View Full Version : BAIT vs ARTIFICIALS M&G WINNERS

TimD
16-06-2012, 09:55 PM
Heaviest Speedster -Simon from Team ARTI-FISH-ALS (6-7kg Mack Tuna)

Biggest Snapper Offshore - Ideas from Team E-FISH-ENT (95.5cm Snapper)

Biggest Fish Caught on SP's Offshore - Scalem from Team ARTI-FISH-ALS (50cm squire)

Longest Total Length Of Snapper - Team TRIUMPHANT TRIO

Biggest Pearl Perch - Simon from Team ARTI-FISH-ALS

Smallest Fish Caught On Bait - Team BAITMAN AND POPPIN (sand flathead)

Biggest Bay Snapper - NIL

Biggest Grinner (Not the most grinners netmaker) - Team BAITMAN AND POPPIN

Biggest Jew (Trag or Mulloway) - NIL

Biggest Flathead - Lucky Woods from Team LUCKY-SNAPS-R-US

Most Fish caught - Jason from Team RECTAL EXPULSION

Longest Total Length Of Released Fish - NIL

Scruffiest Looking Bugger At The Weigh In - Tim from Team BERRACUDA

Lucky Door Prize - Ideas from Team E-FISH-ENT

Captain Seaweed
16-06-2012, 09:59 PM
Heaviest Speedster -Simon from Team ARTI-FISH-ALS (6-7kg Mack Tuna)

Biggest Snapper Offshore - Ideas from Team E-FISH-ENT (95.5cm Snapper)

Biggest Fish Caught on SP's Offshore - Scalem from Team ARTI-FISH-ALS (50cm squire)

Longest Total Length Of Snapper - Team TRIUMPHANT TRIO

Biggest Pearl Perch - Simon from Team ARTI-FISH-ALS

Smallest Fish Caught On Bait - Team BAITMAN AND POPPIN (sand flathead)

Biggest Bay Snapper - NIL

Biggest Grinner (Not the most grinners netmaker) - Team BAITMAN AND POPPIN

Biggest Jew (Trag or Mulloway) - NIL

Biggest Flathead - Lucky Woods from Team LUCKY-SNAPS-R-US

Most Fish caught - Jason from Team RECTAL EXPULSION

Longest Total Length Of Released Fish - NIL

Scruffiest Looking Bugger At The Weigh In - Tim from Team BERRACUDA

Lucky Door Prize - Ideas from Team E-FISH-ENT

:P
sorry Burley gotta laugh.....!!!!! any pics?

Captain Seaweed
16-06-2012, 10:00 PM
Congratulations Tim for a well organised and presented day. Congratulations to all winners especially the 95cm Snapper!!!! nice fish

Muddy Toes
16-06-2012, 10:16 PM
Looks like the winners were from a good spread of teams...........good going guys.

Thanks to the Triumphant Trio for the blow by blow commentary throughout the day, teasing me with photos when I'm at work. Thought you guys would have got the longest total length of snapper but the near 1 meter specimen is the one that truly impresses me.Well done mate.

And Macca.......great game plan to sit on the bait grounds all day with a bait jig to take out the most fish prize.

Where's soloman?

TimD
16-06-2012, 10:58 PM
Soloman stayed in the bay but went home early. He said his missus needed him home but i think his empty esky kept him from attending the weigh in :P

cheers tim :)

Muddy Toes
17-06-2012, 12:19 AM
Thanks Tim.......hope everything on the home front is well for him and he was just using it as an excuse to leave early.

Dicktracey
17-06-2012, 06:41 AM
http://img.tapatalk.com/31b04316-f395-8354.jpgWell I'm glad Mossy made the call to ditch the weigh in :)
He had a 82 Snap & a 78spanish in the box both caught on plastics :(
Thanks for organizing the day Tim

lucee81
17-06-2012, 07:10 AM
Absolute awesome day. (now to do something about my sea sickness and I do not rate kwells at all) Anthony, Marty, glad we could help you with some photos of a really hot bite. Just hope you don't mistake that effort of blow by blow accounts for being nice, more of a dig for not being there;D;D;D;D
Brett thank you again for a awesome time even though I wasn't feeling the best.( a bandaid over the belly button next time). Good to meet everyone. And happy to show the arti blokes again how it's done next time.

lucee81
17-06-2012, 07:25 AM
Here is the final catch for truimphant trio....

Mossy247
17-06-2012, 07:41 AM
Lucas was sea sick :-p hahahe join the club. Was your extra burley that helped catch your snappers. Great day on the water with some great people, would of loved to weigh in but had orders from above to drive her to a party which I fell asleep in the car for a while. Too many kwells in my system. Cheers for organising Tim and all other involved. Was good to break the 80's. Don't thick I am allowed out in DT's boat till he tops my PB. Thanks to all. What was the prize for best snapps offshore? Hopefully gulps then I won't be sad for missing weigh in, if I was late home I would be missing more than gulps.

TimD
17-06-2012, 07:56 AM
Dick tell Mossy to give himself an uppercut :thumbsup:

If you's had of attended the weigh in you would of taken out biggest Speedster which was $100 cash, and that Mackeral would of also taken out biggest fish caught on SP which would of seen you's also walk away with $100 worth of offshore plastics (Gulps and Z-Mans)

Once again thanks to everyone who attended the M&G, hope you's had a great day. My team really struggled on the Arti's till around lunchtime but for the last few hours we started to gather up a nice little feed. Also a big thanks to everyone who sponsored prizes for the event.

Look forward to seeing some more pictures and video's people took from yesterday ;)

TimD
17-06-2012, 08:02 AM
What was the prize for best snapps offshore?

Mossy no one even had a chance of beating Idea's from Team E-FISH-ENT with his 95.5cm Snap, wait till you see the pic's, the thing was a horse :o

cobiaman
17-06-2012, 08:14 AM
1st of all i would like to thank team triumphant trio for a fantastic day on the water and a big thanks to tim d for organising the day. Congratulations to all the prize winners and thanks to trevally for the cool prize pack we won.
It was also good to meet some new people at the weigh in and see some old faces as well.

WalrusLike
17-06-2012, 09:00 AM
And I would like to thank you bunch of lunatics for the fun I had listening to you on the VHF.

Gave me and my mate the odd smile. :) It was a great day to be on the water.

liltuffy
17-06-2012, 09:25 AM
Thanks Tim for arranging yesterday, I haven't been to one of these before but actaully enjoyed meeting and having a drink with a surprisingly normal bunch of blokes who just like fishing - funny that eh.

Muddy - where were you watching from ?? Macca and I sat on that bait ground and pulled all sorts of fish - pics attached - we put hooks in their backs but couldn't seem to pull anything bigger than what's in the pics.

Was a great day with some good fishing.

ddobson
17-06-2012, 10:31 AM
Thanks TIM D for a well organised comp and great weather finally. Good to see some good fish come in. It was a good catch up with the boys and a laugh with the outcomes and stories. Cant wait until next one and hope the bay produces some some gooduns to put up against the offshore boys reds. Cheers DD.....

dayoo
17-06-2012, 10:39 AM
What!! No bay snapps weighed in!!
Went to Mud with Popgun 19 (Brian) and managed 4 squire to 42cm and a few bust offs.
Couldn't attend the weigh in as Brian had other commitments yesterday arvo.:'(

Barry

ddobson
17-06-2012, 10:54 AM
Some pics of the arvo weigh in snapps, our small catch from bay and Netmaker struggling into his grinner machine after the tide had rinen (funny stuff) but a long lumpy trip back to clevland as that wind come up by then. 8134881349813508135281353Like a wilderbiest up a mud bank funny as...

17-06-2012, 11:00 AM
Some great fish taken fellas. I can't wait to see Ideas pics and story. A fish of a lifetime. Hopefully MM captured it on video

Muddy Toes
17-06-2012, 11:58 AM
Muddy - where were you watching from ?? Macca and I sat on that bait ground and pulled all sorts of fish - pics attached - we put hooks in their backs but couldn't seem to pull anything bigger than what's in the pics.

I was watching from 6500km away at work.......I was just having a dig hahahahah, good guess hey?

Bull
17-06-2012, 12:04 PM
Thanks Tim D and all the other guys for a top day.
Thanks Graeme and Lucas for joining me for the trip. Sorry the Kewells had you knackered for most of the day Lucas it didn't seem to slow down your ability to send texts letting everyone know what they were missing out on :D. Thanks Trevally for the prize you donated I will do my best to put the scales to good use.

It was a magic day out on the water we met up with Macca and Scalem at the bar and went out together there were a few waves standing up on the back bar but all made it through safely.
Our first stop was the bait ground and loaded the tanks pretty quickly then off to the 29s. We sounded around some marks and decided to have a drop and before I even had a line in the water Graeme was hooked up to what ended up being a new PB for him a 83 cm Snapper. We ended up getting 11 very healthy Snapper the 3 biggest going 83,78,77 cm 1 Pearly and a Mowong.
We lost a few cracking fish to the dreaded men in grey suits.
Conditions for the day were fantastic with about a 2m south easterly swell and 5 knots of wind for most of the day.

Cheers Brett

2IC
17-06-2012, 12:53 PM
TIM D thanks for organising the day team beeracuda had a good day we put together a nice feed of snapper & pearlies..Bruce broke in his new rod &reel with his first fish a small snap then the 2nd a 550 snapper:P tim got the biggest fish a 1.5m shark which took him about 35 min to bring to the boat then bust off:-? we also had a nice show of whales around the boat as well. I do think we would have done better on the fishing front if Bruce had of started a burley trail:P:P but even with a 2m south easterly swell the bugger would not get going:):) I think he was enjoying himself to much with his new baby::) but geez the conditions were great with the wind dropping out for an hour or so before the northerly kicked in, it was great catching up at the weigh in with plenty of laughs & Davo with his grinners that was classic,, as for Tim getting the"" scuffiest prize"" that only happened because he had more hair than all of us put together:-?:-? Lucas that chilly of yours tasted great:o but only a small bit at a time I think:) I will be up for a some next time you brew mate:P...also BAIT won the day I think;D;D now to get sorted for INSKIP cheers BIll

thelump
17-06-2012, 06:13 PM
As lil Tuffy has already posted we had a great day and scored a good feed. There was much banter at the weigh in which was great. Looking forward to the next one. Thanks TimD for putting it all together and Netmaker for the prize of a free tax return that I won. I like my tax agents to be that little bit dodgy to get the best return possible and looking at the bucket of grinners Dave brought to the weigh in I reckon I will get heaps back this year;D There were some cracking fish weighed in and the Bait boys absolutely smashed em.

TimD
17-06-2012, 06:31 PM
I gotta admit the Bait Boys certainly did well, but there was around 8 bait teams vs around 4 arti teams so i knew we were in a bit of trouble ;)

We got a few fish though, so we still rocked up to the weigh in with our heads held high ;D

lucee81
17-06-2012, 06:44 PM
Haven't the excuses already started.... 2 bait teams both showed up with 13 legals it actually had to be decided on a rock off who had the most catch... The main part of that was 2 BAIT teams.... Just saying....

2IC
17-06-2012, 06:57 PM
Tim D ,,, mate hold your head high you put together a great little M&G :) but lets not forget the old smelly stuff "BAIT" won the day;D;D you should book this in for "same time same place next year"";)I'm sure we will get more crews & this will turn out a fun event;) cheers bill

fishfeeder
17-06-2012, 07:11 PM
Tim, Well done of organising a great day.....
I had a great day on the water and managed to catch all the shit fish in the bay, and then everything else was under size... New prop worked tops and I think I saved about $40 in fuel for the day.

Had to run home to fix a fence and stop a friends dog from escaping my yard, dug under the fence (F%^#ING THING). That and having zero fish in the esky and not wanting to fight the afternoon boat ramp crazies on my own, I headed home...

Had a very interesting thing happen, Looks like some nice person at Raby Bay boat ramp decided they would brake the padlock on my tow ball safety catch, the safety catch was bent at a right angle... they managed to brake my large padlock on one of my safety chains also, so not sure if they tried to take my trailer home and got interupted or was someone with a bad sense of humour, Anyway I was putting the boat away at home and it jumped off the ball and scared the shit out of me and took me 20min to get it back on... glad it never happen on the way home as I was doing 80km at times, scary thought when you think about it...

Spent $150 on two new locks today, best ones I could find.

Brett (Soloman 0 - Fish 1)

Humdinger
17-06-2012, 07:17 PM
there should have been a " JOHN WEST " prize check out what harry done .;D
there is a bit of swearing in the video:oops::furious2::stupid:
it is a 75 cm kingy
http://youtu.be/vVecMUjti4I

shy guys
17-06-2012, 07:27 PM
Shy guys would like to thank Tim for organizing the event. I think I can speak for everyone by saying the weather was a Cracker can't of asked for better was a great day offshore fishing was a bit slow with only a couple small fish in the box would of had a nice king if I myself didn't John west it (I think Bret and shy guy 2 were not impressed) might need a couple new I reckon but all in all was a great day out and will be there for the next one. Also would like to thank mad mackerel for the escort through the bar appreciated didn't feel like driving back around the cape cheers again to everyone who showed up will see you on the next one

shy guys
17-06-2012, 07:28 PM
Bret lucky we can't see the movie (it never happend)

Humdinger
17-06-2012, 07:34 PM
Bret lucky we can't see the movie (it never happend)

hey JOHN i jumped the gun its still loading hahahahahaha
was still a great trip out and got a bonus of bagging rights till someone else stuffs up
JOHN WEST lives in brisbane everyone ;D;D;D;D

cobiaman
17-06-2012, 07:38 PM
Haven't the excuses already started.... 2 bait teams both showed up with 13 legals it actually had to be decided on a rock off who had the most catch... The main part of that was 2 BAIT teams.... Just saying....

I fairly sure all you had to do was catch a fish on a plastic to scoop the pool, not that i saw anyone do that...

TREVELLY
17-06-2012, 07:39 PM
Bull - congratulations on winning the electric scales a worthy winner (bait)

Cobiaman assume you got something out of it too - congrats.

Tim - very well done for being officially recognised at the weigh-in - mate a champion effort. :gorgeous:

And last but not least TIM D you did the yards - took the flack (and deserved it) - but finally put together what by all accounts has been a very successful and enjoyable GTG - well done and thanks mate! It is blokes like you and guys that went to the event that make this forum what it is :thumbsup:

shy guys
17-06-2012, 07:50 PM
Gold video

phantomphisher
17-06-2012, 07:51 PM
Maybe someone should have won the catch and release prize...:o:o;D

TimD
17-06-2012, 07:52 PM
Yeah 2IC the bait certainly won on the day :thumbsup:

Another M&G next year can be organised thats no problem, we could maybe even squeeze another one in this year ;)

netmaker
17-06-2012, 07:54 PM
yep. thanks tim:thumbsup:. great day out and good to catch up with new and old faces. as far as bait winning the day please refer to post on other thread;)

cobiaman
17-06-2012, 07:57 PM
it is a 75 cm kingy

Thats gold!

thelump
17-06-2012, 08:43 PM
That video is gold. Didnt look 75 to me though! No footage of it on the ruler. I'm calling it for 60;D

Humdinger
17-06-2012, 08:46 PM
That video is gold. Didnt look 75 to me though! No footage of it on the ruler. I'm calling it for 60;D

well the guy that dropped it also measured it so what can i say::);D

TimD
17-06-2012, 09:03 PM
Some of you bait boy's are soft :-X

I noticed in the video it took 2 of you to pull in that little kingy ;D

madmackrel
17-06-2012, 09:28 PM
814138141281411814058141081409814088140781406Tim , great m&g mate thanks for the organizing. Awesome day on the water, with some nice fish caught. A great bunch of fishermen that im happy to be associated with. Cant wait till the next one.
Cheers Perry81404

Captain Seaweed
17-06-2012, 09:32 PM
TIM D thanks for organising the day team beeracuda had a good day we put together a nice feed of snapper & pearlies..Bruce broke in his new rod &reel with his first fish a small snap then the 2nd a 550 snapper:P tim got the biggest fish a 1.5m shark which took him about 35 min to bring to the boat then bust off:-? we also had a nice show of whales around the boat as well. I do think we would have done better on the fishing front if Bruce had of started a burley trail:P:P but even with a 2m south easterly swell the bugger would not get going:):) I think he was enjoying himself to much with his new baby::) but geez the conditions were great with the wind dropping out for an hour or so before the northerly kicked in, it was great catching up at the weigh in with plenty of laughs & Davo with his grinners that was classic,, as for Tim getting the"" scuffiest prize"" that only happened because he had more hair than all of us put together:-?:-? Lucas that chilly of yours tasted great:o but only a small bit at a time I think:) I will be up for a some next time you brew mate:P...also BAIT won the day I think;D;D now to get sorted for INSKIP cheers BIll

Bill I am excited for the great day you guys had out well done!!! I will be back in October and ready take my crew back......so dont get too used to them!!!! :)

Marty

Humdinger
17-06-2012, 09:35 PM
814138141281411814058141081409814088140781406Tim , great m&g mate thanks for the organizing. Awesome day on the water, with some nice fish caught. A great bunch of fishermen that im happy to be associated with. Cant wait till the next one.
Cheers Perry81404

can't see the photos perry

Humdinger
17-06-2012, 09:41 PM
Some of you bait boy's are soft :-X

I noticed in the video it took 2 of you to pull in that little kingy ;D

yeah forgot to edit that bit out tim . but when using bait you do get a few good hookups that wear you out .::):o;D

and if you did notice i had already done the hard work all JONNY had to do was bring it over the side and put it in the bin . ;D

TimD
17-06-2012, 09:41 PM
can't see the photos perry

Yeah same as ddobson's pictures in his post on page 2, the Attachments don't work :(

madmackrel
17-06-2012, 09:49 PM
A special thanks to our team E FISH ENT and that knobby for deciding at the last minute to play the game. oh and to all you mugs that decided to throw those grinners at me.
Cheers Perry

Humdinger
17-06-2012, 09:49 PM
those pics are great perry

Muddy Toes
17-06-2012, 10:14 PM
Some great pics there Perry.......dodgiest looking bunch of blokes I've ever seen.

Nice of you to let Cobiaman hold up one of your fish for a photo too mate.......gotta look after the youngens you know what I mean.

Bull
18-06-2012, 06:38 AM
Thanks for taking the time to take some good pics Perry. That sure is a horse of a snapper. I bet Ideas is still smiling.

Shy Gays Harry Im glad Shy Gay2 Sean took it all in his stride and wasn't to upset when you released that Kingy LMAO. In saying that Ive done it to just hasn't been caught on cam

18-06-2012, 07:04 AM
When we pulled up next to Perry on the way home I suggested "just one more cast" might bring in another snapper like that one, and ideas looked like he was going to bait up for another try. Then when I said I was only joking, we should head off to Amity, he said I shouldn't joke about things like that::);D

Should have found this thread much earlier, but have been quite busy all day including fixing the passenger boat seat where most of the screws holding the seat to the floor have pulled. Shonky install in the 1st place I think, small screws used and bolted straight over the top of carpeted floor. Anyone have suggestions who could fix this for me? Might do it myself, but it will be a pretty big job but at least when I am finished it will be done properly this time.

Good day! Good result! Thanks Tim D!

tropicrows
18-06-2012, 09:33 AM
Thanks for a great day everyone, team beeracudda had lots of fun. Tim with his shark and me with my new rod and reel outfit. Bill put us on some good shows but the buggers would not bite. We managed 5 snaps to 63 cm and 2 pealies, plus a lot of tiddlers. To all thoses who donated prices and the organisers thanks again for a top day.

2IC
18-06-2012, 04:29 PM
[QUOTE=Captain Seaweed;1393716]Bill I am excited for the great day you guys had out well done!!! I will be back in October and ready take my crew back......so dont get too used to them!!!! :)

Marty[/ Marty ,, bruce & Tim are great deckies they have me sold on those cold pizza & are more than willing to take over skipper duties so I can try to catch fish .I'll make sure that they are well & turely fished out by the time you get back.. safe travels Cheers Bill

burleygu
18-06-2012, 09:19 PM
it is a 75 cm kingy

Hahahahaha! looking at brett i think he needs a new hobby maybe bingo! we always beleived ya mate! but having it on video is probably worse! you can probably say it was half harrys fish anyhow! maybe he doesnt eat fish? always next time mate!

As for this scruffiest fella there geeze! ill have you know my locks of lovely hair take hours to get looking that good! I cant help but feel after one of these hair cuts ill come out with no hair on my head and a bloody mustache boony would be proud of! ill have to assure the girls down at wynum ill have a differnt cut to perrys!

A big thankyou to everybody who contributed prizes and made the event possible. Also thanks to Bill and Bruce for the day out its always enjoyable. As for the people who didnt show. Well. . . . . . .

We all had a good time.

cobiaman
18-06-2012, 09:30 PM
At least you have the choice of cutting your hair mate, unlike most that were there

Captain Seaweed
18-06-2012, 11:31 PM
[QUOTE=Captain Seaweed;1393716]Bill I am excited for the great day you guys had out well done!!! I will be back in October and ready take my crew back......so dont get too used to them!!!! :)

Marty[/ Marty ,, bruce & Tim are great deckies they have me sold on those cold pizza & are more than willing to take over skipper duties so I can try to catch fish .I'll make sure that they are well & turely fished out by the time you get back.. safe travels Cheers Bill

Bill I am happy to hear the pizza is working for you!!!
I am in the market for a new fishing boat at the moment....the more I think about it the more I feel an awesome team of 4 will be better on your boat!!!!;)

Well done again mate

Marty

2IC
19-06-2012, 07:20 AM
I feel an awesome team of 4 will be better on your boat!!!!;)
Marty thats fine by me;) but I will have to ask THE CREW:-?:-? I dont want a mutiny on my hands;D;DCheers Bill

thelump
19-06-2012, 07:45 AM
At least you have the choice of cutting your hair mate, unlike most that were there

Yes there were some shiny ones there. Mine included. If there is any truth that they are a solar panel for a sex machine we could have kept all of straddy powered up and satisfied!

netmaker
19-06-2012, 09:58 AM
yep. tim definitely looked like a groupie in that company;D

Captain Seaweed
22-11-2012, 06:45 PM
ahhhhhh hmmmmm errrrr where is the kingy?