PDA

View Full Version : How to mount timber base to hull.

WalrusLike
26-07-2012, 10:05 PM
I want to move my isolator switch off the side pocket and on to the hull up high just under the gunnel. Two reasons are: out of the weather, and can be reached from outside when on trailer.

I was thinking of just using silastic to bond the piece of timber on to the hull. The timber piece is what I am going to screw the switch to.

I could also use liquid nails. Presumably a better job would be lay some glass over the timber but I am not experienced with glass and it is not really necessary.

Any suggestions?

chris69
26-07-2012, 10:41 PM
Hi warlruslike it depends how long you want it to last,if its painted it will last longer and you could arildite it to stick it on or yer it would be better glassed over and to the boat,you will have to scuff the area up to get good adheasion as the glass or gelcoat will be waxed so a good wipe with some acetone on the glass or gelcoat before you sand it will help other wise it will clog your sand paper but only wipe the area that you are sticking too,mark out the spot and just tape up outside that spot and use 80 grit,this will help what ever you use be it liquid nail or resin or arildite stick better,you could use some rod epoxy if you have some to stick it on and paint the wood before hand to seal it,cheers Chris.

Noelm
27-07-2012, 09:26 AM
from my experience, any sort of 'glue" like silicon and liquid nails and so on are tempory at best, it will hold for a while, but it will fall off, either leave it where it is, or do it properly.

Nathan Tuskes
27-07-2012, 10:01 AM