PDA

View Full Version : Buying a new tinny.

Fenno88
09-06-2012, 06:50 PM
Alright guys,

I am looking at purchasing a new tinny. My question is advantages to buying a "plate" tinny V's Normal Tinny.

I am looking at a Bluefin Rogue 4.2

I can pick a Rogue 4.2 tinny on a dunbier trailer new for $4750 drive away. Or I can pick up a Rogue 4.2 Plate on a dunbier trailer with extruded side decks for $5200 drive away.

Thoughts on what is best value for money?

I am new to the boating scene and buying a boat new.

I have a Merc 30hp 2 stroke long shaft to put on her, she has approx 30hours.

Vs

Cheers Steve

robothefisho
09-06-2012, 07:01 PM
On those boats the only difference is looks.

Tangles
09-06-2012, 07:06 PM
If you can afford a plate tinnie like the Origin 4x4 chalk and cheese but i doubt the 30 would go well on a true platey,

if your looking at the Bluefin or similar you wont regret getting the side decks so you fit rod holders etc, also i would also look at other brands as well and compare the specs, like Brooker, Sea Jay etc before you make your decision,

Cheers
Mike

kingcray
09-06-2012, 07:09 PM
Fenno when i bought my 4.3m tinny 12 months ago, it was the side decks that sold me.... still really glad i went that way, so handy to have for mounting sounders rod holders etc..... except when youre showing off to your mate walking along the side of your boat then fall in :/

PADDLES
09-06-2012, 07:10 PM
i agree with tangles, i too reckon that 30 is right on the borderline with a 4.2m pressed boat, if a plate hull means extra weight you might be dissappointed with it's performance with that motor.

Moffy
09-06-2012, 07:12 PM
On those boats the only difference is looks.

and possibly a bit of weight - check the specs. (so motor choice might need to be different and hence different cost as well - that 30 might be a bit light on as said - a 40hp 3 pot Yammie would be gold on that "plate" hull.