View Full Version : So when will we see the 1 line 1 hook in green zone LNP promise?

02-06-2012, 07:09 PM
You know the one, till they commit to the real science of green zones?

Wonder where crab pots fit into the equation?

Might be time to give my new LNP member a friendly reminded of this promise.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?180057-LNP-Fishing-policy

Steeler
02-06-2012, 09:32 PM
Ya kidding right ??????????.

Ya nearly had me there, had to double check the calender to make sure it wasn't Apr 1st.

03-06-2012, 06:39 AM
Yeah matey. You'd think that was only needing the swipe of the pen to bring in one line, one hook seeing it was a swipe of the pen that brought in green zones.
That would have been really possible within the 100 day plan.

3rd degree
03-06-2012, 11:43 PM
Was only thinking about this last week...

Very interested to know what the go is??

softplasticsdude79
04-06-2012, 06:48 AM
politicians living up to there promises,they will be the day,but im still happy to see a no fish green zone,gives the population a safe area to breed and grow.

Mike Delisser
04-06-2012, 02:44 PM
They cant blame the poor financial position of the state either, it would cost them bugger-all.

Steeler
04-06-2012, 04:58 PM
Still rolling around on the floor in loughter

Boat Hog
04-06-2012, 05:19 PM
Maybe the QLD Govt could bring this policy in as a Tourism Boost for the State?

One line, one hook in green zones for visitors to QLD waters! ::) ;D

04-06-2012, 05:35 PM
Maybe the QLD Govt could bring this policy in as a Tourism Boost for the State?

One line, one hook in green zones for visitors to QLD waters! ::) ;D

Woohoo. I'm a visitor as well. I'll just have to find my Casino/Evans Head Library card.
Your boat or mine Jim?? :D

Where's Timi and Phill. Maybe they have answers??
Phill's excused. He's working away up north.

04-06-2012, 05:40 PM
politicians living up to there promises,they will be the day,but im still happy to see a no fish green zone,gives the population a safe area to breed and grow.

green zones have nothing to do with fishing.just ask the expert panel that chose where to site them.

Boat Hog
04-06-2012, 06:03 PM
Woohoo. I'm a visitor as well. I'll just have to find my Casino/Evans Head Library card.
Your boat or mine Jim?? :D

Phill's excused. He's working away up north.

Ha Ha .... just realised my boats still registered in QLD. Gonna be hard to prove I'm visiting.:(

NSW boat and fishing licence might do tho. Righto, my boat then Scott. You bring the esky .... a big esky!! ;D ;)

Mike Delisser
04-06-2012, 08:46 PM

To be fair I'll give Campbell 12 months to start flagging some big rec fishing changes. If none are forthcoming, then I for one will have a few questions for Timmi and Phill.

05-06-2012, 07:28 AM
To be fair I'll give Campbell 12 months to start flagging some big rec fishing changes. If none are forthcoming, then I for one will have a few questions for Timmi and Phill.
Gees you must be a nice bloke Mike. CanDo has a Minister just for Fisheries....and Forests..so what's he been doing?? Not everything has to be done by CanDo. Delegations of power and all that. All CanDo has to do is bung his John Hancock at the bottom and jobs done.
They only get 4 years to change things and if it takes 12 months to get a simple promise done how long would it take to get some real science done or something really worthwhile like huge infrastructure done??
they haven't got time to sit and relax if they want to stay in power. Staying in power is about any of them think of now-a-days.
How many promises did Anna come good with in the last 6 months??

05-06-2012, 08:29 AM
Gees you must be a nice bloke Mike. CanDo has a Minister just for Fisheries....and Forests..so what's he been doing?? Not everything has to be done by CanDo. Delegations of power and all that. All CanDo has to do is bung his John Hancock at the bottom and jobs done.
They only get 4 years to change things and if it takes 12 months to get a simple promise done how long would it take to get some real science done or something really worthwhile like huge infrastructure done??
they haven't got time to sit and relax if they want to stay in power. Staying in power is about any of them think of now-a-days.

Problem is old can-do has a lot of changes to make, and a lot of fixing to do. I doubt it can be done in one term, but good luck to him if he can. ?My guess is rec fishing is low on the radar at the moment, but give it time, for better or for worse. There is one hope, and that is he is defiantly anti-green!

05-06-2012, 08:41 AM
So what would make it so hard to fix this promise Andy??
Isn't it only a stroke of a pen and job's done??
Seems pretty simple to this dumb shmuck but if someone can explain why it would take more then a term to fix this promise then I'm listening.
If someone can tell me why it isn't a stroke of a pen to make good on this promise....then I listening.

What's his Minister for DAFF doing? God I hate those thingo's. Department of Forestries and Fishing (or vise versa)

Mike Delisser
05-06-2012, 05:49 PM

I recon 12 months to start seeing some changers to rec fishing is only fair Finga (we have to give him time to "reward" some friends first lol). Gotta give them a chance but I don't know if I'd be holding my breath though, rec anglers in WA, Vic & NSW have all learnt the hard way how much faith can be placed in Coalition State Governments. The pros have been the winners there and the reccies have gone backwards. I truly hope it will be different here in Qld, but if not I've saved a sh#t load of wonderful pre-election promises and claims by MP Mark, Phill & Timmi we can all scrutinize.

Qld has 3 year parliamentary terms finga.

05-06-2012, 05:53 PM

3 years Scott.

05-06-2012, 05:55 PM
So what would make it so hard to fix this promise Andy??
Isn't it only a stroke of a pen and job's done??
Seems pretty simple to this dumb shmuck but if someone can explain why it would take more then a term to fix this promise then I'm listening.
If someone can tell me why it isn't a stroke of a pen to make good on this promise....then I listening.

What's his Minister for DAFF doing? God I hate those thingo's. Department of Forestries and Fishing (or vise versa)

I am not saying its a hard thing to do, but I guess its like business. If you are bleeding money, its like signing off on the cleaner purchasing a new mop, pretty low down on your list of priorities... Get the business running first, then sort everything else out.

05-06-2012, 06:37 PM
Thanks for the correction in the length of term fellas. Appreciated :)

05-06-2012, 07:32 PM
Andy's right, this will be low down on the list of priorities. Many more important issues to be dealt with, and it's not just a stroke of the pen thing, there is Legislation involved and that has a process attached.

Additionally, while this would still have been a priority had Mark held the Fisheries reins, I've got my doubts over the other guy and what his focus is/will be re Fisheries. I'm really disappointed right now, but regardless, I think we stand a better chance with the new mob than we stood with the old. I have previously voiced that view, along with the message that to get this on the radar for McVeigh, he needs to hear about it through Local Members EVERYWHERE.

Or you could just stand around here complaining like a bunch of old sows, and achieve absolutely nothing.

goat boy
05-06-2012, 10:18 PM
Or you could just stand around here complaining like a bunch of old sows, and achieve absolutely nothing.

As opposed to standing around patiently before the election waiting for the promised rec policy? In that sense then it seems achieving nothing is something we have in common.
Anyway....I'm glad ALP are out, nobody but die hard Labs aren't. 12 months would be a fair expectation that (better) change is on the way, I like what Campbell is doing so far in other areas. I won't hold my breath though, and that's only because achieving nothing is so common in political promises.

06-06-2012, 05:36 AM
As opposed to standing around patiently before the election waiting for the promised rec policy? In that sense then it seems achieving nothing is something we have in common.
Anyway....I'm glad ALP are out, nobody but die hard Labs aren't. 12 months would be a fair expectation that (better) change is on the way, I like what Campbell is doing so far in other areas. I won't hold my breath though, and that's only because achieving nothing is so common in political promises.

I certainly didn't stand around doing nothing before the Election, and took nothing for granted. You're right about 12 months, though I haven't waited that long. My Local Member is Mark though, so it's difficult to make my voice heard any more than it already has although he still hears it on a regular basis, and he is still working within the structure he has to bring about the changes we want.

06-06-2012, 07:34 AM
So fishing priorities are low on the list it seems.
Does this look familiar?

We'd start initiatives to lower the cost of living for all Queenslanders and start restoring accountability in government.

"Because we do not know the true state of the Queensland Budget, a priority in our first week would be establishing a Commission of Audit to assess our state's finances.

"The LNP's blueprint for the first 100 days also includes taking action on the Bruce Highway, establishing our mums and bubs service, recruiting more police, removing Labor's $7000 stamp duty slug on the family home and much, much more."

Mr Newman said the LNP had a strong action plan to get Queensland back on track.

"If elected this Saturday, we'll immediately start our plan to grow a four-pillar economy, lower the cost of living by cutting waste, deliver better infrastructure and better planning, revitalise front line services for families, and restore accountability in government," he said.

"After 20 years, Labor's a broken record and the song is always the same – waste, broken promises, scandals and distractions
http://www.candoqld.com.au/news/leader-of-the-lnp/lnp-releases-first-100-day-action-plan

So when does the lowering of the cost of living start? So far the cost to register your car has gone up and the price for your off peak electricity is going up. What else has gone up?? What's come down in price??

Has the stamp duty been abolished?? (I wonder if we'll get a refund)
Bruce Highway??
Mum's and bubs??
Police numbers?? etc etc etc.

When is the 100 days up??

Oh Andy.....What happens if you don't buy that mop??
How long will it take for you to be walking on and working around all sorts of crap?? Not long I reckon.
If there's time to buy milk and sugar for the coffee there's time to buy a mop to clean up the crap.
Some how I don't think they're all drinking black, no sugar thanks.

06-06-2012, 08:27 AM
I have previously voiced that that to get this on the radar for McVeigh, he needs to hear about it through Local Members EVERYWHERE.

When someone tells me they're going to do something I assume they'll get in and simply do it.....and do it quickly.
People should not have to be reminded about a job they've said they'd do.

Personally....If I call someone to come and do a job I don't keep harping on about when are they going to do it to them. If they don't get in and do it I simply get someone else in that'll do it.
Harping on reminds me of my ex wife.

To be fair though there was no time frame mentioned. Maybe we should be demanding time frames with all these promises as well as precise wording to promises. (the cost of rego loophole and the rising of the cost of off peak power bulldung come to mind)

Gazza
06-06-2012, 08:50 AM
The longer these Greenhorns do nothing , the longer they support present GREEN ZONES & RESTRICTIONS brought in by the alp/GREEN's......as Mark "used to" bleed on , to us ad infinitum ::)
LNP don't need the green vote , so just change it back to what it was 5yrs ago....simple !! :-*

Qlder1
06-06-2012, 09:20 AM
I really fear that the "green zones" up this way won't be worth fishing if all the proposed coal mines and new ports are allowed to happen . The toxic runoff, destruction of habitat and extra shipping traffic will see to that. But at least Gina and the Chinese import workers will be able to feed their families...:'(

LNP are seeing the dollar signs and not looking at the mess that is about to happen.

Steeler
06-06-2012, 04:57 PM
The longer these Greenhorns do nothing , they longer they support present GREEN ZONES & RESTRICTIONS brought in by the alp/GREEN's......as Mark "used to" bleed on , to us ad infinitum ::)
LNP don't need the green vote , so just change it back to what it was 5yrs ago....simple !! :-*

And that is game set and match right there, so just do it.