28-08-2012, 11:15 PM
I had a 1995 Haines Sig 530F, was a great boat and out of the 11 I have owned one of the best and the best alrounder that's for sure.
Very capable rig and matched to a 115HP Suzuki 2 stroke....not the quietest motor but was perfectly match to the boat.
At 530 it still sat on a single axle trailer and is much more boat when at sea than a 492...a mate wanted the same and looked at 492's
but the difference in size was huge...just saying look just over 5m and you might be suprised...I sold it in immacualte condition with new covers and canopy etc for $18k I think ti was....good luck and as others have said, take your time and get exactly what you need and get an inspection not only on the boat but also the motor

29-08-2012, 08:52 AM
A year ago I went through the same exercise and the 493 sig and seafarer were at the top of the list. I ended up with a 520 sig and I don't regret getting something that little bit bigger.

I would prefer one with a 4 stroke so the 493's with Honda's would be on top of the list. The 493 has a few improvements over the 492. the seafarer are a very good boat but harder to come by with a 4 stroke or etec/opti. Don't go underpowered like those 60's on a five mtr boat. 70 is the least and 90 even better so long as the boat can carry the weight of the 4 stroke.

Have a look at the 530 Haines Hunter classic /breeze and see if you can squeeze one in the yard. If I had my time over again now I would've got one of those even with a 2 stroke. That size is just as easy to handle on your own at the ramp but much more fun on the water.

ozynorts
29-08-2012, 09:15 AM
Hey 2kk, I know you seem to be set on those two makes but don't forget the Haines Hunter's.
http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12201281
This one will do what you want and it has been repowered with a 4 stroke.

29-08-2012, 11:51 AM
I owned a 493F for about ten years, was an excellent boat. Sold it to get a bigger Signature because the kids were getting bigger and space was at a premium. I would be looking at one with at least 90hp - the one I had had a 90 two stroke merc and I think it would be a waste with any less. Be aware they dont like too much weight on the back - I reckon the ones with the Hondas would sit really low in the bum at rest, they only put 70hp zukes on them up until recently when the new lighter 90 zukes were available.

fisho8
29-08-2012, 05:02 PM
Good luck in your search mate you have picked a great brand of boat just sort through them and I am sure you will find the one you want good Luck you can do your head in finding a boat as there are so many for sale that is for sure.:)

2_kilo_killer
29-08-2012, 07:38 PM
Thanks all for the input. It's EXACTLY what I was after. Keep it coming.as u all know it's a big decision and one to be done right the first time if possible. Col aka 2kk

30-08-2012, 07:57 AM
i reckon look for the one with the best/latest engine, the one in nsw with the 2007 motor is the only one that jumps out the page really in this regard.

my philosophy is that hulls rarely break but engines and trailers do. trailers can be quite cheap to repair or even replace for smaller boats like you're looking at (especially if you can weld and do it yourself), but by far the biggest thing that can break is the outboard so go for the best outboard you can get. don't be too scared of a good conventional 2 stroke either because you won't be doing 100km+ runs in this boat to make the fuel bill or range a worry, that being said if you see a good late model 4 stroke or new tech 2 stroke for a little more cash than a comparable conventional 2 stroke then you'd pay the difference and take it every time.

have you considered older v-sea's (or signatures or HH's for that matter) that have been repowered with a newer technology outboard? all aussie boats are great boats, some have had rot issues but if you get one with a couple of years old motor and maybe a new transom it would fit the bill nicely and should still be under $20k.

30-08-2012, 12:55 PM
None of those Seafarers tickle my fancy with the 2 strokes. The Oceanpros like to guzzle. The Yammie 90 2 stroke on that one isn't too bad for the money and they are as good a motor in 2 stroke land for power to weight V fuel consumption you will get on a good sized boat. There is a an old 4.7m V-Sea with a 70 Suzuki 4 stroke for $14K I saw today looking around for another guy. It is worth a look. The 470DFs are too small. The 492s with the 4 strokes look good.

Going back a step, what is your budget and what is your tow vechicle?

2_kilo_killer
30-08-2012, 05:45 PM
unreal thanks guys. this is exactly the stuff i'm after.smithy i'd probably go over $20k but not by much if i can. my car is a ford falcon sedan so hopefully that'll do the job

2_kilo_killer
30-08-2012, 06:10 PM
ozy or anyone, recommend any surveyors on the goldie?

ozynorts
30-08-2012, 06:35 PM
Yep mate. I will PM you some details.

01-09-2012, 08:56 AM
Fords can be fitted with a 2,300kg tow bar kit. I upgraded the springs on my last three sedans I towed with, a BA and a VP and VS Commodores. Keep your boat under 2T and I reckon they do a good job. If you are close to 2T I put some caravan load levellers on and that helped a lot on the highway in the wheel ruts. Around town it didn't need them.

Here is the V-Sea I was talking about.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12818588

Same one through a dealer.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12816879

Another.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13250055

Nice old Cruisey with twin Etecs. Just the usual, check for rot and stuff.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=11468367

Pretty good platey.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13053723

Mustang with a 4 stroke 115.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12204197

Big old glassy that is starting to get a mission for towing and handling at the ramp but a lot of bang for the buck with a good 150 Honda outboard.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12986341

Same for this one but a lot of bang for buck with a 175 Suzi.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12926867

Webster in NSW with an Opti.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13000186

Another Seafarer with a Suzuki 4 stroke in NSW.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12899395

CC with an Etec at Coffs.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=12930642

540F with an Opti in NSW.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=11412241

Cheap Sportfish worth a repower.

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-for-sale/boatdetails.aspx?R=13192995

01-09-2012, 12:37 PM
either of those v-sea's with the suzuki motors would be a fantastic boat for anywhere in the broadwater and also for poking around out the front and they'd run on the smell of an oily rag too. just do a bit of homework with regards to any weight restrictions on the transom of a v-sea and if that and everything else checks out ok you're looking at a mighty fine rig for 3/4's of your budget.

Fed
01-09-2012, 12:51 PM
Jump up to a Seafarer Viking 17' (5.2M) no life jacket restrictions and rated up to 175HP.
90HP = 37Knots flat strap with a tailwind but an honest 35 Knots.
Single axle trailer, tow with family car and hardly feel it.

I'm not saying that because I have one, they are really a good allround boat at a budget price.