View Full Version : Who wants to play the guessing game

28-05-2012, 09:49 AM
Hello all,

Finally landed the trailer out of the states a couple of weeks back and lifted Scalded at the Condong Boat ramp on Saturday.

I may have underestimated its size somewhat. We took her down the road to the weighbridge and from there back to the house. I'm now contemplating my next option.

Lets see who can get the closest guess to the correct weight to two decimal places. She's only 1/3 full of fuel (about 250l) and no outriggers, gear, water etc.

PS That photo probably doesn't really do it justice. It's a quick one off my phone. I've got some on the good camera and some video - they really put it in perspective.

An no cheating from those that came down to help

STUIE63
28-05-2012, 09:53 AM
well I will play 4.15t it certainly does make the 4by look like a matchbox car

chris69
28-05-2012, 09:58 AM
3900 kgs guessing the boats about 28ft will be interesting to see the correct weight.

28-05-2012, 10:17 AM
Is that snow I see on the radar Brett? Ian told me all about it Saturday night so I'm out. If you need to use the canter just give me a ring :)

Midnight
28-05-2012, 10:23 AM
Does this mean we will see Scalded at the Carpark in Feb Buggy?

28-05-2012, 12:32 PM
The only thing short of a F350 that wont stretch towing it is the Deefer :)

I dont know the boat but just from a little look I am guessing 4103 kgs (yes..very accurate...well at least it looks that way)

FisHard
28-05-2012, 01:13 PM
Its a big GW, so my guess is: 4720kg I'm so jealous :( beautiful rig!

rhodesey
28-05-2012, 01:43 PM
4.42 tonne

cobiaman
28-05-2012, 01:58 PM
4.56T......

28-05-2012, 02:14 PM
4.95T - only a guesstimate

28-05-2012, 02:28 PM
...come on mate...put us out of our misery!

2IC
28-05-2012, 02:37 PM
4.46 tonne

frankgrimes
28-05-2012, 03:16 PM
Has to be pushing 4.5T

Gon Fishun
28-05-2012, 03:42 PM
4350 kgs with trailer

tropicrows
28-05-2012, 03:59 PM
Brett I'm only guessing here, but I think it weights a lot more than you realized.

4.383 kg without the fenders.

theangryangler
28-05-2012, 04:22 PM
:o:o:o:o:o 5208KGs :o:o:o:o:o

28-05-2012, 05:05 PM
I'm going 5304kg

bigjimg
28-05-2012, 05:08 PM
Um 4450kg.Jim

bigjimg
28-05-2012, 05:09 PM
What do we win????.Jim

wayno60
28-05-2012, 05:35 PM
3.95t...........

Boat Hog
28-05-2012, 05:40 PM
4395 kg. And if I win the boat you'll have to tidy it up a bit before I take delivery - Ok.;D

28-05-2012, 05:50 PM
4.not tellin :-X:-X:-X

lucee81
28-05-2012, 06:03 PM
5017kg....

28-05-2012, 07:03 PM
I reckon it's about .... kg with an overall length of about 16m an overall width of 2.67m and a total max height ( to the all round white light ) of 4.8m. And bearing all that in mind to bloody big to be behind a Landy!!!

Ps. Do you have any idea how many bridges there are that are only 4.5m high!!!

PPs. better notify both Energex and Telstra next time you move it so they can have the vans follows you around to restring those low cables!!

Funchy
28-05-2012, 07:05 PM
What a sensational rig. Bags deckie duty if you are short :D

Gonna go 4.388 tonnes.

In the words of Monty Python.... "You luuuucky Luuuuucky Baaaarstard!!!" :thumbsup:

MudRiverDan
28-05-2012, 07:14 PM
8420kg Including trailer.

Axl
28-05-2012, 07:33 PM
I'll go with 5450 kg's

banksmister
28-05-2012, 07:46 PM
3.96 and watch out its starting to crinkle the back left guardof the green sprite can your towing it with.

wrxhoon
28-05-2012, 08:21 PM
5400 kg including the Venture trailer

28-05-2012, 08:25 PM
8420kg Including trailer.

Your not suppose to add in the Landy

BigE
28-05-2012, 08:33 PM
4.7 T empty
close to 5 T with the landy driver :))

MudRiverDan
28-05-2012, 08:36 PM
Your not suppose to add in the Landy

Ok,
7.25 t

It just looks big.

theangryangler
28-05-2012, 08:52 PM
When do we find out?!!!
I wont be able to sleep!
its like the 70M lotto draw this is ;D
One thing for sure it is a UNIT!!!!
Nice one at that.

outta line
28-05-2012, 09:39 PM
guessing your going to need a big shed ... and also a road train sign on the back....ill go with around the 5t mark and lock in..... 5020kg.....
cheers mick

fisho8
28-05-2012, 10:06 PM
I am going to go with 4.85tne bloody big boat that is for sure.

Midnight
28-05-2012, 10:16 PM
Whatever it weighs, there is a dude on here that will argue the fact, and probly ask to see the compliance plate :)

Axl
28-05-2012, 10:20 PM
Whatever it weighs, there is a dude on here that will argue the fact, and probly ask to see the compliance plate :)

That's gold!!!!!!!!!!!!!;D

FisHard
28-05-2012, 10:27 PM
Lol! Uppercut time again?
Cmon Bugman! What's the number???

dugggy
28-05-2012, 10:34 PM
hmmmm ill guess at 4970kg.....
Doug

28-05-2012, 10:35 PM

might now consider changing my guesstimate.......

Volvo
28-05-2012, 10:49 PM
Wont even try guess:) but will say , like the rig as well as Trailer. How far forward is the towhitch from the front of the rig??. Going by the Pic she seems a fair stretch??....Whens your next Nor West Trip??..

ShaneC
28-05-2012, 11:26 PM
749kg, dont need brakes then.......

Sheik
29-05-2012, 12:01 AM
4.75 tonnes unweighted. 4.95 with buggy in the captain's seat.
luverly rig mate. Most of the places I fish you wouldn't be able to turn it around. And that includes the Pacific ocean.

29-05-2012, 04:14 AM
3.1t..is that for the estuaries and the Brooker still for offshore?

OPTI
29-05-2012, 07:51 AM
id guess the boat is 4.8t plus the trailer so around 5.5 all up

29-05-2012, 08:23 AM
OK Gents,
Time to unveil the weight.
First the facts:
1999 Grady White F26 Tigercat
Twin 150 Yamaha fourstrokes
Tri Axle Magic tilt alloy trailer (720kgs)
200l out of a possible 750l of fuel
no water - no gear etc etc
Weight - 4.76 tonne.

And might I say - the Landy - or as Banksy described it as the green sprite can - towed it quite ok the few kms to the weighbridge. The trailer has a full breakaway breaking system on all 6 wheels. However I'm now in a real predicament of what the hell I do. In reality it's close to 5.5 tonne fully loaded and the whole idea of buying the boat was that I could take it to places like the GBR, north West, 1770, Moreton, Port Macquarie, Portland etc. At over 5 tonne, towing it in any legal form is starting to get extremely hard. Authorities don't really want to know about anything over 4.5 tonne.
Height is another issue - it's current 4.85m off the road but I can take .35 off by removing the allround light and another .50 if I remove the radar (prefer not to do that)
I've actually been looking at older tow trucks for sale - like the older style F350 that actually towed the car rather than put them on the tilt trailer. I've seen one in Vic that can tow up to 6 tonne but the then the GCM comes into play with the combined wight of the boat and the truck.
So if anyone has got any ideas - I'd appreciate them. I'll throw up a few more photos and videos.

29-05-2012, 08:33 AM
I'm going 5304kg
Bugger. I miss read it. I thought you had a full load of fuel and a pack of pillies in there.

Gees I would have been close if I could read proper like ;)

I reckon you'll be looking for something a bit bigger then a F350.
A Mack tipper comes to mind. That way it could be used for the retaining wall as well.

This one even has a crane to get the fish out.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/international-acco-1981-345-v8-petrol-and-gas-NO-RESERVE-/140755793303?pt=AU_Trucks_Commercial_Vehicles&hash=item20c5b2f597#ht_500wt_1202

29-05-2012, 08:34 AM
A couple of more pics
It was dead low tide and the ramp was as slippery as hell so we took no chances and hooked up the Lancruiser with a chain.
We actually had to put the boat on and off twice. We got her up - then decided we needed to to shift the front resting post back about 35cm so we launched her - made the adjustments and put her back on again.
Actually the trailer fitted perfectly and I couldn't be happier with it.

29-05-2012, 09:01 AM
Found your truck
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TOW-TRUCK-FORD-F350-/270987067570?pt=AU_Trucks_Commercial_Vehicles&hash=item3f181680b2#ht_736wt_1185

29-05-2012, 09:12 AM
http://youtu.be/u2oSzxQglCo

http://youtu.be/C7KYYOfwkMM

29-05-2012, 09:19 AM
Found your truck
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/TOW-TRUCK-FORD-F350-/270987067570?pt=AU_Trucks_Commercial_Vehicles&hash=item3f181680b2#ht_736wt_1185

Yep Scotty - something like that or this

http://www.truckworld.com.au/buy/used/truck/ford/f350/car-licence/New-South-Wales/43742.aspx

PS - i think Jim, Shiek was the closest on the weight at 4.75

29-05-2012, 09:53 AM
I love it...the Landy wasnt even struggling. Low range I assume? The tow weight of some of the early stuff was 4tonn (like my 95 Discovery 1) but mate thats an insane load. You are going to get to know your local light truck retailer by the sound of it!

Lovely place to be putting in too - the Tweed River?

29-05-2012, 10:20 AM

This the go and you can drop a bit of sleeping accommodation on the back and tow in comfort and its sort of local.

http://www.trucksales.com.au/Gallery.aspx?R=11519418&PhotoID=/general/content/gc5090844230983119143.jpg&track=IMAGEVIEWER&h_mid=5235946&f_mid=0&c_mid=5235932&TabId=2611674

29-05-2012, 10:44 AM
Hey Brett. I don't know about NSW (I think they go on tare weight and not number of cylinders) but in QLD the rego jumps right up pending number of cylinders and GVM.
In QLD if you have a 4 cylinder diesel and GVM of more then 4000kg the rego is a smidge over $1,100
If you drop down to GVM of 4000kg the rego drops to a smidge under $690.
And from there it goes up pending number of cylinders.

Only trouble in QLD is finding a truck with GVM under the magic 4000kg mark. Everyone wants the magic 4,500kg so they can be driven on car license with maximum load. And they'll only allow you to increase a GVM not decrease it....the buggers :(

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-kewa002oD5I/T8QZeBYgqxI/AAAAAAAABgc/D1yo_cItYtk/s734/rego%25203999kg.jpg
https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-3dFRCyr_bTA/T8QZdJHErdI/AAAAAAAABgU/iaNfLaCFog4/s912/rego%25204500.jpg

But either way you'll have a nice travelling billboard for IGA (tax deduction then??)

And thanks for the video. Go the mighty Landrover. I wonder if a Colorado or Navara or a Hilux would have done that without dropping it's load on the ramp :D

29-05-2012, 12:31 PM
Scotty,
Yeah different rego rules for NSW - it goes on weight down here and use - not engine cyclinders like QLD. I just registered the big v8 mustang and it was cheaper than the Landy and our Triton. Strange isn't it.

Scott - yep on the Tweed - it is a nice place to live that's for sure. I'd love to tow the rig up the highway with the Landy just to see what she could do.;D

Chimo - I've been looking at the truck option for a while. One thing I need is short wheel base. The trailer is over 12m long and with the long body on some of those trucks - I'd never be able to move ther thing around.

29-05-2012, 01:01 PM
Go the mighty Landrover. I wonder if a Colorado or Navara or a Hilux would have done that without dropping it's load on the ramp :D

Towed the bobcat home with no brakes during the Brissy floods with the Colorado. She's the wrong side of 4.5t on the trailer.

No bloody cruiser ute on the front neither8-)

29-05-2012, 02:28 PM
No 300hp of Yami on the back to get you started either!!!

29-05-2012, 02:47 PM
Go the mighty Landrover. I wonder if a Colorado or Navara or a Hilux would have done that without dropping it's load on the ramp :D

Towed the bobcat home with no brakes during the Brissy floods with the Colorado. She's the wrong side of 4.5t on the trailer.

No bloody cruiser ute on the front neither8-)

Good to see they can do it GBC. I wonder sometimes whether these newer offroaders have the integrity in the rails, but good to see it did it.

PS. The tow chain was slack on the Landy :) I would have had a another vehicle on that ramp with that load in my Disco too...even if I had to resort to a passing Toyota...

29-05-2012, 02:49 PM
No 300hp of Yami on the back to get you started either!!!

Notice how I didn't mention you splitting the bottom boards or putting a nice shiny nick into each one of my motors Ian ? Oh wait - now I just have

29-05-2012, 03:27 PM

4.65 m wheel base and needs some mods but http://www.trucksales.com.au/buy/details.aspx?R=11698052&__Ns=p_StockRankSort_Int32|1||p_Make_String|0||p_M odel_String|0||p_Year_Int32|1||p_StockPrice_Decima l|1&Cr=0&Qpb=&__Nne=15&__sid=137993022F4C&__N=1550%201552%201600%201601%201602%201715%204294 958828%204294965301%204294958817 (http://www.trucksales.com.au/buy/details.aspx?R=11698052&__Ns=p_StockRankSort_Int32%7C1%7C%7Cp_Make_String% 7C0%7C%7Cp_Model_String%7C0%7C%7Cp_Year_Int32%7C1% 7C%7Cp_StockPrice_Decimal%7C1&Cr=0&Qpb=&__Nne=15&__sid=137993022F4C&__N=1550%201552%201600%201601%201602%201715%204294 958828%204294965301%204294958817)

C
C
Land cruiser External dimensions

- Length (mm) 4990

- Width (mm) 1970

- Height (mm) 1905

- Wheelbase (mm) 2855

29-05-2012, 04:07 PM
Holly snapping duck poos Pete. I'd get a bleedy nose up that high.

banksmister
29-05-2012, 04:31 PM
Towing it is the least of your problems

You now have to tell Leanne you want to buy a truck and park it in the yard

Ps at least its big enoughto put a dryer & washing machine on as you may be living on it soon [alone]

PROS
29-05-2012, 09:42 PM
1999 Grady White X26 Tigercat
Twin 150 Yamaha fourstrokes

Well done Brett,
The new boat is looking great,
All the best, may your boat full of catch each trip to come.

Been looking around for GW for a while, the feedback on these boats are very positive.
Correct me if I am wrong, I thought X series is Centre Console style with additional seating at the front whereas F series is the walkaround type like yours which is my favorite as well.

When do we see the $$$ cost, eager to learn and go through similar experience in a smaller size

Mr__Bean
29-05-2012, 11:12 PM
Hmmm, interesting scenario...........

It would be easy to just go out and buy a reasonably cheap small truck (Canter, Fuso, Hino etc) but they are a pain in the butt. They bounce like mad on the road when empty and shake the $hit out of the front of your trailer in the process. They are really more suited to city driving and rarely travel well at speed with a big trailer. The other problems arise when you get to places like 1770 for the week, it is hardly convenient to take your Hino into town for a counter tea.

Similarly, very light trucks and large utilities can be a real handful in some driving conditions. Whilst they have the power to pull, and the trailer has the brakes to stop, neither of those help you when you are halfway around a bend at around 80Kmh and you hit "those bumps". Whether you like it or not the 5 ton of trailer is going to dictate where the 3 ton of tow vehicle is going to head. This to me is the most frightening, you can't hit the anchors and "bump steer" has you all over the place.

So, to me, I would explore the option of having a 5th wheeler gooseneck manufactured and placed on your existing trailer. I am guessing about 3-4 grand with certification (happy to be corrected).

Then you have a multitude of vehicle options that you can place the 5th wheel hitch into. You can also then affordably have a fuel efficient crew cab that serves a daily function as well as being your tow vehicle.

The Iveco Daily Crew Cab would be my choice, these have an efficient 3 litre diesel, they pull like there is no tomorrow and they have a GCM up around 10 ton. The crew cab allows the group to go fishing in the one vehicle and very importantly, it can be driven on a standard licence. Getting a heavy vehicle licence isn't too difficult but having other driver options is good when on a long trip.

Some good info here on 5th wheeler vehicle stats: http://www.5thwheelers.net.au/nm/buying_a_fifth_wheeler/buying_a_fifth_wheeler_005.htm

And for those not familiar with the Iveco, here is a picture:
http://d454457.u23.fasthit.net/images/Truelux_tow_Vehicles/IVECO_8.5m28_SL_FtontON_5299.jpg

I have no idea if this is the right thing for you, but probably worthy of review. The guy that runs PBL Trailers in Brendale is very very helpful and he himself runs a 5th wheeler behind a converted Landcruiser.

Food for thought.

Sheik
30-05-2012, 06:00 AM
Excellent post Darren, and I think it just about sums up the best option in terms of safety and reliability.
Buggs, that is a beast, there is no other word for it. Well done, and congrats. Hope it goes well.

FisHard
30-05-2012, 06:57 AM
Another vote for Mr Bean. I own trucks in small (4.5t gvm) medium (10.4t gvm) and large rigid. There's NO WAY I would tow your boat with the small Isuzu (wish I knew how to underline and make bold) and would have a long hard think about doing it with our 10.4t Hino. I wouldn't waste your energy even thinking about a baby truck. It might be legal, but real world- dangerous as hell on the hwy! Perhaps you could talk to a boat transport company about their experiences towing boats like yours?
Btw, niiiiice rig :)

( edited for ya Cheers Phill )

wacoaus
30-05-2012, 07:03 AM
here we go , yank boat = yank tow vehicle

http://www.carsales.com.au/demo/details/dodge-ram-2011-11634038?base=1216&vertical=Car&cr=1&eapi=2&__N=1216 1246 1247 1252 1282 4294966398 4294957561 4294687340&silo=Stock&Range=Price:Min,Max~0.5&sort=default

or import one cheaper

http://www.cars.com/go/search/detail.jsp?tab=summary&recnum=&actLog=&listingId=88769269&paId=451702128&listingRecNum=0&criteria=sf1Dir%3dDESC%26mkId%3d20012%26stkTyp%3dU %26mdId%3d21860%26rd%3d100000%26crSrtFlds%3dstkTyp Id-feedSegId-mkId-mdId%26zc%3d68102%26rn%3d0%26PMmt%3d1-1-0%26stkTypId%3d28881%26sf2Dir%3dASC%26sf1Nm%3dpric e%26sf2Nm%3dmiles%26isDealerGrouping%3dfalse%26rpp %3d50%26feedSegId%3d28705&tracktype=usedcc&pageNumber=&numResultsPerPage=50&largeNumResultsPerPage=0&sortorder=descending&sortfield=PRICE&certifiedOnly=false&&aff=national

30-05-2012, 07:27 AM
I drove my brother in laws DODGE RAM 3500 CREW CAB LARAMIE around a bit last year and it seemed big even on Canadian roads and car parks and apart from the doubling of price between here and North America they are a nice rig with all the attributes needed to do the job.

On the other hand with a big high 4x4 SWB truck the boat wont seem so high or big and with a good deal of weight on the truck chasis its possible to tame their behavior, these buggers with a load of fire gear and water were much more gentle! Slip a half dozen 200lt drums of diesel and a dozen of ULP ex depot and your fuel issues while away from home base are fixed and the truck rides better too.

C
C

shingst
30-05-2012, 10:35 AM
Hi Brett,
Had you estimated the weight before you brought it in?
Best Regards,
Shane

Nathan Tuskes
30-05-2012, 02:25 PM
are you crazy enough to tow it up past indian head on fraser...:D

30-05-2012, 02:55 PM
Darren's idea is good. Talk to Morgy who Ian bought Shikaree off. They towed their big Sailfish cat with their Iveco crewman truck and it did a better job than the turbo diesel V8 Cruiser.

How about finding a tilt tray truck and getting rid of all the running gear off the trailer and making a setup that rolls onto the tilt tray? One of the mackerel pros here has a similar setup for his big Pacific with twin Yammies for his annual 1770 trips. At home his boat lives on a ramp dolly as he is on the water than he either uses it or has another dolly on a truck.

ashleyhj74
30-05-2012, 04:45 PM
Pretty sure down here in Victoria once you go over the magical 4500kg mark the breakaway/electric brakes are no longer legal, and you've gotta go to air brakes/s-cams/whatever you want to refer to them as. The Fisheries Kevlacats all run them on their trailers. Not sure if its been mentioned so far (i didnt notice, apologies if someone has), and i'm not sure if its different up your way. But i'd probably be checking that if I were you, cause that'll effect your tow vehicle purchase/insurance/etc/etc. If that rule doesnt apply up there, even better, either way, awesome looking boat mate, enjoy :)

Birdy
30-05-2012, 05:01 PM
Bugman,

An observation from my industry I work in dragging excavators around the place behind MR trucks. If you tow the rig behind a leaf sprung 10.4t GVM MR I think you will have dramas with the Alloy draw bar on the trailer being so long with that kind of weight .
An empty leaf sprung truck will ride with the road dips unlike a soft riding car and this puts a heap of pressure on the draw bar because it has to lift and fall with the back of truck with next to no suspension movement.
I have seen some trailer failures due to this , they generally work-harden and crack both sides of the A frame where ever it is attached to the first weight bearing part of the trailer.
A 10.4t MR with airbags under it running a 10t Pintle and ring would be safest way to tow it ,it would be still well under the GCVM.I would retro fit the trailer with air too .
Might be over kill to some but spend a few years dragging 6t around with small trucks in traffic and you learn to get cautious.

Birdy

Mister
30-05-2012, 07:35 PM
Anything over 4.5t in any state requires air brakes and all sorts of things many would like to never have heard about, oh this opens up a whole lot of problems.

What was the regs that this rig was imported into Oz, sounds like the wrong paper work might have been used and the details under stated?

30-05-2012, 07:44 PM
it must be lead lined to weigh that much

Mr__Bean
30-05-2012, 07:46 PM
4.5 ton on the wheels?

Or 4.5 ton on both wheels and pintle pin?

Not a loaded question, just furthering my knowledge on it.

MyWay
30-05-2012, 11:06 PM
Bugman boat looks awesome on triler :thumbup::thumbup::thumbup::thumbup:

I think Darren got good idea so me, you and rest of crew can go in one car ;D;D
but I saw one of thise near my place
and I think you can hire it whan you need. 40k will give you years and years of towing.

Mister
31-05-2012, 11:36 AM
That tow rig would have around a 90tonne recovery capacity, towing what? about 5 tonne, unless you owned the thing the cost would be totally restrictive.

But I've been pondering a little, how much research was done on the purchase of a GW Tigercat last manufactured back in what? late 1990's, maybe 2000? A boat of this length that weighs the proverbial being powered by a couple of 150's. Hope you got it for a good price :)

31-05-2012, 12:23 PM
To those that don't know the full story this boat was imported on a trailer with twin 200 two strokes by another bloke. He very quickly worked out it wasn't a towable proposition other than for getting a bit of work done here and there so got it antifouled and it lived on the water. Early on the fuel consumption of the 200s was deemed too thirsty so he repowered over here with the local dealer. The 150s go fine. When this guy found another cheap import he bought in a 31 Cabo Express so the GW had to go. That is when Brett stepped in and got it for a good price when you compare it to NCs and KCs etc. and for the ride it has which is great. It took well over a year to sell so the price kept dropping till a buyer was found in Brett.

I have been on it from Waddy Pt all the way back to Mooloolaba into 20+knots of SE all the way and did not get fully shaken to bits like I am sure most other boats would have. It does not ride like a trailerboat at all. Its motion is more like a big gameboat, a gentle lurching motion, not a jarring high frequency motion. With 100 gallon a side fuel tanks I reckon he could run it to 1770 in one go rather than tow it.

31-05-2012, 01:45 PM
But I've been pondering a little, how much research was done on the purchase of a GW Tigercat last manufactured back in what? late 1990's, maybe 2000? A boat of this length that weighs the proverbial being powered by a couple of 150's. Hope you got it for a good price :)
Maybe you should have a bit more research into what's needed to power a cat.
I have to agree with Smithy. Twin 150's would be more then okky dokky for Brett's boat.
I regularly go out in a 8.8m Powercat with twin 150's Yammi's and it's performance is quite good.

31-05-2012, 02:12 PM
Hello all,
Thanks for the great feedback so far.
I've been spending the last few days looking at all possible angles. It's fair to say I haven't made a decision yet because there's a couple of different ways to go - including selling the trailer and leaving the boat in the water - but I don't like that option.
Thanks Rob for outlining the history of the boat - saves me relaying it to everyone and I agree the ride is great - but I guess that comes a lot from weight.
Pros - your correct it's an F-26 not an X-26. I did get some weight indications out of Grady White in the states while we had the trailer built - and they were a lot less than the number we've got now.
Darren - that weight came from the boat/trailer sitting on the weighbridge by herself. We didn't get a towball weight at the time but won't be too hard to take her back down the road and run the car over the weighbridge then attach the trailer to see how much she goes down.
I think I'm tending away from the light truck option for the reason a few have mentioned here. I think the empty arse end of a truck could be pretty easily pushed around by the weight of the boat.
We've been exploring the big yank tanks a bit and may look at just upgrading the family car if we go down that path.
I'm not really in a hurry and I'll wait until the right opportunity comes along - whatever that may be.
Thanks again

31-05-2012, 02:47 PM

My b-in-law and his 5ft high wife with the RAM that tows their big van, does not use it much around town, although they have in the past; as it is a big, wide, long thing and they also have a small (normal sized) car for that purpose. I guess you would have the same?

Not sure what it costs to convert RHD to LHD with the appropriate engineers ticks but second hand ones over there are heaps cheaper and if you could get a conversion done IMHO that could be the way to go?

fly_1
31-05-2012, 02:49 PM
Mate many years ago we had a 288 powercat which was the original dive charter boat on the Sunny Coast. It was trailered by a F350 trayback.It was never unhitched, and was purely used as a tow vehicle. We had alot of dramas with the sand on the local boat ramp back in those days, and the back was just to light. We ended up putting 3x 44 Gallon drums full of water on the back, and then had signwriters make advertising signs for each side to cover/hide them. The extra weight this put on the back wheels fixed the problem. I realise this is very impractical for a private boat, but it did fix the problem. Good luck, and hopefully see you around the reefs sometime.
PS, I agree with Smithy, I have actually been out in Scalded as well, and it goes very well, and rides nicely!!
Trent

31-05-2012, 04:53 PM
+1

I also agree it has all the HP it needs! It's really interesting this idea that cats need big HP. If you look at the across the board for there size they are fairly low on the HP front! 1900 kc run only 120hp the 2400 run 280 hp but there a huge boat. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that all the rescue cats ( CG and VMR) ran large HP but they had to have it for tow- ins etc.

Mister
31-05-2012, 05:22 PM
+1

I also agree it has all the HP it needs! It's really interesting this idea that cats need big HP. If you look at the across the board for there size they are fairly low on the HP front! 1900 kc run only 120hp the 2400 run 280 hp but there a huge boat. Maybe it has something to do with the fact that all the rescue cats ( CG and VMR) ran large HP but they had to have it for tow- ins etc.

HP wise? Maybe it does, maybe it doesn't as the GW cat is not the same style of cat as Australian designed cats.

But one thing you can't compare is a KC 2400 with 280HP and a GW Tiger at twice the weight with 300HP, bad comparo that one.

As for towing the only real practical and common sense option is articulated but still will not negate the need for full air brake system and S cam brakes. Opportunity here to build a proper compliant trailer with goose neck and drop those 3 axles back to 2?

31-05-2012, 06:53 PM
But one thing you can't compare is a KC 2400 with 280HP and a GW Tiger at twice the weight with 300HP, bad comparo that one.

Actually i CANcompare both because i've spent time on Scalded ( like Fly1 and Smithy) and i've also spent plenty of time on 2400 KC's and i am well aware of the different styles of American cats ( Glacier Bay, Grady White etc) Spent time driving GB's also ;) and based on that experience, Scalded performs quiet well with only 300 HP on the back.

Sandman
31-05-2012, 07:08 PM
Bloody Jealous Bret you get the best toys dont you!! Let me know when you either selling the landy or the boat::)

Mister
31-05-2012, 07:16 PM
Actually i CANcompare both because i've spent time on Scalded ( like Fly1 and Smithy) and i've also spent plenty of time on 2400 KC's and i am well aware of the different styles of American cats ( Glacier Bay, Grady White etc) Spent time driving GB's also ;) and based on that experience, Scalded performs quiet well with only 300 HP on the back.

No you can't compare a 2400 with 280hp and a Tiger with 300HP, that is simply not comparable and is something totally different to so called experience. The other way to look at this so called experience then is, a 2400 would be perfectly fine with 90's? If not then why not? Weight per length per HP you won't be able to justify anything more than 90's.

trymyluck
31-05-2012, 07:27 PM

My b-in-law and his 5ft high wife with the RAM that tows their big van, does not use it much around town, although they have in the past; as it is a big, wide, long thing and they also have a small (normal sized) car for that purpose. I guess you would have the same?

Not sure what it costs to convert RHD to LHD with the appropriate engineers ticks but second hand ones over there are heaps cheaper and if you could get a conversion done IMHO that could be the way to go?

My boss just imported one and got it converted, the conversion was done in Parks nsw. I think it owed him around 44k on the road. They are a beast though.

Mr__Bean
31-05-2012, 08:36 PM
No you can't compare a 2400 with 280hp and a Tiger with 300HP, that is simply not comparable and is something totally different to so called experience. The other way to look at this so called experience then is, a 2400 would be perfectly fine with 90's? If not then why not? Weight per length per HP you won't be able to justify anything more than 90's.

But they are 2 different design hulls, the KC is a displacement cat whereas the Grady is a planing cat.

Best described here:
Breaking with Grady-White's constantly variable vee (no two points along the hull have the same deadrise) tradition, the Tigercat's deadrise angle remains constant from the transom up to about the helm seat, at which point it starts to vary to a larger angle deep vee. That makes this F-26 Tigercat hull a deep-vee, planing hull. A displacement cat hull will be slower but will have a more fluid motion through the seas than a planing cat hull. A planing hull, like the Tigercat's, is considerably faster but still provides some of the landing-off-a-wave thud we are all used to as the chines and flat surface hit the water. But make no mistake, this boat will take much more weather than any 26-foot mono-hull and do it in greater comfort

The Grady doesn't require the same horsepower to get up and go, but it will land a bit harder than a displacement hull like the KC, but the length and weight takes most of that away on the Grady

johncar
31-05-2012, 09:34 PM
Wow! a great looking rig, congrats and I hope you get all the towing sorted out OK. I thought I had dramas getting my little tub sorted out with vehicle and stuff..
I too was wondering about the power to weight/design with the 150's but from all witness accounts it says it gets along fine.
I guess not much different than putting a 175HP on my 22' mono at about 2.1 tonne in light trim. Pretty sure although perhaps no speed demon it would get along quite well propped correctly. The 250HP on it is a bit overkill but many of us tend to do that.
All the best with getting it alll sorted but yeah please don't consider a light truck, been there done that, it is no good..
Have you absolutely been right through it to make sure you are not carrying unnecessary extra weight, no water anywhere in the hulls. It would seem usefull if you can get it under 4.5T if at all possible.

31-05-2012, 10:42 PM
Mister

My point was that i have driven both boats............. so surely i can compare them! Have you drive a Grady White TC Mister?? Three quite experience skippers have said that it goes perfectly well with the 150 yami's please try and except that advice.. I have also driven a 1970 VW Kombi and a Porsche 911 Gt2 and guess what i can compare them to!

Ps. Curse you Buggy for dragging me back to this idiot fest!!! I had broken the habit!

Mr__Bean
01-06-2012, 02:03 AM
Ps. Curse you Buggy for dragging me back to this idiot fest!!! I had broken the habit!

Sorry Ian, I guess we forgot that you consider yourself so fcuking elite!!

01-06-2012, 06:58 AM
Hey Brett.
I just remembered my dad used to have huge troubles towing his caravan around with the work truck (he camped on site in the van and when the job moved so did he). The truck jerked the caravan that much the drawbars of the vans used to fall off. If they made a stronger drawbar something else would fail.
In the end they got a towbar made up that had the guts that were the same as a torsion bar trailer axle. ie rubber cushioned steel beam.
It worked a treat and never had a problem after that was fitted. I cannot remember who made it though. I think it was called a duratorque.
Some pictures of the same sort of thing down the bottom here
http://www.hcvc.com.au/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1306106949

There are other types out now but I see the biggest problem would be finding one rated to 5.5tons.
http://www.btatowingequipment.com.au/AirSafeHitches.html
I wouldn't be too concerned about towing it. If the primemover seems a little light just shove some 200l barrels of water on the back.

Oh....another thing. Anything (used as a prime mover) with airbags in the rear end has to be better then anything with springs. Waaaaaaaaaay better.

01-06-2012, 08:00 AM
After adding more $s

! Convert trailer to 5th wheel configeration.
2 Buy big big ute
3 Fit this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SfyXaG3fsZ8&feature=plcp
4 Go boating!

Who ever said we are not here to help? (Its Finga's fault cause he said the other jiggers dont go big enough!)

C
C

01-06-2012, 08:25 AM
My boss just imported one and got it converted, the conversion was done in Parks nsw. I think it owed him around 44k on the road. They are a beast though.

Mark,
Was that a new one or a near new one. Prices over there are dirt cheap. The conversion is the killer - any idea of the conversion mob in Parkes?

01-06-2012, 08:27 AM
The conversion is the killer - any idea of the conversion mob in Parkes?
http://dodgeram.com.au/index.html
http://www.american.com.au/